Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Ranty Rantings
Written on September 03, 2001 at 8:20 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

My diary graphics aren't working. TBNS is either having some down time, or they've disappeared from the face of the Internet. My guess is, all their bandwidth got chewed up from people direct-linking graphics, and so it caused their entire server to crash! So when they finally DO go back up, they might go the way of all the other free website hosts and stop the ability to direct link! *whimpers* THEN where will I put my pretty graphics??

Today at work was...interesting. I came in at 10, and the only other people working were Joanne, Nina, and Zenon. Nina was at the back table with me (because she had to decorate a lot of carrot cakes, and the back table was the only place with room at the time), and we were standing across from each other. Then there was Zenon, who was doing other stuff like baking bread, that sort of thing, and I don't even know how we got into it, but there was a teasing remark made about him being an exotic dancer. I think he was the one who made the remark, actually! It was probably one of those 'had to be there' moments, but Nina and I were hysterical with laughter at one point. Zenon was saying that his stage name would be 'The Big Eclair', and then a little while later the joke started up that he'd be called 'Scooby Snacks' instead. Totally disgusting, and not usually my type of humor, but for some reason today I was just rolling.

I was scheduled to work Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday, but then Mum was like, "I'm off on Wednesday!" so Zenon was like, "Okay, no problem." So I could have had off tomorrow AND Wednesday! But no, Mum has to pipe up and say, "She could work tomorrow for you!" NOOOO!!!! I don't feel like working 8 1/2 hours tomorrow! Dammit! *scowls blackly* And I'll probably have to work with that twit John Walker, too. Just bloody great. If he starts getting on my case (asking what I'm doing, correcting stuff, etc.), I'm just going to tell him to go play with Joe or something.

Ugh, speaking of that disgusting waste of life...He thinks he's something big, just because the managers let him carry around one of the manager phones (you can hear him wandering around going "So-and-so, please dial 140"..he even calls from the BATHROOM sometimes). So yeah, he likes to get on everyone else's case for 'not doing their jobs'. Like today, he got on Zenon's case because there wasn't a certain kind of bread out one night...and Zenon hadn't even been working! Joe is a fat, disgusting, ass-kissing toad, and he's just 'wasting oxygen that I might want to use someday', as Nicole puts it. I know I'm not being very charitable, but I'm through trying to be nice when it comes to this guy. He needs to be knocked down a few pegs. Even better, he needs to be sent to a whole friggin' new store! And let John Walker go with him...we'd do just fine without a Food Service manager! Got too many friggin' managers around here anyway...there's one for Produce, one for Meat, one for Grocery, one for Bakery, one for Food Service (maybe one for deli, but I'm not sure), AND there's the Store Manager! How many managers does one store need?! We could stand to get rid of John...he's another waste of payroll anyway.

After getting home today, we went out and looked through the gardening section of this one store...they usually have REALLY good deals on summer stuff around this time (we got a porch swing for like $30, and it was originally...$60 or $70? Maybe even more), but they didn't have anything this time around! Mum also mentioned possibly getting a little enclosure thing for the bunnies, so they can run around outside, but I didn't expect to find one at the store we went to. I don't know what else is usually open on Labor Day, 'cause I'd wanted to go to an actual pet shop, but she was complaining about being tired, so we had to go home. :( I wished yet AGAIN that I had my own license (and a car), because I'm so sick of not being able to do what I want to do!

One of these days, I'm going to have to get over my phone phobia and start calling around to different vets. I have to find one that has a lot of experience with bunnies, because I need to get mine fixed (as in spayed/neutered), and of course I'd want to have a vet who's experienced with rabbits! One of the websites that I frequent has a list of questions you can ask each vet in order to judge how good they are, so I'll probably print them out, get a little organizing done, do several repetitions of 'come on, you can do this', and make a few calls. Hehe...Nearly every phone call I make is such an ordeal! I can't call places at all--not even friends' houses!--because I'm never sure who's going to answer, IF they'll answer at all (or just sit by the answering machine and be like "I don't want to talk to HER")...Too much stress for me!

And besides that, even if I DO find an experienced rabbit vet, I have to be sure that Mum will even take me to the office...That's another thing that ticks me off. And it's not that I hate my mother or anything, it's just that there are some facets of her personality that really irk me. She says she loves animals, but it's more of an 'I love them because they've got cute faces' as opposed to 'I love them as I would a child, and want to do everything to care for them'. Granted, I'm lazy and don't always do everything I can to take care of my pets, but I realize that vet care is needed! She seems to think that just because rabbits are small and inexpensive, we don't need to spend tons of money on vet bills...'disposable pets', basically. And that's cruel. I won't abide by that sort of attitude at all.

It happened at the store we were at today, too. We were walking by some clothing racks, and one of the things up front was a jacket sort of thing with a fur-edged hood. "That had better be fake fur," I muttered, getting angry already, but as we walked up to it and put our hands on the fur, it felt real. And when Mum found the tag listing the materials used, the fur was made out of 'Genuine Norwegian fox fur', or something along those lines. I was so furious! There were like four of those jackets there, and I felt like taking them and throwing them in the salespeople's faces and demanding that they tell the manufacturer that fur killings are not fashionable. But of course, that wouldn't accomplish anything, hehe...So I just started ranting instead, saying things like, "That's so disgusting!" and "Fake fur would have looked just as nice." To which Mum made the ignorant reply, "No it wouldn't." Yes, I would have loved nothing more than to have SMACKED her at that moment. You just don't say stuff like that.

Of course, this is the point where fur-wearers say things like "Well, aren't your shoes made out of leather? You're just being a hypocrite." And in the technical sense, that's true. But look at it this way: no matter what you do, cows are going to be killed. The only way this will stop is if people stop eating cow products. So at least this way, the entire animal is being used. I'd like to know if those jacket manufacturers ate the meat from the foxes they slaughtered. Once upon a time, fur was needed to keep people warm, but now...HELLO, ANYONE HEARD OF SYNTHETICS BEFORE??

It's so weird how far I'll go to defend animals, and yet I can't stand children. Kid gets bitten by a dog...in my opinion, it was probably the kid's fault for being a bratty instigator...and if by some chance the attack was unprovoked, it's not like the dog knows that biting demon spawn is wrong. Sorry, won't go any farther on that topic...I'm likely to piss people off! Ah, go suck an egg...It's MY friggin' diary, for goodness' sake! I'm tired of excusing myself in my own diary! :oP

Anyway, on that lovely note, I'm going to go. I'll probably have to go to bed now, so that I'm all nice and awake for Hell tomorrow. Yippy skippy. If John is there, I'm going to take that great big knife and toss it at him. I'm not looking to HIT him with it...I'd just like to scare him enough that he won't come near me anymore.

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!