Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: And if you thought that was all...
Written on November 30, 2001 at 6:37 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Without further ado....MY DAY!!!

'Twas my first day working with Geoff
Since Tuesday's Humiliation left me bereft...

*falls over giggling* Okay, okay, I'll spare you my attempt at poetry! ;) But seriously, today WAS my first day seeing him since Tuesday, and needless to say (or at least, I'd HOPE it was needless), I was feeling a little awkward. That's why, the first time I passed him, I didn't say anything. Well, I didn't pass right by him or anything...he was several feet away stocking stuff. As I walked away, though, I heard "Hi, Amber!" Said hi back, but that was about it.

Probably less than an hour later, I was stocking the pie table when I saw Geoff and Ben walk up to the coffee bar (which is just a couple of feet away from the table where I was). Since they were talking, I didn't say anything and just continued with what I was doing. But then Geoff was in line to buy something, and the line he was in put him literally right next to the pie table...therefore, unless I planned to completely snub him I'd have to say hello.

"Hi, Geoff!" I greeted tentatively, setting down the apple dumplings I'd carried over.

"There you are!" he replied. I paused for a moment, trying to figure out what that was supposed to mean, but finally I just murmured, "Yeah, I'm here." *shrugs* What can I say? I'm still unsure how to act around him now!

I saw him a couple of other times during the day (by some twist of fate I walked across the front of the store twice with him), and while I chatted with him and stuff, I didn't make a point of prolonging things like I usually did. Just friendly conversation that ended when it was supposed to end, rather than when I finally MADE it end!

Mare happened to take both her 10-minute AND her lunch break at the same time that Geoff took both of his, so I didn't get to hang out with him in the break room at all. Oh well, not like there won't be other times! Besides that, it's probably good that I didn't hang out with him just yet. I'm still feeling a little uncomfortable.

I accidentally smiled at Kirsten today. *giggles* You know how sometimes when you glance over and see someone, you don't always recognize them right away (even if you know them well)? That's what happened to me today. I was just glancing in that direction and happened to see her. She was smiling, and it looked like she was smiling at me so in my moment of disconcertion I smiled back...then thought "Oh. It's you."

Karen told me that the next time I see Kirsten with a group of people (like this afternoon she was talking with Joanne, Geoff, and Ben), I should be all friendly and say "Hi, Kirsten!" After awhile, if she starts picking on me again, people will see that she's just being bitchy and I'm the nice one. ;)

I suppose today wasn't as bad as I'd thought, though the morning part sucked. As soon as I walked into the bakery, John was on my case because I hadn't packaged the muffins last night. Admittedly, I did deserve to be berated; I'd been so frustrated yesterday with the "he's got a girlfriend" business that I was talking with Karen more than focusing on my work. At one point, it was 3 pm, and in the next moment it was 4, leaving me only half an hour to finish packaging two racks of stuff! I stayed a little bit later, but still only managed to do a little bit.

But even so, I didn't need to hear that right upon walking into the department. Combined with my already frazzled nerves, it just made me REALLY frustrated. So later when I was walking up to the front of the store with Geoff and he asked me something like "Are you having fun?" I told him that I felt like kicking somebody. Mwe he he...

I was packaging cookies today when I heard someone call my name. The voice was unfamiliar, so I was wondering who in the world knew my name. Anyway, I looked up and saw this older woman smiling and waving at me.

I don't know this woman's name. And I know it's not really something I should be saying, but whenever I refer to her, I call her the "Jesus Lady." Hehe...there's a reason for that, though! When I first met her I was still cashiering and she came through my line. After the transaction was completed, just before she left she said, "Jesus loves you."

Now, obviously people just don't say this to strangers, so I was taken aback...and a little weirded out. But at the same time it was kind of nice. I'm not like an OVERLY religious person (that is, I don't really talk about God or any of my spiritual beliefs with other people), but...I don't know, maybe it was just comforting or something.

She says that to just about everyone, but of course, being the way society is, most people just smile falsely and then make some sarcastic quip after she's left. The more I saw this woman, though, the more I liked her. And I don't know, I guess it just progressed from there.

Now every time I see her, I give her a big hug and then sometimes we'll talk for a few minutes. I think maybe she's a born-again Christian or something like that...she asked me once if I was, and it was so unexpected that I just said "yes" without thinking first. Then I felt bad for awhile; I'd just lied to this woman! Hehe...Anyway, I'm sure it sounds silly for me to be talking about this, so I'll stop. I just felt like sharing, because I always love seeing her.

Tomorrow I'm supposed to be working like 4 hours in the decorating section. I'll have to work with Joanne. Generally speaking she's a nice person, but I get SO irritated with her! She has this way about her that's very snappy sometimes, and she has NO patience whatsoever so if you talk for too long, she'll just interrupt. I HATE THAT. It's probably because I was brought up not to interrupt people until after they've finished talking, but I just don't like it when I'm trying to talk and then someone butts in and starts talking about something else. Mel used to do that all the time and it royally ticked me off.

So anyway, I'll be working with her, and I'm sure my patience will wear thin within an hour! I wasn't gifted with terrific patience, either (well, in some things), so we tend to make a bad combination! Karen gave me a list of things to do, though, so at least I won't have to worry about asking Joanne what to do. At least, not right away. ^_^

I fell asleep last night at about 8:30, and I was still feeling tired when I woke up! Wasn't as bad as usual, though. But still, that's quite a few hours of sleep! I'm wondering if I have some kind of problem! Some article I read was saying that there are several reasons why people may feel like they never get enough sleep. If you get too little sleep, it can take up to two weeks sometimes to get back to normal. Then there's depression (something I very well could have, if only a mild case), and sleep apnea. At least, I think that's what it's called. If I remember correctly, it's when you just stop breathing for a few moments during the night. Or maybe it's even longer than that. But obviously, with the lack of oxygen you're going to have problems, hehe...It seems like I read something about that condition awhile back, and they said that one "symptom" (for lack of a better word) is that you kind of snort or something like that. *laughs* I'm so bad at this description thing! But there've been times where I've woken myself up because I made this snorting noise. Though I've always thought it had something to do with what I was dreaming...

I should read more about that condition. Then I can be better informed. ;)

I think that's all I have to say for now. So, um...go amuse yourselves elsewhere!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!