Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: This and that
Written on October 31, 2001 at 7:38 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Ooo, Lola! Only $43 for a one-day ticket!!! Whee! *jumps up and down* I'll have to check out flights next, mwe he he... ;)

Last night I decided that I want to get my own domain. I'm tired of the free hosting services with their gay little popup banners...I want my own site!!! So I went to the place that Lola uses, but it confuzzled me, so I had to ask her how it all worked. *giggles*

As of right now, I'm THIS close to just going ahead and doing it. It would be so neat to have my own space, with my own domain name instead of something silly like www.geocities.com/mybuttisnumb (mwe he he)! I think I've figured out what my domain name would be, too. But I'll hold off on telling anybody until after I've decided on whether or not I'm going to actually register it. ;)

On the other hand, though, I feel like I should wait until I actually have something worthwhile before I potentially waste my money. I'd originally planned to make that Daniel Lapaine website, see how popular it became, and then register IT, but as you may or may not have guessed, I've somewhat lost interest in that site! >_< I'll still put it up eventually (I worked too hard on the research not to put it up!), but I don't envision myself working on it tirelessly into the future. So if this domain was registered just for my personal website, I wouldn't feel obligate to update all the time because it's not like I have anyone to cater to, you know? But then, I'd still feel obligated to update 'cause otherwise it's just a waste of money! :oP

So as you can see, this is going to require some careful deliberation. Pros and cons, blah blah blah...but I'm an impulsive person and will probably end up registering anyway. ^_^

I didn't know that Michael Jackson was a Jehovah's Witness at the time that Thriller (the video) came out! Did anyone else? I'm not saying it means anything, I just didn't know, hehe...

Tonight I saw his latest video/short film. And it sucked. Unlike Thriller, this little diddy had no plot whatsoever...and it's not as if Thriller exactly had a plot, either, but here's what transpires in this new thing (the title of which I can't remember):

Michael and the guy who played that freaky gay radio announcer in "The Fifth Element" (Chris Tucker? I dunno) are in these gangster type outfits (the ones from the 20's, like Al Capone used to wear), and they're ogling this scantily-clad woman (as men are wont to do...it's natural, they just can't control themselves). Michael's face looks like it's just made entirely out of plastic now. It's a shame, really. He was so cute back in the days of Thriller and Billy Jean, and now he looks...like one of those models you'd see in a wax museum. Totally fake.

But I digress. So Mike and friend are allowing their primitive id instincts to guide them, and they follow the Scantily-Clad Woman, presumably in the hope of getting a little action--because let's face it, she was obviously looking for something, dressed in her lingerie.

Not really sure what sort of establishment Scantily-Clad Woman walks into. Guess it's a bar, but maybe it's a bar only for people in this certain gang/mob. Whatever it is, Michael and friend just barge on in and Michael decides to go after the object of his lust. We, as the audience, know beforehand that Scantily-Clad Woman is attached to someone else (unless that was just more poor storyline portrayal). Conveniently, there's a big sweaty fat man tugging on some chains to pull up some kind of backdrop (you know those white screens that women used to dance behind, with the light shining behind them?). Michael kicks the guy (or does SOMETHING to knock 'im down), then does some oh-so-totally dramatic dance moves. It brought to mind a particular Boondocks comic I saw not to long ago, in which one of the characters laments "Wouldn't you think Michael Jackson could have gotten some new dance moves by now?" (or something to that effect.)

I think Scantily-Clad Woman is stoned, because she just wears this blank expression throughout the entire thing. The rival men, like any wild male animal whose territory is being encroached upon, start growling and making menacing comments to the effect of "Let's finish him off."

Here's where my favorite part comes in. Michael finishes his song and dance routine, the other guys circle in, and one man with particularly bad teeth says, "Show me what you got."

So what does our dear friend Michael do? He and his compadres (who were hiding in the woodwork until this moment) do another little dance. Yes, you heard me right. As Threatening Gang/Mob Guy challenges Michael to a fight that undoubtedly means someone is going to get hurt or killed, Michael kicks up his little heels and does a merry jig.

Fighting ensues (probably because the Threatening Gang Men are disgusted with Michael & Friends' pansy performance), and somehow--I forget exactly how--a fire starts in a puddle of alcohol! The fire spreads, rapidly consuming the spilt alcoholic beverages, while Mr. Brando stands at the foot of a stairwell and grins. I still don't get that. Was he happy that his establishment was about to become toast?

Thrown in were some effects to make it actually look like the entire group was in a flame-engulfed building, but it was a little too fake to be believable. Now keep in mind, this whole mess was due to Michael's advances toward Scantily-Clad Woman.

More fighting, and you'd think there'd be some kind of resolution. But no. Mr. Brando (called such because I don't know how to spell his first name) says a few words to Michael, who looks frustrated, and then Michael zips out of the building. Next scene, Michael enters from the left and Scantily-Clad woman is on the right. "Oh, thank god you're alright," croaks Michael, and then his friend (the one who'd been ogling with him) drives up in a car, obviously impatient to get out.

Was there a point to this little film? Or was it just an excuse for Michael to get together some famous actors, grab his crotch a lot, and attempt to prove to everyone that he's still the King of Pop?

Now don't get me wrong, I've always been a fan of MJ's music. I think he's got a helluva lot of talent, but anymore I'm just disgusted and saddened with him as a person. Why has he let himself become so...weird? I'm sure it has something to do with his childhood, but still, the plastic surgery, everything...it's just pathetic! But that's all I feel like saying about that.

Work today pretty much sucked, even though it went by really fast. Got to see Geoff, mwe he he... I was going to ask if I could work a little bit tomorrow, for reasons which I shall not mention, but in the end I decided that I'll just take these scheduled two days off and worry about the lack of money later. This way, I get more time to hang out online...and isn't that a beautiful thing? :oP

Mom bought candy in case we actually get a trick-or-treater this year. I told her we should just turn off all the outside lights and forget about wasting money, but oh well, the Halloween Grinch was crushed by the power that is Mother. Only got 2 bags, but I can see that we'll be eating the stuff for weeks to come. We live in a rural area, where there aren't any street lights, and our house is so far off the road that no one has any interest in stopping by (besides the fact that nearly all the neighbors are stupid). ;) It's a little after 8 pm now, and we haven't gotten anybody. I highly doubt we will. And it doesn't bother me, because I don't like the whole trick-or-treating thing anymore anyway! I love Halloween itself, more for the pagan half of the day than anything, but...oh well, I've lost my train of thought. ;)

My stomach is growling now, so I think I'll traipse off to the kitchen to see if I can find something to eat. Then I'll do some more domain-registration research, deliberate a bit, and most likely give in to the temptation. But if I do, I'll have to think of a whole new layout for my website in celebration....

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!