Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Have a holly jolly Christmas (if you celebrate it, anyway)
Written on December 24, 2001 at 7:57 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

*blinks at Lola* I live in a rural area, y'know! Hehe...but yeah, I guess most people around here wanted to get their driver's licenses ASAP because there IS no public transportation as there is in the city. Generally speaking, I suppose I would like to be able to drive, but mostly I'm just like "doesn't really matter." I don't care. Yes, I know I'll eventually have to get my license, but I don't feel pressed or obligated to do so. All it means for me is shelling out more money (that I don't have) on gas, upkeep, and insurance. The benefits, for me, don't even BEGIN to outweigh the bad aspects.

Anyway, that was In My Defence. Hehe...Freddie Mercury song title usage, there...

The store was absolutely PACKED today. I got very frustrated very quickly. In the time it took us to put out bread and rolls, then bake up more, all the stuff was gone. I think we went through 5 or 6 (I think even more) boxes of French baguettes (there are about 40 baguettes or so in a box). It was complete insanity! But then around 3:30 or so, everything just stopped. The Food Court was suddenly empty, as if everyone had left at the same time. I left at 4:30, the store closed at 5...and Geoff had to stay there even longer after that! He was the first one in that department at the store this morning, and the last to leave. I don't understand that man sometimes. I don't really think he likes his job, yet he's always coming in early or staying later, or even coming BACK later at night after he already worked during the day! He's the only Department Backup in the store who actually deserved to get that rank. And I'm not just saying that because I like him; he really is a good worker. I'd have been like "screw you!" several times by now if I'd been in his position, hehe!

So anyway, after getting finished with everything, I went into the back room. Geoff was in the little Receiving Area office, talking to Ernie. I walked in, shuffled past Ernie, and looked at Geoff (who was sitting down). "Okay, stand up!" I exclaimed. His response? "Why?" So I grinned brightly and opened my arms, hehe...he was like "Oh" (in that tone of voice where "Duh" might easily follow), then slightly exaggerated trying to get out of his chair (Ernie was like "Once he sits down, you can't get him back up again!").

So I got my Holiday Hug from Geoff. ;) Or, should I say, he got his Holiday Hug from me (since I wouldn't've gotten one otherwise, hehe)!

Thankfully, Ernie had walked out of the office by that point. I would've felt like I was discluding him if I only hugged Geoff...but have I mentioned anything about Ernie? One thing in particular, actually. He smells. I'm not exaggerating or making things up, either. I don't know if it's that he doesn't bathe, or he just sweats very prolifically (or a combination of both), but he has a very disgusting unwashed scent. One day he was at the other end of an aisle, and I was just entering the other end. I could smell him even before I turned the corner to go into that aisle.

I'm not joking. He's that bad. He's a nice guy, generally speaking (rather annoying, and very weird), but he has some bad hygiene! If I ever let myself get that bad...I'd want someone to take me forcibly to the bathtub.

At any rate... ;) Zenon gave me a card and a gift today, which was so nice of him! Just about every manager had gotten something for their employees (Kirsten got something for all the cashiers, Jim got stuff for the Produce dept, etc.), but John got us nothing. Not even a card. He signed a card for each of the Food Service departments, but the employees got nothing. And yes, I know that that shouldn't mean anything...it's not that I exactly WANTED a present, it just would have been nice of him to acknowledge us or something! But he's a selfish sort of guy. So when Zenon brought in these gifts for all his bakery employees, I was like, "Aw!" He got a hug, too. ;) I got the typical girl-gift: scented bath gel and soap, hehe! But still, that's not even the point. Just the fact that he thought about all of us is what was so great about it.

I got a card from Emma (in Sweden) today! She's such a cutie. I wish I talked to her more often! I've definitely got to write her a letter soon...and while I'm at it, I've got to get CARDS for everyone! Eesh! Well, they won't be Christmas cards anymore, I suppose, but oh well, I'm never on time with anything (Jam can attest to that)!

Also, in the mail, came my Body Solutions order. I'd been hearing about this stuff from a couple of the DJs on the Oldies station that I listen to. Learned on the website that there are 3 different "phases", but the one that the DJs always talked about was this overnight thing. You can't eat or drink anything for 3 hours before you go to bed (which isn't that ridiculous, considering you're really not supposed to eat anything after 6 pm anyway), but then right before you go to sleep you take this stuff. It's not a miracle weight-loss thing; they tell you right on the site that it could possibly take up to 90 days before you notice weight dropping.

But weight isn't supposed to be lost quickly like in those "Lose 30 pounds in 30 days!" diets. I've always known that it's healthier to lose it gradually, and that's what this stuff is supposed to do.

Anyway, I'm going to start tonight, I think, though that'll mean I have to stay up until 10 pm because I ate dinner at 7. XD With any luck, I'll have lost a nice amount of weight by the time I go to Arizona! The thought of having to wear shorts scares me like you wouldn't believe. I much prefer having to wear pants (possibly a small reason why I like colder climates much better than the warmer ones, hehe)! Wish me luck!

Mom put all my stuff under the tree tonight...and then I stuck her three presents there. :- I know it's the thought more than the quantity, but this means I'm going to be sitting there ripping things open long after she's opened everything! The bracelet is in her stocking, as is Jam's pressie. *grins*

I think that's it for today...I've been writing for ages! So I'm going to go and try to distract myself for the next hour and a half, when I can take that stuff and go to bed!

Oh yeah, one other thing, hehe...I've figured out how to get around the "telling kids about Santa" thing. *giggles* Should I ever actually have children (which I don't foresee, but anyway), I've decided that I'll take a philosophical approach to it. "Mom, is Santa real?" "Do you believe he is? Well, then he is."

See, it's not really lying. I mean yeah, we all know by now (at least, I hope we all know) that Santa isn't real. And I never thought before about having to tell kids that he is. But when I started to think about it, I realized that it required some pretty heavy-duty lying, and I don't like to lie. I'm serious, it makes me feel so guilty that even the thought of punishment is better than the guilt after lying! So I knew I wouldn't be able to hold up the "Santa is real" lie for however many years it would last. But back to my point. I can't explain it as well to you as well as my mind explains it to me (hehe), but it's kind of like, if you believe that this exists, then it does. It may not really be there, but it's real enough to you. Yes? No? I see lots of confused faces. WoT readers, it's kind of like the Aes Sedai "no lying" oath. Aes Sedai can't tell a lie, but what if they say something that they firmly believe is the truth? Like, maybe one AS says "Elephants can come in fuschia polka dots." And we know they don't, but the AS truly believes they do. So the oath doesn't prevent her from telling that lie because she thinks it's the truth!

I can't believe I just said all that. All I came back to say was that I'd figured out how to get around the Santa thing, and yeesh! So I'm going now! Oh, for goodness' sake! I wasn't supposed to eat ANYTHING from now until tomorrow morning, and I just ate two LifeSavers! *smacks her forehead*

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!