Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Moving and Marriages
Written on January 15, 2002 at 5:56 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Sigh.

I'd had a fairly good day--not terrific, but not bad--and then Mom showed up. And told me that the "two-bedroom cottage" she'd been possibly interested in turned out to be so small that a couch wouldn't have fit into the living room, and my bed (which is a twin daybed) wouldn't have fit into either of the bedrooms. So we have no place to go. Still.

The only thing we have left to do now is get rid of most/all of our animals. I WILL NOT let Blackie be taken away. He's been with me since I was barely into double digits (age-wise), gone through both the move to Massachusetts and the move back, and comforted me through all the rough spots in my life. If I am truly forced to live in a cardboard box on the side of the street over a heating vent, I will do it. But I will not allow him to be taken from me. It's not that I want to get rid of Wickit or Pierre, either; the thought of it makes me heartsick. But what else can we do?

The gerbils I'm not really worried about. I'd already planned to get rid of all but two (my first and second gerbils that I ever got), so this is just forcing me to stop procrastinating and do it. If I have to get rid of Henry and Chloe (Cecilia, Chloe's cagemate, unfortunately died), I'll still be sad, but like I said: what can I do?

Then finally, there's the rabbits. I just sent off an email to the PetBunny mailing list, hoping that maybe there'll be people who are willing to adopt my four. I don't want to have to do this, either, but I'd rather give them to someone who will definitely give them a good home than just send the poor bunnies to an animal shelter.

Mom's going down to Virginia tomorrow with her mother's belongings, so that she can store them at my uncle's house. She won't be back probably until some time Thursday afternoon, so I won't have any mode of transportation to do things like take gerbils to the pet shop, etc. Tomorrow and Thursday are my only two days off (given because of the fact that I won't have a ride to work), and I'd really like to get some of this pet-giving-away stuff over with. Gotta get some packing done, too...

Therefore, I'm seriously considering calling up Geoff at work tonight and asking him if he'd be willing to do a HUGE favor for me. His day off is tomorrow, and he probably has plans, but he's the only one who doesn't have to work/go to school. Otherwise, I'd never be able to get up the nerve to call him for something so silly-sounding. I know he's got packing of his own to do as well, which is another reason why I don't think he'd be willing to help me out, but he knows the area up here, and in general he'd just be nice to have around. Frank, I know, would come up here in a heartbeat. But he has to work tomorrow. Though I might ask him about Thursday (when he usually has off), if Geoff can't make it tomorrow.

I really shouldn't impose upon either of them. The animals could wait 'til another day, and I'm sure I can do the packing on my own. The real reason for my wanting to ask, I suppose, is because I need the comfort and support. Geoff would know something of what I'm going through because he has to move as well...Frank's just my friend and would sympathize no matter what, even if he had no direct experience with my problem.

So we come back to the beginning of this entry: Sigh. That's about all I can do. I don't really feel like crying...that part'll come later. I don't even feel like packing or doing any of the stuff that I know I should be doing instead of sitting here at the computer. Truth be told, I think I'd rather be back at work. At least then, I'm not in the house being forced to think about what's happening to Mom and I.

Oh well. In other news, Laura sent me a link to this cute page last night (I don't have the link offhand), and after following a few other links, I came to the coolest thing. The woman who had made that page had also made up a page all about her wedding. It's so cool! I can just imagine how exciting it must've been while the page was being made (before the wedding...which was in 1998). There's all sorts of interesting things there, but I thought just the idea itself was so CREATIVE! Not that she was the first to do it, I'm sure, but it was the first time I'd ever seen a webpage detailing different aspects of one's own wedding.

Whenever/if ever I get married, I'm going to make one of those. ^_^

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!