Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Here, there, everywhere
Written on November 16, 2001 at 5:48 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Yes, I was in agony all day because I couldn't see Harry Potter. Read a review in the newspaper that said the director had seemed to focus more on the sets than character development, but it doesn't make me want to see the movie any less! I saw a clip of a Quidditch game in some commercial, and I was like, "Oo, that looks so cool!" I'll get to see it, though. It'll be okay. ;) However, Lola, if I hear you gushing about it, I'll become violent. *giggles* Just kidding, of course!

My head is pounding, and my back hurts, and hey...so do my feet! I got to hide in the back all day today, and all I did was make german chocolate cakes and coconut cakes. Made about...27 in total. Yeesh, 8 and a half hours, and all I made were 27?? Joanne can make like FIFTY in that amount of time! Well, what can I say, I'm still fairly new at all this! And it didn't help that my back was hurting from not having the table up high enough...so I kind of had to slouch over just to work. It sucked.

The weird thing is, when I came in I found out that I had to set up the salad bar because Linda wasn't coming in. Almost like LAST Friday, except that Linda was here then. It's a good thing that I was in better spirits, because otherwise I would've become quite angered at having to work salad bar AGAIN when I came in on my day off to work in bakery. As it turned out, though, John made Claire take over, so I only had to work over there for maybe 20 minutes tops. That was nice.

Speaking of Claire....AUGH! I was walking into the break room with my cup of water, getting ready to sit down at my customary spot against the wall. Who should come walking in from the OTHER doorway but Geoff! So we sat down across from each other, but we weren't really talking all that much. Well. Nick comes in, and then Claire decided to come back. Mom and I have already figured out that Claire has a crush on Geoff...she's kinda acting like me, hanging around him and all that stuff. This doesn't make me happy, because WHY, out of ALL the guys in the store, does she have to go after the only one who I actually like?

Now, before you all go thinking that Claire is a thin, beautiful blonde-haired model type who any man would go crazy for...here's your reality check. She is shorter than me (I'm about 5'7" or 5'8"), with long (rather dead-looking) dark hair, and a VERY bulldog-like face. When I first met her I thought she might've been a gnome or something, so I made sure not to piss her off lest she use some sort of magic and fry me. However, now I know she's nothing more than a grouchy old woman who has nothing better to do than whine and complain about the world. Have I talked about her in here before? I think I remember mentioning the fact that at one time she'd been battling cancer. However, she's been in remission for quite some time, and if it were ME, I'd be happy to have the second chance. I wouldn't be sitting around bitching about how the world is so terrible and blah blah blah. But she does. And it makes her even uglier because she doesn't appear to have any happiness in her. The only time she laughs seems to be when bad stuff happens...or when someone's making joking/sarcastic comments about someone else. And her laugh--no lie--is identical to that of a witch. It's a cackle. I kid you not.

So anyway. Claire comes in and sits herself down right next to Geoff. Berry's ridiculous possessive side is awakened. She sits there and starts thinking awful thoughts about Claire.

After a couple of minutes, Claire got up and walked toward the smoking room, and I thought, "Yay, she's going to hole herself up in there and I won't have to worry about her!" But no. All she did was grab a chair and then come back out, parking herself at the end of the table (but still fairly close to Geoff). As I sat there silently, listening to them talk, I would look up every so often during the moments of quiet to see her casting furtive glances at him. And I've never wanted to strangle anyone half so badly as I wanted to get her, LoL! It's terrible! I'm not even going out with this man and I'm acting like some jealous, scorned wife! I'm sure I wouldn't act so silly if we WERE going out, but right now while I'm still trying to win him over...*giggles*

But yeah, I really WAS in a bad mood at that point. So I sat there for a few more minutes in miserable silence, then finally stood up, threw my empty cup away, and walked briskly into the room where I'd been working (which is adjacent to the break room). Geoff left maybe 5 minutes or so after that, Claire went to the bathroom, and I shut the door on them all. Considering that my mood these past few days hasn't exactly been that great to begin with, I figured I'd be in this dull state for the rest of the day.

However, then I had to walk back to the bakery to ask Joanne a question. As I was walking down one side of the frozen section, Geoff was just nearing the other side. I wasn't even looking at him, but all of a sudden I hear "Amberrr!" (can't explain how it sounded, hehe...at any rate, it's what he does to get my attention/say hello, hehe) He said it loudly enough that it actually echoed, so he slapped his hand over his mouth and looked kind of embarrassed that he'd been so loud. I just laughed at him. But, thankfully, it lifted my spirits and I was in a good mood for the rest of the day! Granted, it was only a couple of hours, but still, 'twas better than nothing, no?

Now I'm feeling a little better about tomorrow. Frank said he'd be going, but he doesn't get off work 'til 6:30, so I'll have a couple hours before he gets there. AND he said he was broke, so he might not end up staying that long. Erin, hopefully, won't be coming at all. Mom says she's going to drop me off, wait for someone else to show up, and then go home to let the dogs out. She'll be back, but still, that gives me a LITTLE time! ;) The only thing that worries me is that Kirsten is coming, and so is Keith, who she's like in love with. Unfortunately, I heard he wants to bring the girl he has a crush on....can we say "don't wanna be there to see what happens"? I knew that you could!

Oh! Heh! Remember my entry about Cheryl trying to play matchmaker? She tried to get me to go out with that Pepsi guy named Mario? (*giggles* I just think it sounds funny for a guy to actually have that name, since the only place I really hear it is in my Mario Bros. games...then again, maybe it's the same with Geoffrey...Geoffrey the Giraffe, the mascot for Toys R Us?) Anyway. This morning as I was taking my break, Cheryl came in and said, "Mario's here today!" I had to think of how to respond politely. What I wanted to say was "Ugh." What I said was "That's nice." She was trying anew to get me to say I'd go out with him! "I told you I was interested in someone!" I told her, laughing.

"Well, can I help you with this person? Do I know them?"

I told her I couldn't say who it was (I'm sure she'd have it all over the store), but she was like, "Well, the Christmas party is coming up!" Which is the same thing I've been thinking about ever since I got the invitation. I'm still thinking up a way to ask him, mwe he he he...

My mother is too funny. She got all angry the other day when Claire followed Geoff to lunch! See, Mom's decided that Geoff would be really good for me, and she and a couple of other people agree that we'd be so cute together. Hehe..if only statements like that could assure that we WOULD get together, right? ;) Anyway, I just thought it was funny because this is the first time Mom's ever actually liked the person I like...usually I get crushes on the 'bad guys', and naturally she wants me to have nothing to do with them. ;) Thus, seeing her so fully in support of me going out with Geoff is amusing! Well, to me anyway...

I think that's all for now. Dinner's coming home soon (how I've missed you, Dinner...), I could probably stand to play some more Paper Mario (you know you're addicted when, unable to sleep at one in the morning, you turn on the Nintendo and start playing Paper Mario)...

AHA! Was watching Iyanla (this late-night, Oprah-esque talk show) after playing Paper Mario, and that particular show was about birth orders and their relationships (with each other and boyfriends/girlfriends). According to this guy, the best matches are only children with youngest, firstborn with youngest, and middleborn with youngest. I'm an only child. Guess who's the youngest in the family....? *cackles* ;)

And NOW I'm gone! Au revoir!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!