Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: A truce
Written on December 12, 2001 at 5:32 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Wooooo ha!!!

I scored a 60 on Lola's quiz! *giggles* I suppose that's still not the GREATEST, but I was afraid I'd end up getting a THREE or something, and then I'd be embarrassed! ;) I know more aboutcha than I ever would have thought I did! ;) Didn't know you'd been to 18 US states, though...is that really true? *giggles*

By the way, I thought "Meet The Parents" was stupid, too. Mel made me watch it. I think I had a grimace of disbelieving disgust on my face all the way through it. Not to mention the fact that I wanted to kick that entire family's collective rear end.

Ohhh, gotta tell y'all what happened today at work! It was nearing the end of my shift, and Kirsten comes back and says "After you're finished with that, can you come see me in the office?"

"Am I in trouble?" I asked, starting to feel nervous.

"No, you're not in trouble!" she laughed.

So anyway, I finished up with the pies and then hesitantly walked up front. I knew that whatever she had to say was going to be related to Tuesday's Humiliation (if you have no idea what I'm talking about, go back in the archives, hehe). Sure enough, I sat down in the office, she closed the door, and told me that she'd heard from people that I was saying that I hated her and blah blah blah. Asked me to please keep my opinions to myself, you know the deal.

I could feel my face burning as she was talking, feeling really embarrassed for having said anything to anyone. But I deserved it. I really shouldn't have been going around venting to everyone because with the way grocery stores are, I should've known that it would get back to her eventually.

At any rate, we're pretty much back to normal now. She told me that she hadn't intended to upset me that long-ago Tuesday, and that she wanted to be able to continue joking with me but that if I was uncomfortable with it, I should let her know. I informed her that it wasn't that I minded the joking, it was that I felt like she'd been making fun of me. She assured me she wasn't, and I think we left the mini-meeting on good terms again.

However, I still will not ever trust her again. But it'll be nice not having that frostiness in the air whenever she and I are in the same area.

Oh great, Dad's on. *crosses fingers* Please don't IM me, please don't IM me, please don't IM me...

Either Geoff was in a very good mood today, or he was feeling rather talkative, because I stopped to talk to him a couple of times! Hehe...I'll leave it at that (though you're allowed to email me, Lola. *grins teasingly*), but it was still pretty cool. Usually he's too busy working to talk to me! ;)

Frank told me he'd come up to the house and help Mom and I clean for the party on the 22nd. *laughs* I was like, "Yeah, right!" but he assured me he would. Not that I'm actually going to ask him that (I get these funny mental images of him with a kerchief over his hair and a frilly-yet-dusty apron on over his clothes). However, it was a nice gesture on his part. If only we had the same interests...and were actually interested in each other... ;)

It's so nice having a guy friend, though. The last time I had guy friends was back in 3rd grade, before we really started looking at each other as members of the opposite sex. I wonder sometimes if, had I stayed in that school, would we have remained the same sort of friends or would there have been some kind of newfound tension between us once we hit our teenage years. I never really thought before that a girl could have a guy friend and not ever have any deeper feelings than friendship, but I guess I was wrong! Granted, I don't know what HE'S thinking, but I'm pretty much positive that his feelings are also platonic. At least, I hope so...it could get awkward, otherwise! It would be like one of those stories you hear about in teen magazines!

Nina came up to me as I was making pane and just sort of nodded as if prodding me to tell her something. Since I had no idea what she wanted me to tell, I said as much. "Sooo, have things progressed at all?" she asked cryptically. As my head began to spin in a slow clockwise direction, I asked what she was talking about. Turns out she wanted to know if anything had "progressed" between me and Geoff. *giggles* It shocked me that she would ask, because she's the sort of person who doesn't really care about that stuff. She and I talk to each other and everything, but we're not really friend friends (that is, we'd never really hang out after work or anything...we're WAY too different). I still can't get over the fact that I went to elementary school with her for a year, but that's beside the point. ;) One of these days, when I get a new scanner, I think I'm going to scan some of my old class pictures. Just for the pure fun of it.

Ugh, once again I am so tired. That's what happens when I start working again. So there won't be any more late nights for me for quite some time...probably not until I get another two-days-in-a-row break. Though actually, in a way I like it better when I only have one day off...I don't LOVE it, but at least then I stay pretty much on the same sleep cycle. Last night I had SO much trouble getting to sleep because I was used to staying up 'til 3 in the morning again! Funny how fast I can get back into the late-night routine. I ended up finishing "The Sword of Shannara" and started "The Elfstones of Shannara".

It was very sad (in a wistful sort of way) reading the second book right after finishing the first. With a book like that, it's so easy for me to get emotionally attached to the characters. I feel almost like I know them or something! In the second book, the main character is the grandson of the guy who was the main character in the first book (still with me?). It's just sad to see a whole new bunch of characters, with all the other ones old and gray and unable to make any more grand adventures! :o

Of course, when I go on to "The Wishsong of Shannara", I'll probably miss the characters from Elfstones! There's not so much of an age gap between the second and third books, though, so if memory serves me correctly, the old main characters from Elfstones still make an appearance. The characters from Sword are probably all dead, hehe...but I haven't read these books since high school, so it's almost like reading them for the first time, with vague memories of what happens.

Anyway, I'll stop my book ramblings now! In fact, I'll stop rambling, period, and go do something else. Meant to email Lola last night about something I read in her diary, but I forgot, so I'll do that now! ^_^

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!