Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Read at your own risk
Written on March 04, 2002 at 10:50 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

(You want to read this? Nooo, I'm sure you don't.)

Today is SOOOOOOO not the day to get me irritated. I'll tell you exactly what you can do with yourself if you do get on my case. You can thank John for my happy-go-lucky attitude. But as usual, I'm going to tell my story in chronological order, because I'm ANAL THAT WAY. Anyone think that's wrong of me? No? Okay. Then I'll continue.

It all started off on the wrong foot when I walked in and saw that Geoff was already working. But wait, he wasn't supposed to be in until 3:30! So I took off my coat in the back room, hung it up, and walked back out to where he was stocking. "I thought you worked 'til midnight on Mondays!" I said to him.

He explained that because Ben had to go to another store for the day, that left Geoff having to work his normal 8-4:30 shift...which, as he said, was actually better. Thanks, Fate.

"Aww, I have to work 'til 8 tonight," I replied, "and I'd been hoping to have someone else here!"

I don't remember the first part of what he said, but the last was, "You're a grown girl now." :oP

Ah well. Anyway, things were going alright until some time after 1. I walked out of the freezer and met up with John, and he said, "So, did you find a way to get here tomorrow and Wednesday?"

Maybe I didn't explain this in here before, but tomorrow and Wednesday Mom has off. Because I have to follow her schedule--something John knew BEFORE I was hired--that means that I have off as well. Now, John and Zenon both had Mom's schedule for this week two weeks in advance. You'd think they would have come to us sooner if there'd been a problem. But no. John, like the stupid pompous ass he is, waits 'til the last minute and then goes up to Mom and says, "Tuesdays and Wednesdays are the busiest days of the week. I really need Amber to work."

So anyway, Mom said that I could only come in if I found a ride. I found a ride in for Wednesday, but that was only because Zenon told me that it would only be Debbie and Karen working. Had he not said anything, I wouldn't have bothered to find a ride, because John Walker is NOT worth the effort. However, Zenon is appreciative of us, and doesn't treat us like slaves, and so I figured I'd find a way to work because he asked me.

When John asked me if I'd found a ride for both days, I was incensed. "I found one for Wednesday," I told him, and attempted to get by with the box I was holding.

"What about Tuesday?"

"I don't know, I couldn't find a ride for that day." Stuff happened, I guess, and then I continued, "Zenon said that Wednesday was the day nobody was here."

"I need you both days," John replied.

"Well, I only have a ride for Wednesday."

"What about Tuesday?"

"I guess I won't be working, since I can't find a ride."

"Well, you're on the schedule for Tuesday," he said, and left.

John really puts the 'dick' in 'dictator'.

I tell you what, I could've walked right then. I'm tired of this man treating me like I'm nothing! I--and everyone else in the departments he "rules" over--am worth a THOUSAND of him. He is nothing, and that's because he doesn't act worthy of our respect. You don't get to be a manager solely by kissing asses. That's how you get the title, but you have to EARN the respect of it. And John wouldn't know how to treat us like human beings even if he took an infamous Genuardi's class on it.

I ranted to Geoff, and he told me that I should walk up front and tell Kirsten about it. I didn't do it right away, though, partly because I didn't want John (who was closing the store tonight) to overhear me. I want to tell my story to Dave before I let John hear a breath of it. It's no good talking to his sorry ass...he'd just insult and belittle me some more. That, my friends, is harassment, and as obvious as it may seem to you and me, he seems to be completely ignorant...and 'ignorant' is the key word here.

So anyway, I was going to talk to Kirsten before I left for the night (assuming she was still working, of course), but Mom ended up telling her instead. I don't know exactly WHEN, but apparently Kirsten was really ticked off (well, she thinks John's a worthless piece of baggage anyway), and so she's going to talk to Dave tomorrow. That's good, because I'd wanted to go in tomorrow specifically to talk to him, but I can't because I have no ride...so now at least he'll know.

Not that anything'll be done about it, of course, because there's a certain teammate attitude among the managers. Brings to mind that old phrase "no honor among thieves," however, because few of the assistant managers actually like each other. But they'll group together if one of them is threatened!

The other event of the evening that pissed me off was too sensitive for this diary (heh...after what I just said, and I'm saying something could actually be too sensitive?), so I wrote about it in my other diary. And I'm still mad as hell, but at least now I've got it all out.

I'm still hoping for some freak event to happen, however, like John getting stampeded by elephants on the loose from some nearby circus...(Okay, maybe I'm not THAT malicious...I just want them to scare him a bit.)

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!