Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Dogs
Written on October 10, 2001 at 5:27 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

(Just a note...I wrote this entry in Notepad yesterday, but I couldn't reconnect to the internet, so I had to wait 'til today--the 11th--to post it! :oP)

WHEE for Lola!!!!!

I'm so happy she's got her doggy! :oD And I saw the picture, and Haleigh looks ALMOST like my Brandy...which is a leetle sad, since Brandy was put to sleep when she was only like 5 years old (if that), but still! The funny thing is...I had wanted to name Brandy "Lady" after Disney's "Lady and the Tramp"! Hehe....Mom didn't like the idea, though, and besides that, the welsh corgi next door already had that name (and was named after the movie, which I've always thought was kind of silly).

So now I can give out my news and I won't feel guilty about doing it, LoL! Mom came home from Virginia on Monday, and when I heard the door open I ran over to greet her. Well, what should she be holding in her hands but an itty bitty puppy!

*shakes her head* Honestly, I mean, as much as I love animals, I halfway wish she hadn't gotten the little guy. We don't even know if we're going to be able to keep the house, and if we get ousted, we're going to have THREE dogs to worry about, now! As it is, trying to get an apartment with two dogs would be next to impossible, but three?

Oh well, I'll just continue with the puppy story! He's nine weeks old today, and his name is Pierre (for Pierre Cardin...I'll tell THAT story in a minute). He's a Jack Russell terrier (the first purebred dog that I've had since Brandy), and as far as I've been able to tell (from looking at websites and such), he could be show quality. IF I could actually train him, LOL!

Okay, now here's how he got his odd name. Our neighbors (the ones with the horse stables) own two Jack Russells. The first one was named Calvin (for Calvin Klein), and they were always saying that they wanted to get a girl and name her Lizzie (Liz Claiborne). Well, they got their girl, and I guess Mom began loving Jack Russells so much (because Calvin is so nice) that she wanted one of her own! Thus, when she found out that a distant cousin of hers bred them, she decided she was going to get one. :oP Myself, I'd like to have a West Highland White Terrier, but Mom said "That one's next." *laughs feebly* I think I can wait awhile!

Anyhoo, it's not that I don't LIKE Pierre--I mean, I love him, and I think he's the most adorable little thing!--it's just that I'm worried about what'll happen should our house be foreclosed! Mom was saying that she'll give Wickit to Dad, but I couldn't bear to part with ANY of my dogs, especially Blackie and Wickit. They're my babies! Well, we'd never get rid of Blackie, so I don't have to worry about that, but just because Mom doesn't like Wickit as much, she thinks it's okay to get rid of him. Um, no! :oP

Hehehe...Pierre's taken quite a liking to Wickit (quite possibly because Blackie doesn't yet like him, and will snarl if puppy makes a wrong move)! He's been toddling in here every time Wickit comes in, and then when Wickit leaves, so does Pierre! It's adorable to watch...unfortunately, Wickit's kind of afraid of him right now! Wickit's afraid of his own shadow, so this is no surprise, but it's so funny to see a grown dog shying away from a little puppy! Neither of my adult dogs are very big, but Pierre's still considerably smaller! Here, since I know you all want to see, I'll put up a picture or two! ;)

PierrePierre
Pierre

Tada! He actually looks bigger/older in the photos than he does in real life! Oh well, hehe...

Anyway, I think I've rather exhausted that subject! So now I'll talk about....hold on, I need to go make Wickit shut up! Okay, I'm back (hopefully he'll be quiet...no, he's still whining like everyone in the world has left him). Blah blah, I guess I'll just talk about today! Not that anything interesting happened! Other than the fact that I continue to injure myself. :oP

Our bakery freezer has so many shelves and racks in it that there's just enough room for one person to walk through. Well, I came in carrying a box, and had managed to get through, when it sounded like someone outside called my name. So I turned around and started walking back, when my fingers connected sharply with the edge of this metal cabinet that holds things for the gourmet case. It hit the hardest on my right index finger, right between the second and third knuckle (up near the top). And it HURT like hell! Despite trying to restrain myself, I yelled out "FUCK!" and threw the box, then just stood there waiting for the pain to recede. I was afraid I'd cracked a bone, that's how hard I hit the cabinet! A couple minutes later, angry and frustrated, I walked in front of the cabinet, turned so that my back was facing it, and kicked out behind me as hard as I could, creating a satisfyingly loud bang. Don't pretend you've never kicked inanimate objects that you've hit somehow. ;)

Earlier that day, Zenon was fake-laughing at something, and he slapped my upper arm repeatedly (y'know how guys in comedies, when they laugh, slap the other guy's back exaggeratedly?)...I mean, he WALLOPED me (if that's even the spelling), and it hurt! He must've hit a muscle or something, because now it hurts when I move my arm! *scowls* I'm honestly getting sick of it back there, and I'm not laughing this time. What the hell's up with me and constantly hitting things or BEING hit?

I was sick on my stomach with nervousness half the day, because yesterday, the people reviewing our finances (to see if we can keep the house) called. So Mom had to call them back today, and understandably she was prolonging it as long as possible. But I was so worried that they'd say we couldn't keep the house that I was making myself sick! As it turned out, though, they'd only called to ask a few questions, because they're reviewing everything now, and when I asked Mom, she said that the woman had said things were looking good...SO FAR. I'm not supposed to get my hopes up, but at the same time I can't help it!!!!

The high point of my day was getting to talk to Geoff. ^_^ He and Ben walked past me just as I was coming out of the bakery, and he got this surprised look, smiled, and exclaimed, "Amber waves of grain!" or something to that effect (if you knew how many times I've heard that--from other people as well--you'd die). I was still worrying at that point, so I just gave a halfhearted smile and said hi, but about 5 minutes later, having heard that we still have a few weeks, I wandered back to talk to him. He was in the frozen food section, so I wandered up one of the aisles toward him and called out. We talked there for like 10 minutes, hehe! And then right before I was going to leave, I walked over and said, "I'm leaving now, so I thought I'd come over and say bye." Well, we ended up talking for over 20 minutes...we probably would have ended up talking longer if Mom hadn't called me over the intercom!

Not that that meant anything, but it was just nice. ;) And I think that brings an end to this entry. I smell dinner cooking, AOL refuses to reconnect (making me SO glad that I decided to write this in Notepad instead of the AOL window), and I've exhausted every topic I wanted to talk about! ;)

In closing, *MORE HAPPY HUGGLES FOR LOLA! And kisses to Haleigh!* :oD

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!