Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Miss you, Henry...
Written on March 15, 2002 at 4:48 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

(You might not want to read this one, hehe...)

Yesterday, a little before 7:30 in the morning, Henry died. :( I'd separated him from Schitzy, since the last thing I wanted was to wake up and see a partially-eaten rodent (heh :o� ), but when I woke up, I found him still alive.

He was all but dead at that point, though, his body cold and his eyes closed...When I picked him up, he started trying to throw himself out of my hands, but that was the most movement I saw from him. I held him cupped in my hand, gently petting his fur and trying not to get him wet as I cried (ugh, my eyes are getting all watery just thinking about it). He was so emaciated, his little ribs could be seen through his fur...and this was the gerbil that was once so fat I wondered if I should put him on a diet!

I sat there with him from a little after six until six-thirty, when I finally had to start getting ready for work. When I came back in to get dressed a few minutes before 7:30, I looked over and saw his little limbs stretch out as death finally claimed him.

I think that's about the most heartbreaking thing I've ever seen before, watching a pet die. At least he's not suffering anymore, but I'll still miss the little guy.

Anyway, I had to get that out.

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!