Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Critter Tales
Written on March 15, 2002 at 10:20 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

At night, deer like to roam through our backyard and around the fairway across the creek. When the moon's out, it's sort of neat to sit outside and watch them. Occasionally, a psychotic possum wanders through...he came charging right toward Mom one night, not knowing she was even there 'til she got freaked out and stomped her foot loudly on the porch.

In the afternoon when we get home from work, there are usually two Canadian geese outside waiting. They're obviously used to being fed by humans, because that seems to be all they do: wander from back porch to back porch until someone sees them and finds a few pieces of bread to throw out.

I believe that one of the geese is male and one is female. The male stands proudly and arrogantly, only deigning to eat when the bread is thrown close enough for him not to have to walk to get it. The female, however, goes eagerly for each morsel.

The male also likes to say "Uh huh" a lot (yet another reason that has led Mom and I to believe that he is, in fact, a man). The other day, Mom looked at him and said, "Is that your woman?"

"Uh huh," the goose replied.

I kid you not. It's not so much that we believe he's actually TALKING to us, but the sound he makes is a very definite, male-grunt "Uh huh". We find this to be quite amusing.

What I find so odd is the fact that here, in this community of hundreds living together, there's so much more wildlife than at my old house (where each house had at LEAST an acre of property and was therefore nicely separated). This complex is really pretty, with lots of trees and everything (and they keep it well-sculpted since it's built around a golf course), but I still find it ironic to see so many critters around so many humans.

Ah well, it's still comforting. You know me and my love for critters. ;)

I saw a chipmunk yesterday morning as I left for work. The last time I saw one of those was YEARS ago, and I've never seen one so close. I think they're one of the most adorable little rodents (I seem to have an affinity for rodents, huh? The underdogs of the animal kingdom, hehe). Too bad they don't come around for food like the geese. ;)

Anyway, I felt like sharing my stories with you, Diary. Not that anyone but you and I will find them interesting, but that's alright, because we're just here for each other, right? :oP

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!