Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: A lot of borin' stuff
Written on March 15, 2002 at 5:28 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

That banner is the most disturbing thing I have ever seen...and if knew exactly what he was doing, I'd probably be even more disturbed.

*scrolls the screen down a bit so she doesn't keep staring in disgusted fascination*

Anyway...Get ready for a REALLY long--and probably boring--ride. :oP

Which David Bowie are you?

I am a "pot-smoking, hippie loser"! Wow...Can you actually be one of those without having smoked marijuana before? If so, I take pride in being called that. :oP

Yesterday at 4 pm marked an entire 24 hours that I went without sleep. Well, maybe it would work better to say that 4:30 marked that point, since I think I dozed from about 5 am to 5:30 am. But nonetheless, I got no sleep because my brain wouldn't shut up, and so I went through not eight-and-a-half hours of work, but NINE full hours without any sleep! WOW! And my back was hurting so much all day that at some points I found myself slouching as I walked just because I couldn't bear to stand straight. Bleh.

At any rate, to the good part of the day...because, despite the pain, it actually WAS a good day. There was no John, no Zenon, not even a STORE manager...aww yeah, life was good. Joanne was there, but that was tolerable because she stayed in her corner and I did my best to ignore her existence. The only truly crappy part was being by myself from 1 to 5, because Mare had gotten in an accident the night before, and so understandably she wasn't able to work. However, that didn't make clearing off several racks of bread and sweets--PLUS helping customers--very easy.

Debbie was happy to see that I'd come in early, instead of at 11:30 as I'd been scheduled. She had racks of bread that needed to be put out for the morning, plus three shopping carts filled with trash that needed to be thrown out. And then, as always, there was Pane waiting to be mixed. As I'm the Pane Queen (I didn't even dub myself that; it's what everyone calls me), I started on that. But it has to mix for 10 minutes, so I took the trash back during the interim.

Most of the stuff was just stale bread and cakes (in their lovely, noisy plastic containers), so I got to toss each of them individually into the compactor (taking great joy in the loud noise the plastic containers made when they hit the bottom). As I was digging into the second cart, Geoff came out of the Receiving office. He'd seen me walk by a few minutes earlier, so he headed over to me as soon as he walked out the door. I told him both about my lack of sleep, and then I mentioned Henry's death...after the trash was gone, Geoff said, "Well, he's in hamster heaven now.." *giggles*

Wow, I've just realized that the rest of this entry is going to be pretty much telling Geoff stories, hehe...So if you've had enough with this subject, you have my permission to leave 'til I put up a new entry. ;) Now onward...

I tend to tune everything out when I'm making Pane, especially after I've turned the roller machine thingy on (as it makes so much noise that I can't hear much of anything). So I was just doing my thing, my back to the rest of the department, tossing bread dough into the machine and all that good stuff...and imagine my surprise when I turn to the right and suddenly find Geoff standing less than a foot away from me. I squealed and jumped back, then laughed at myself. He made a comment about it looking like fun to make Pane (everyone says that; I used to say that before I had to make it every day), and then he made his way out of the department. That was it. I was standing there wondering why on earth he'd even come into the department when Joanne, unsurprisingly, asked that very thing.

"He asked me if we needed cannoli shells," Debbie explained (she'd been somewhere up toward the front of the department), "and I said no, but he came back here to see Amber."

^_^

Bryan came in a little bit later, at 9 o'clock. I've gotten over my intolerance of him, hehe, so I genuinely have fun when he's around. He is entirely TOO easy to get riled up. As long as I don't try to have meaningful conversations with him, I'm okay (because he just doesn't follow the same thought patterns as the rest of us, so profound conversations don't mean much, hehe)...Debbie and I were talking about pies, and I told her that there were only 3 boxes or so in our freezer. "Would there be any in the back freezer?" I inquired.

Debbie thought about it for a minute, then said she didn't know. "We should call Geoff and ask," she said, moving toward the phone. Then, as if realizing something, she stopped and asked, "Or do YOU want to call him?"

Like I'd say no. ;) I hurried over to the phone and dialed his number, and when he picked up I said, "Would you be available for phone sex?"

Bryan's reaction to that was so hilarious I couldn't even talk for a few moments afterward because I was laughing so hard. He makes this high-pitched "AAAAAHHHHHH!", followed by other comments like "Scandalous!" and whatnot...I hadn't even thought about the fact that he could hear me when I asked that question!

Of course, Geoff's response was "Always!" and something about 'willing', but Bryan had me laughing too hard to really pay attention.

The only thing that sucks about having Bryan around is that he doesn't do much. When he first started working here, Zenon used to make him clean all the time and he did a really good job with that. But by now he's starting to get kinda mulish about doing certain things, so he didn't help much in the way of getting those racks of product cleared away. Oh well.

I walked out to the pie/cookie table with him to make a list of cookies for him to make, and when I looked up I saw Geoff nearby in the dairy aisle. "Ooo, look at that cute guy down the dairy aisle!" I called out, adding "who's ignoring me!" when he didn't look over. He did look over then, a bewildered grin on his face, and Bryan was laughing again at what I'd said.

"Do you think I'm cute, or him?" Geoff asked, walking over to us.

"Both of us," I responded immediately. "We're the president and vice-president of your fan club!"

"Wow!"

"Yeah! I'll bet you never thought you had your very own fan club, did you?"

His face turned a slight shade of red. ;)

Debbie left at 12:30, Bryan left at 1, and I went on lunch at 2:35. I would've LIKED to have gone at 2, but Joanne decided she wanted to go, which left Karen and I in the department. (Joanne had told Karen that it would be alright if the two of THEM went on lunch, but she later got angry when Karen and I went, thereby leaving her by herself.) At any rate, I was originally intending to go back to the break room and rest for half an hour, but I saw Geoff in the dairy aisle again. :oP Not that it would've mattered on any other day, because usually we'd just make a few jokes and then he'd continue working, but this happened to be the exception. He stopped working, stood back against the "wall of coffee" with me, and then when he finally started moving again, he gestured for me to walk with him.

So by the time I finally went back to lay my head down on the table for a little while, I had less than ten minutes left to do so.

Frank stopped in later in the afternoon, and he had his 10-year old brother with him. "Aww, you brought the little cute one with you!" I exclaimed, hurrying over. Frank's jaw dropped, and then he looked amusedly indignant. *shrugs innocently* What? His brother IS a cute little thing, LoL! That's probably the only reason why Frank brought him in; he knows I think Chris is a cutie. It's along that same vein as walking dogs to attract chicks: "Oh, what an ADORABLE puppy! Is he yours?"

I still reflect on what a shame it is that he and I would only be a good couple for the superficial reasons, because he looked mighty fine yesterday. *chortles* Oh well, such is life.

At any rate, he told me he'd call around 8 o'clock last night, and I very nearly told him that I didn't think I'd be awake around that time. But he always gets on my case when I go to bed that early, so I decided to keep my mouth shut. I tried to keep myself awake, but in the end I surrendered around 7 pm. Within five minutes at MOST, I was dead to the world.

And then I didn't wake up until 3 this afternoon!! Well, technically I woke up a couple of times before then, but I was so tired that I kept right on sleeping. And in the true pattern of my life, I'm sitting here doing absolutely nothing because there is nothing TO do.

Bleargh...OH! Hehe...As we were going home yesterday, Mom told me that Jim (her manager) came up to her today and said, "So Geoff and Amber are an item, huh?" When Mom asked what he was talking about, Jim was like, "Every time I see them, they're together!"

"I don't know," Mom replied, "Geoff is really aggravating."

So Jim stated that HIS thoughts are that Geoff is going to wait until I'm 21. That's exactly what Mom thinks, too. What's Berry thinking?

Berry's thinking that June 30th can't come soon enough. *grins* ;)

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!