Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Oh my gosh! A GOOD day!
Written on December 02, 2001 at 7:40 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

The most annoying thing that could happen while writing something on the computer is to have the power go out. That just happened to me...while I was halfway through my entry. And it's not even the loss of everything that has me so ticked...well, that does make me quite angry, but the fact that I'm still too dumb to write my entries in Notepad and save often...! So that's what I'm doing right now. And I'll have to remember to do that from this point on.

Now. My entry. As usual, it's going to be meaningless fluff to just about everyone, but come on now; are you really surprised? Alright, alright, here we go.

Once upon a time...(just joking.)

"Little Joe" (so named because we need to differentiate him from Big Joe) was scheduled to start work at 12 pm today. Thus, I figured I'd wait for him to come in before I took my 10-minute break. However, the minutes ticked by, and still no Joe. It was then that I saw Geoff buy coffee for his break, so I just told Mare I was going to take my break at that moment. Mwe he he...

Beverly was in the break room too, but that's okay because she's younger than me and I like her. ^_^ It's kind of odd; I always feel more comfortable around older people, but yet most of my friends are younger than me. That's off topic, though. *steers back on track* I sat next to her (across from Geoff, hehe), and the three of us started talking about various things. (Actually, now that I think of it...I have to giggle because when I walked into the room, it was totally silent. I wonder if the two of them were talking at all!)

We somehow got onto the topic of Bev's crush (Steve). She was saying how she thought he was annoying now (though she was giggling, so I doubt she meant it), and I don't even know what else was said, but I quipped, "The only man who likes me is Mario, and he's a video game." Bev asked what I was talking about, so I had to explain that I was referring to the Mario Bros. Honestly, some people are SO clueless! ANYway, a beat later I said, "Mario was my childhood companion."

For some reason that I can't begin to fathom, this greatly amused Geoff, because he just started cracking up. It wasn't a prolonged laughing fit or anything, but he laughed harder at that than he had at anything else Bev and I had previously said. So I started laughing, just because that sort of laughter is contagious.

Lessee, what topic did we get to next...oh yeah. A Christmas song started playing on the store radio (surprise, surprise), and Bev made a joke about it. I mentioned that I'd heard a remake of Wham!'s "Last Christmas", and it irritated me because the people who did it sucked. Geoff was like, "Wham! made a Christmas song?" and I told him the title of it but he said he didn't think he'd heard it before.

Blah blah, what else happened after my break was over? Actually, I stayed back there longer than I should've because Geoff wasn't leaving and so I didn't want to, either. ;) That break put me in such good spirits, however, that even when I saw Kirsten later I didn't go into a bitter rage like I normally do! ;) She's still not talking to me, hehehe...Mom says that she's probably afraid of me, but I just think she considers me to be the enemy. Bwa ha ha! My thoughts were only confirmed after talking to Nicole later in the day.

Nicole works up front, and she's about 33 years old (which surprised me, because she looks like she's maybe 30 at the oldest). I've always liked her because she's so sweet and understanding (and trustworthy!). Back when I was having all the problems with Dad and stuff, I used to go up to the courtesy counter and talk to her about it. Her parents divorced too, so she understands a lot of what I'm going through. Anyway, I hardly ever see her anymore but when I do, it's nice to just chat a little or whatever.

Today I told her about Geoff and then the whole thing with Kirsten. It is SO funny to me how the guys don't think anything of what happened, yet every woman I've told has been like, "I can't believe her!" Nicole got this look on her face that clearly said what she thought of Kirsten, and I had to giggle a little. But anyway, here's the new piece of information I got: Nicole says that Kirsten has always hung around Geoff. Apparently, she actually does like him.

But Nicole says that she doesn't think Geoff returns the interest (and as Mom said, if he did, he probably would have asked her out LONG before now).

Okay, so with this little piece of info, things start to click together. Namely, the whole business about "Geoff has a girlfriend." I'd already been wondering the other day why she would be flirting with him if he was attached. Granted, that's just the sort of person she is, but you typically don't hang on a person if he/she is going out with someone, y'know? I can't explain it right, hehe! At ANY rate, now I'm 99.9% positive that she just told Erin to tell me he has a girlfriend because she wanted me to back off. And to think, I was actually going to do just that! *faints*

It's a good thing I didn't decide to go through with yesterday's plan, or I probably would've found myself in a larger mess. Since I'd been under the impression that Kirsten was only hanging around Geoff to get me angry, I decided that, if Keith would play along, I would pretend that I was suddenly very taken with Keith. Kirsten's always been infatuated with him, so my hope had been that she would lose interest in Geoff and go back to him. But now I know that wouldn't've worked (and besides that, it could've just backfired if Geoff found out and thought I actually did like Keith!).

This should probably make me angry, Kirsten's little deception. And, truth be told, I am a little peeved (if only for the trouble she's put me through). But I'm also rather amused. No one's ever considered me to be a threat before, but if what Nicole says is true (and she's around Kirsten enough to know), then everything that Kirsten has done to me is proof that she DOES consider me a threat! *beams* Little bitty Berry, the girl who thought she wasn't anything special, is THE COMPETITION!!! Whoo, look at me move up in the world!!!

Another thing...I pretty much know now that Geoff has to know I like him. Since Kirsten knows, and she's so dead set on keeping me away from him, she's no doubt made some sort of comment about me liking him (probably in the most derogatory manner possible, like pointing out my age and all that). That's the biggest weapon she has against me: my age. Anyway, it's good and bad if he knows I like him. Bad because it all just sounds so high school-ish ("Amber likes you, tee hee hee!"), and maybe he wouldn't believe it anyway. But it could also be a GOOD thing because...well, he knows I like him! It takes all the guesswork out, LoL! Of course, that only matters if he likes me, but we're going one step at a time here. If he DOES know I like him, then I assume he would try to avoid me like the proverbial plague, but he was acting just like he always does! So who knows.

Before my attention wanders away altogether (as yours has, I'm sure), here's the last part to my day. I was packaging bread and stuff when "Last Christmas" (the Wham! version) came on the store radio. I took a quick peek at the frozen section to see if Geoff was there, because I was going to point up at the ceiling (figuratively pointing to the song) and say, "That's the song!" But he wasn't there. X_X My shift finally ended and I walked toward the back of the store, and that's when Geoff and this other kid walked out of the back room. I smiled and said hi, and then Geoff said, "Your song played."

*grins* The song had played maybe 30-45 minutes before the end of my shift, so it wasn't as if it had just played and THEN I saw him, which reminded him or whatever. He'd actually heard it, and obviously he must've thought of me if he remembered it! *giggles* Or maybe I'm reading too much into it? Well, even if it wasn't an "I'm interested in you sign" (and I'm sure it wasn't, but anyway), he still must've thought of me fleetingly when he heard the song!

So overall, Berry had a good day. The first one since last Tuesday! And here I thought I wouldn't be able to get back to normal with Geoff while Kirsten was around...HA! Move over, girl; NOW I'm the competition! *cackles*

Oh yeah! How could I forget? Mom said she wants to have a Christmas party here at our house, and it's either gonna be on the 15th or the 22nd. Guess who Berry's gonna ask? *grins* And guess who's NOT getting an invite? ;)

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!