Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: For having nothing to say...
Written on February 28, 2002 at 8:42 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I thought I had more to say than just "I've been duped", and so I started this new entry. But now that I'm here, I discover that I don't really have much to say after all!

Geoff's friend, Tim, was fired from his job on false accusations of sexual harassment. When Geoff told me today that Tim had been fired for harassment, my eyes widened and I exclaimed, "He didn't even strike me as that sort of person! He was so quiet!"

"That's just it; he's not that type of person!" Geoff replied heatedly. He went on to tell me about how this other woman who worked with Tim, and who'd also been Tim's friend for like 5 years....well, I don't remember exactly how it went, but she flipped out or something and got all the other teenagers that worked at this place to make things up about Tim.

Now, I've only met Tim once, so technically I don't really know that he isn't capable of sexual harassment. But, as I've said in previous entries, I have a sort of sixth sense when it comes to judging people. And I judged him to be a harmless, polite, and quiet sort of guy. And even if I hadn't gotten that impression, I trust Geoff completely and know he wouldn't go making such things up. Granted, he could've been duped, but I just don't think that's the case.

Which leaves us with the inevitable conclusion that Tim's been fired on false charges, and he'll be lucky to get another job because that accusation will follow him around like a malevolent ghost. I suggested to Geoff that Tim try to apply here, but Geoff pointed out, "But would they hire him?"

Part of me thinks that with Geoff--someone who all the managers respect--vouching for Tim's integrity, he could get a job. Maybe I'll suggest that the next time I see Geoff...assuming that Tim's second meeting didn't go well and he truly is out of a job. The man has 3 kids (he's divorced, and his wife has the kids, but I'm sure he has to pay child support or sommat), plus rent...he can't afford NOT to have a job!

Geoff was so fired up by these events that he was talking about trying to convince kids from Genuardi's to go down there and tell the manager of the place that this woman treated them poorly. "I just want to do something," he said in frustration, and though I chuckled sympathetically, I wished there was something I could do for him. It's sort of heartwarming to see how fiercely loyal he is to his friends, but at the same time I'm afraid he'll do something that will hinder rather than help Tim's case.

Something good will happen, I'm sure. If Tim truly is innocent, he can't go uncompensated!

Hmm...for whatever reason, it occurred to me that I never got my "Je suis aim�e" pin back from Geoff... :( It's probably lying, discarded, on a tabletop (or in the trash) somewhere...

Now I'm looking through the SCA's website again. I haven't looked at it in awhile, because I wanted to join so badly and yet knew I couldn't, for various reasons...But at the same time I have to remind myself that this isn't the Renaissance Faire; I would be expected to participate, and therefore I'd have to learn an accent and make up a history for the character I'd play and all that. A lot of work for something that's just for fun! I don't know, it's not that I disapprove of all that effort--that's how you create the most fun, in the end!--it's just that I'm so unbelieving in my own abilities.

Speaking of Ren Faires, the most exciting aspect of me getting a driver's license is that I'd be able to drive myself to the Faire every weekend if I so chose! Well, I forgot about that nuisance known as a job (I know they'd never agree to me having off every weekend, even though I'm only part-time and therefore have the right to say I want off on weekends). But ideally, I could do this! And I could take road trips...Ahh, it all sounds so enticing!

Oh no, I forgot to look at Frank's car and the new tinted windows he got! Eesh! He made a point of telling me to look at those when I left today! But I'd walked out partway with Geoff, and so my mind was understandably distracted!

Umm...Anyway, I'm going to go to bed now. I'm exhausted. At some point, I have to bring out The Voyage of the Jerle Shannara and start reading it...it's a new book, and it chronicles Walker's adventures as a Druid. I'm hesitant to read it, because Walker Boh was never one of my favorite characters. But who knows, I may be pleasantly surprised!

In any event, good night, Dear Diary!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!