Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Of geeks and embarrassment...
Written on October 02, 2001 at 9:40 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Ah, some amusing little anecdotes for you all!! I'll start with yesterday.

There's this kid Ryan who works in the dishroom (which is adjacent to the bakery), and for whatever reason, he's developed a crush on me. NOT good, because while he's nice enough, he's also REALLY annoying! He talks funny, and he likes to just stare at people or follow them around...and he doesn't seem to know when people are irritated and don't want to talk!

Anyway, so for the past couple of weeks, he's been saying stuff to me like "Thanks, Sweet Amber" and all this other pathetic stuff. But yesterday, he made these kissing noises TWICE! And the second time he did it, just as I was walking out the door back to bakery, he was like, "I love you!" Gag. What IS it with me and attracting the dorks??!! So I ran over and told Frank (against my better judgment, 'cause he knew about Ryan's crush and was teasing me mercilessly about it), but later on he was like, "Well, if it gets THAT bad, just tell me and I'll tell him I'm your boyfriend."

My initial reaction was "Huh??" but then I just started laughing because I thought that the idea was just too funny! As it turns out, Erin was the one who suggested it, but Frank must not've minded, because he brought it up again later! Then I went to clock out, and when I came back, he was like, "Zenon and I just saved you!"

"What do you mean?" I asked, thinking I must've not done something (or done something wrong) in bakery.

"We just told Ryan that I'm your boyfriend and Zenon is Erin's boyfriend."

Hee hee!!! I thought that was great, but it must not've had much of an effect, because today Ryan was STILL flirting with me!! I put a mixing bowl in the dishroom for him to clean, and he made that damn kissing noise again! And he called me 'sweet girl' once...I just felt like shouting, "BACK OFF!"

I just don't understand how I can't seem to get any NORMAL guys to like me, but I attract the dorks and (sorry for being rude) retarded people to me like a friggin' magnet. I don't really act any differently around the people I'd like to date! I'm nice to everyone (unless they annoy me a lot, in which case I try to avoid them as much as possible)...ugh!!

But anyway, to the other interesting bit that happened today. When I came in at 11:30, I saw that there was a big bowl of buttercreme icing that had apparently exploded or something, because it was all over the mixer and the floor around it. It took awhile, but finally Zenon decided to clean everything up. Now, buttercreme icing (what almost every bakery uses on cakes) is VERY greasy, and you usually need to use hot water to clean it up completely. Zenon only mopped 'til the icing was gone, but the grease was still there. So here I come with a very big metal mixing bowl, and I knew the floor was wet, but I didn't know about the grease. Had it JUST been wet, I would've been fine, but as soon as my foot touched the spot that had been mopped--WHAM!!! Hit the floor, and my right wrist connected with the rim of the metal bowl. Apparently, my left hand did as well (though I don't remember it), because the base of my index finger immediately began to swell and turn purple.

I didn't notice either injury right away, though. What concerned me most was the fact that I'd just fallen in front of John (my department manager), Joe, Jason, AND Zenon! They'd been congregated over at John's desk, and I was on the other side of the table that separated us. They weren't paying attention to what I was doing, so they might not've actually seen my fall, but with the loud clattering of the metal bowl on the floor (and the fact that I was suddenly no longer visible above the table), they sure took notice! All of a sudden there they all are, asking if I'm okay. Meanwhile, I was sitting on the floor giggling pitifully at myself, wishing I could curl up in a hole and hide until my embarrassment subsided! "My ego's the only thing that's bruised!" I told them, not looking up at their faces. They probably thought I was in shock. ;)

Three hands reached down to help me up, and even with that help, my feet still slid a little on the greasy surface! When I looked at my right wrist, I thought that was the extent of my injuries and was ready to start back to work (even though I was still trembling), but as I walked over to the sink, I noticed my left hand. John looked at it and told me to go sit down in the break room while he got an Accident form to fill out. So we filled that out, and since Joe thought that it looked like I'd fractured my finger, I got a ride to the hospital. Three hours later, I learned that I was only bruised up. "Light work for the next 2-3 days", my workman's comp paper says...so tomorrow all I have to do is package rolls and stuff like that. ^_^

I still have to giggle at myself when I think of it, though...I mean, trying to put myself in the point of view of those guys standing over by the desk, watching me fall...it HAD to have looked comical. ;) I'm staying away from all heavy machinery tomorrow, though...yesterday I burned my arm, today I fell and bruised myself...do I even WANT to know what might happen tomorrow??

I'm able to bend my finger more than I was earlier, so thankfully I can type a little faster! :oP I wasn't going to go online at all, but I told Frank I'd email him and let him know if I could get a ride down to this bowling thing the store is having on Saturday. And while I was at it, I figured I'd share my story with everyone (instead of having to type the same thing over and over again)! ;) So hey, hope you all had a good laugh, even if it was at my expense (hehe)...I know I sure did!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!