Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Sorta good, sorta bad (though more of the latter)
Written on January 25, 2002 at 9:41 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Well, so much for my room design. Found out today that you aren't allowed to paint on the walls. So where the heck had Mom gotten the idea that we could?! I wish she'd never told me that, so I didn't get my hopes up. That was the ONE thing that was going to make this whole sucky situation somewhat worthwhile, being able to really make my space mine. And now I can't even do that. Yay.

We went over to A.C. Moore anyway, where Mom irritated me further by lingering in the paint section. I very deliberately continued walking while she paused to look at brushes. She told me we could still do the glow-in-the-dark paint since that wouldn't show up during the day, but I mean, come on--how tacky would that be? The whole purpose of that paint was going to be to add another dimension to everything else. On its own, it just looks juvenile and unattractive. And besides, I wouldn't really like to live out the year wondering how long it would take the maintenance folks to figure out I had painted the walls.

A little good came out of the trip, though. I got four prints (Midsummer Eve, The Accolade, God Speed, and some other one whose name I can't remember), and frames for all but one. This cost me $143!!! *faints* Though I have to say, it's a far cry cheaper than all those paints would have been. So maybe it's all for the better. I'll wait 'til we get a house again before I paint my room. Though with my luck, my next house will come when I'm married, and my husband definitely won't want glow-in-the-dark faeries prancing about his room.

There was one painting I'd specifically been looking for, but couldn't find. I saw it first at another store, but it was all framed and everything and they were charging about $130 for it, which was totally outrageous. So I was hoping to find just the print, and then I could frame it myself. However, it wasn't to be found! So now I'm looking around AllPosters.com for it. It would help if I knew the name of the painting, though... >_< It's not as if it was exceptionally pretty or anything, but there was just something about it that I really liked. It was a depiction of an old French street, and for whatever reason it made me think of being in France again. So maybe that's why I want it so much. But I think it'd probably look incongruous with the other prints I got. I'm still wondering what I'm going to do with poor Freddie...

Hey, Lola! Here's one for you! Hehe...Painted by Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec! :oP

I need to stop trying to multi-task. I'm not a multi-tasking sort of girl. What ends up happening is that I start concentrating more on either one thing or the other, and then I completely forget about the other thing I was working on! Sigh.

"Two Tahitian Women With Mangos". Looks like there's a lot more showing there than mangos.

"Nude Woman Drying Her Foot"? That actually sounds kind of like a sword form you'd read in WoT, hehehe...

I like "Highland Shepherd", just because I have a love affair with the Scottish Highlands. ^_^ Not that I've ever been there, but it sounds pretty...

Okay, anyway, enough of this. Nobody's interested! Not that I'm writing this for you, but anyway...

Oh, I almost forgot. While searching around the store, I came across wallpaper border that looked like that French painting I was just talking about a few paragraphs ago. Mom picked it up, excited for me, and said, "We'd have to pin it to the wall, but..."

I know she means well, but really! Instead of having a faerie-themed room, I could make everything look something like Raggedy Ann: just hanging together by the seams! Eesh.

Anyway, enough of my complaining. Frank called me a little after 7 and asked if he could call me around 9 because he needed to vent. I was like sure, whatever, so he called a little after 9. By then, of course, he was better, but he vented to me anyway. Oh well, glad I could be there anyway. ;)

And I'm going to go now. Oo, here was a kinda cool part of the evening! We went to go order my bed frame, and the woman discounted it a little bit from $374 (or something like that) to $349. But then she said that we could have the floor model if we wanted because she was just going to have to tear it down anyway and put it in storage (because she was getting a queen-sized version of it instead). The floor model was fine, so we agreed. And we got the whole thing--headboard, footboard (or whatever it's called), and rails--for $250! We're so thrifty. *rolls her eyes*

Okay, now I'm leaving. I really need to get to bed so that I can work tomorrow. *gag*

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!