Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Yeah, I was duped.
Written on February 28, 2002 at 7:57 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Ever since getting that diary, the mystery's been plaguing me: fact or fiction? My first instincts told me fiction, for reasons which I've stated before (too poetic, too much obvious foreshadowing). Yet my romantic side couldn't help but wonder if this was all actually true. Laura said that the TV Guide wrote that both diary and Ellen were fakes. So I decided to try Google once again and see if there was any more information than there'd been at the end of the ABC miniseries.

I found this link to an article at usatoday.com. Fiction, it says...not just Ellen and John and the diary, but Beaumont University as well (I'm not disputing the latter, hehe...I don't know half the colleges and universities that exist in the US, but I'd never heard of that particular one and I don't think a newspaper would claim such a place didn't exist if it really did). Hyperion (the publishing company) has made everything sound so authentic, but it isn't!

My question, however--If Ellen and John never existed, then who on earth are the people in the photos? I'm not trying to say that USA Today is lying, I'm merely curious! And does the actual house Rose Red exist, if its creators did not?

Aha, here's something else from HistoryLink..."King fans please note that the Rimbauer family, Joyce Reardon, and the Rose Red mansion are completely fictional and have no basis in actual Seattle history." That answers that!

I would have believed the entire thing a work of fiction if it hadn't been for that "documentary"-ish thing that showed on ABC before the first episode of the miniseries. I watched it from beginning to end, and I don't remember it ever once saying that the entire thing was a fraud! They had this Joyce Reardon person being interviewed on TV, for goodness' sake! All this for one big fictitious story?

It's a little much, to me.

It's not so much that I'm disappointed about the whole thing being fake....I said already that I surmised as much, though of course I'd be lying if I didn't confess that I'd thought the basic premise of the story to be true (Rose Red actually existing, even though I'd never heard of it...strange, since I'm an avid fan of such paranormal stuff). It's just the not knowing that's driving me crazy! But I think that article pretty much concludes things, which is a relief.

Still, I feel almost foolish for reading the diary now, despite its fictional value...

Try not to be harsh on me, Diary, for my willingness to believe in such things!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!