Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: SOME good comes along...
Written on January 21, 2002 at 9:29 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Well, the good news is that we got the apartment. I am so relieved about that. Mom and I went out today to start looking around for rugs and things for the floors (the floors are all hardwood, but 70% of each room has to be covered with rugs or some type of carpeting). We went to Bed Bath & Beyond first, mostly because I thought we'd be able to find rugs there. Instead, we were both given a most wondrous idea for my room!

I'm starting to change my mind a little bit about which one I want, but here's the canopy we both decided we wanted at first:

Later note: The pictures don't work, so you'll have to go to the site and look for yourselves if you're interested, hehe!

You can't get the full effect from that picture, since it's not a shot of the whole bed (and I took the picture out anyway so it doesn't matter, bwa ha), but in the store, you could see how the top of the canopy is suspended from the ceiling (so it doesn't need to be attached to a canopy railing or anything like that). Gives it a very wispy, exotic sort of feel. ;) But speaking of exotic, here's the style that I'm starting to like as well:

But once again, you can't see it 'cause I took the picture away!

That one's called a "Siam Bed Canopy". I could just imagine myself lounging in some ancient Arabian room. ^_^ The only thing that kind of bothered me about it was the fact that with the store display, it looked as if you'd constantly be battling with the netting while you tried to sleep. And of course you could (and are probably SUPPOSED to) move the stuff when you go to bed, but I'd get tired of rearranging everything each day and finally just get rid of the whole darned thing. So I think I'll go for the first one (even though it's $99!! >_< )

In case you wanted it, here's a link to Bed Bath & Beyond.

Anyway, after that excursion we traveled over to a bed store (*falls over giggling* While proofreading, I realized I'd originally typed "we traveled over to a bed"). Originally, this was to find me a twin frame for my mattress (since the daybed frame is crappeh and keeps falling apart). But then we walked inside and I found this frame that I want A LOT. But the smallest it comes in is full! *sigh* Now I'm feeling guilty, recounting all of this. Here I have a perfectly good twin mattress at home but no, I just HAD to have that frame. We haven't gotten the frame yet, but we got a full-size mattress and boxspring at another store, so the frame is as good as bought. Ugh, I should have gone home and thought much longer about this.

That's my problem: I start thinking too much about stuff and then I end up backing out. I just hate spending my money on frivolous stuff anymore (like today I FINALLY found those Bertie Bott's beans, but they were $4.99 so I said, "Well, they'll still be here another time!"). Well, that's not true, obviously, since I got DVDs and stuff not all that long ago! But that was using a gift certificate, and I'm not as hesitant to spend when the stuff is "free"! ;)

But what's done is done, and so I've started to think of a room theme. I've settled on something faerie-ish, since that's what the canopy thing reminds me of, but it'll be kind of hard to fit the rest of my mismatched stuff in there! I saw a couple of prints that I would LOVE to buy and hang up on the wall, but they were so expensive! I need to try and find them somewhere else without the frames and stuff. But then...my Freddie Mercury poster would look so out of place! However, Freddie will NOT go unshown, so he'll just have to look incongruous.

Of course, the main color scheme will still be purple. I have too many purple things to make it something like...neon green. Not that I would make my room neon green...

Okay, I'm losing concentration. And besides that, I have to go to work tomorrow. Geoff probably works 3:30 to midnight, with my luck, so I'll only get to see him for an hour. Oh well, I'll just deal with it. I'm too tired to even agonize over THAT irritating man.

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!