Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: YesterDAY's events
Written on November 10, 2001 at 7:33 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Now that I've had my night of sleep, and endured my job for the day, I can tell you about yesterday. The crappeh part of it, anyway...the best part of the day is too mushy to repeat here. ;) Thus, you're stuck with reading about the worst of it all!

Alright. I'd been told on Tuesday that I could come in Friday and work all day for Joanne (one of the cake decorators). Wasn't even scheduled on Friday, so basically I was coming in on my own time (though it evens out because he was doing me a slight favor letting me come in at all)...Joanne's nice enough, but her people skills pretty much suck. It was my first time going into the back room to work, so I wasn't sure what to bring with me and what all I had to do. Whereas most people would be willing to help, she just kept snapping out stuff and expecting me to understand. I was swiftly growing irritated, but once I got into the back room I started to calm down.

At 12 o'clock, two of the managers and three guys from the grocery department (including Geoff ^_^) came into the room (which also serves as a meeting room) to watch this stupid little broadcast on the wonderful Safeway Satellite Network. I was allowed to stay, so I stood in the back doing my thing while this woman (who needs to practice her speech-giving skills) blathered on on the TV screen. Eventually I walked out because I felt like I was making too much noise (when you put icing into the bags, you have to squeeze some of it out to let the air out so it doesn't splatter everywhere...and it was sounding like I was farting, LoL!!). I can't believe I said that. Anyway, so I walked out, and then John found me and told me that for the rest of my shift I was going to work with Linda, over in salad bar. That REALLY ticked me off, but at any rate I went back to clean up my mess...because I'm not in the habit to go on to another task (while at work, anyway) when I haven't even cleaned up the first one.

When I walked back into the room, however, Dave (store manager) looked at me and said "Could you excuse us for a few minutes?" Or something to that effect. Just a polite way of saying "Get out." Feeling silly, I walked back out and waited in the break room for them to finish, but I got called to the salad bar before I could even get to clean up my cake-decorating mess.

By that point, I was even more irritated. What gives him the right to think he can just put me here or there? If I'd been scheduled to work that day, I would have come in expecting that y'know, maybe something would happen and I'd have to fill in somewhere else. But John had specifically told me that I'd be working with Joanne. All day. He does this stuff to Nina, too, telling her one thing and then sticking her in another department. Who cares if the bakery is shorthanded, but heaven forbid that Big Joe get the tiniest bit swamped, lest he fall heavily to the ground and cry like an infant.

Blah blah, I filled up the one side of the salad bar, and everything was looking nice enough that I could leave it for long enough to clean up my previous mess. So I went back to clean, since the Top Secret Meeting had let out. As I'm walking out with the first load of stuff, John comes up and has an expression on his face like "What are you doing?" I explained that I was cleaning up, which he thought I'd already done. Umm...when I was kicked out of the room, how could I have cleaned up? Riiiiight.

Cleaned rather shabbily, went back to the salad bar and filled up a teeny bit more. However, then I saw that Geoff was getting ready to go to lunch, and as it was 2:30 (the time that Frank had asked me to go to lunch with him), I was like, "Hey Frank, ready to go now?" Hehehe...It was all by chance that everything fell together nicely like that!

Got back at 3, and I was busy filling up the other side of the salad bar when John came over. "It was what, 12:30 when I first called you over here?" he asked. I gave an apprehensive "I don't know," and that was when he had the gall to tell me that it had been almost 3 hours and this was the first I'd been working on the bar. "No, I filled it when you first called me," I retorted indignantly (though not quite as forcefully as I would have liked), and he said that no I hadn't, there were still big holes when he came to look. Well, um, what do you expect? That the food should STAY filled up, even when loads of hungry customers come plowing through? He continued to reprimand me, and I just felt my face growing hot. He had NO RIGHT to get on my case like that! With anyone else he would've been a pansy and not said anything, but apparently Amber is an easy target over which he can exert his "manly power". And I just stood there taking it, all the while wishing I had the courage to tell him where to go.

Stormed into the dishroom, where Frank came up behind me in his daily attempt to scare me. I wasn't in the mood for jokes, obviously, so he asked me what was wrong. That's when the pathetic weak side of me came out and I could feel tears rising. So I choked out "nothing" and walked back to the salad bar. He followed me out, however, and asked me again, saying that he "knew that face". So the tears fell. Not a lot, as I managed to rein them in eventually, but he still saw me. I felt so bad for him, LoL! He was like, "I didn't mean to make you cry! Come over later if you feel like talking, okay?" I laughed feebly and apologized, but yeah, I felt bad anyway. ;)

Thank goodness that night was as fun as I'd hoped it would be...if IT had turned out terribly, I wouldn't be in nearly as good a mood as I am right now! Actually, though, I'm still feeling a little dejected. I guess because some absurd little part of me hoped that more would happen. But what can you expect?

I told Geoff I had an online diary, hehe...I think I told him last night, and I was saying something about making fun of Safeway in so many of my entries, but today I mentioned something, and when Geoff replied I was like, "Wow, how did you know?" (we were joking the whole time, 'cause whatever I'd said wasn't true.) "I read it in your online diary," he told me. *giggles* I'm pretty certain he doesn't have a computer/internet access, but hopefully he doesn't get curious and go to someone else's house! ;) Not that I think he would. He's not a stalker. *grins* But several people have found this diary by typing "Amber diary" into the Google search engine...let's hope he's Internet illiterate! ;)

Hey, I guess I ended this entry on a good note after all! See, I care about what sort of mood I put all my readers in. *coughs* Hehehe...

Unless I decide to write another entry tonight... Byee!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!