Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: A Perfect Day
Written on October 07, 2001 at 2:18 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

*beams*

Words don't even describe it! I'm just flying right now! And not in THAT way, either. ;) No, today was just so PERFECT! Well, the day itself could have been better, and I guess technically the evening could have, too, but not really. So now I get to tell all about it!

Turned out, I'd been to the meeting that they scheduled me for, so I didn't have to go to this one. But Linda (my mom's friend) is now hired at the store, so she had to go to it. And since she was my ride down there, I had to go with her...at 10 am. From 10 to 1 I hid out in the van, and then from 1 to 8 I had to work. I was a CSA (in English, I bagged groceries, hehe), and then around 7:45 I went into the back to get changed into regular clothes.

So at eight o'clock came the whole reason why I came in in the first place: the store bowling night. Yeah, bowling's kinda geeky, but I didn't go to bowl, I went to talk to people. I said all this in another entry, though. ;) Frank drove me over, and on the way there my stomach got that nervous twitter I always get when doing something new. As soon as we walked into the building, I just froze up. The whole thing had started at 7, so of course everyone was already being loud and having a good time. So maybe in a way, I felt like an intruder, like I couldn't really find a way to join in, but mostly I think I just got shy. I mean, at work you know what you're doing and so it's not like you have to worry about people talking to you...but here, it's totally about socializing, and I'm not very good at it, despite the fact that that's all I wanted to do!

I started talking to Keith first, and then I looked over to my left where a row of chairs was against the wall. On the chair closest to me was Ernie, and then in the seat next to HIM was Geoff, this guy who, while 13 years older than me, I still have a crush on. ^_^ I've said already that I get along better with older people, because they're more mature and all that. And besides, it's not like he's THAT much older. But why am I defending myself to my diary?!

Onward I go with my story. Ernie got up to bowl, and I said hi to Geoff. "I'm all shy 'cause I don't have anyone to talk to or anything!" I told him, laughing. He grinned at me, then patted the seat that Ernie had vacated...just as Ernie was coming back. But I got the seat anyway, 'cause Ernie was nice and let me have it. ;)

It was funny, because basically everyone sitting in that row of chairs was drinking. Geoff was, and then on the other side of him was Kirsten, who was already like wasted. So I felt like the odd one out, too young and still kind of a kid! I chatted with Geoff, though (over the really loud music, which sucked, might I add), and we were laughing about a lot of stuff. But I had to 'share' him with Kirsten, because according to her, he was her date. Heh! Right... ;)

I don't even remember how it happened, but Kirsten brought out a small bottle of hard lemonade and told Geoff to split it between them. I happened to glance over, and then I laughed to see that they were drinking even MORE...but then Geoff was like, "You want a sip?" I was a leetle to shy to actually say yes! But later Kirsten brought out ANOTHER bottle--this time it was Smirnoff Ice, or whatever it's called--and Geoff once again asked if I wanted to try it. So I did. And it tastes like lemonade! *giggles* Well, for the most part. Not very strong, and it's not something I would drink often, but it wasn't bad!

Not too long after that, Kerri came over and somehow we got to talking about something that made her tell me there was one more bottle of that Smirnoff Ice stuff, and did I want it. So yeah, I ended up with a nice glassful, and I drank all of it! X_X It's only like 5% alcohol or something like that...but I don't drink, so I was a little giggly after that! I even bowled the last game of the night! ;)

It was just so much fun, though, because I talked to Geoff pretty much the WHOLE time (from 8-ish until midnight, when he finally left). And he's SO funny! When I finally decided I was going to bowl, he said he'd root for me, and a couple of times he actually clapped...I was like, "Yeah, go me." Or not. ;) But yeah, it was still fun! At the end of the night, Big Joe asked him to carry some of the food containers outside, so when Geoff got up, he turned to me and said he'd be right back. I'm not saying that meant anything, it's just that like no one (girl OR guy) usually says they'll be right back...even if we were in the middle of a conversation. I dunno, I can't explain it without sounding silly!

You wanna know what my total score ended up being? 47. That was it! I was throwing all sorts of gutter balls, it was funny! But of course, when Geoff went to help Joe with the leftover food, I got a spare...my first! I intended to leap up and tell Geoff when he came back in, but when he DID come back in....damn, I can't remember if he just took my hand, shook it, or did a high-five-ish sort of thing. Anyway, it was one of those (hehehe), and I was like, "Aww, you have to go?" He told me that he had to catch up on this class that he missed last week, and so yeah, he had to go. "Oo, I rolled a spare!" I told him, not wanting for him to go without sharing the good news. He got that "Oh, really?" expression on his face, and then he was like, "Wow, that's good!" (this is coming from the guy who, last time he bowled, got a 64...so I beat him, huh? ;) ) And then I said it was fun talking to him, blah blah, and that was it. When I see him again on Tuesday, I'll have to remember to tell him my total score. ;)

Frank drove me home, and I tell you, I have never wanted to just give a person a hug as much as I did him! No, I have no feelings toward him, but he was telling me about how Erin was being a bitch, and it was just so SAD! I finally came out and told him that I didn't like the way she treated him, and I hated the fact that she just strung guys along, blah blah...hopefully he knows he can talk to me whenever he has problems! Before he started talking about her, I knew something she'd done had irritated him, so after a rather long silence in the car, I was like, "Well you know you can tell me about it if you need to...just so ya know."

That boy is probably the sweetest I've ever met...and when he finally DOES find someone who'll treat him right, she is going to be SOOO lucky. Love ya, Frank! *grins* Not that he has (or will ever have) this diary url, but the sentiment is still there.

By the time I got home, I was still feeling rather euphoric, and I signed online so I could come here and write everything down. Well, I opened up my mailbox, and what do you suppose I found? Go on, guess.

Got an idea yet? Come on, it's really very easy, if you've read my past diary entries!

Oh, alright. I'll tell you. Heh, like you thought I wouldn't, anyway! ;)

IT WAS MATT!!!! I was just like, "Huh...?" at first...it was a real shock! He asked how I was, apologized for taking so long in replying, told me a little bit about his job, and then at the end said something like "Don't hesitate to write me back or stop by the store." Oh, and he doesn't think I'm a stalker. ;) LoL!

But OH MY GOD!!! That was just the perfect ending to a terrific day! You can't even imagine how thankful I am that I made myself go to this bowling thing (because to be honest, I was thinking about not going today)...and then to get that email? Whee!!! Frank laughed at me in the car and said I was drunk, and that was why I was feeling so good, but that wore off AGES before coming home! ;) This is just pure happiness, and it's so COOL! I haven't been this wonderfully UP in who knows how long!!!

So in closing, it was all good. Understatement of the Year. ;oD

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!