Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Ka-ZOW! (for lack of a creative subject)
Written on September 01, 2001 at 1:26 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

It's the first of the month! Just 4 more days 'til Berry's Founding of the new Friendship Appreciation Day! *giggles* I picked September 5th for a reason that I won't share with you...but if you're a Queen fan, you ought to know. ;) Just silliness on my part! But I'm trying to think up something for my friends, hehe! It requires me to tap into my small well of artistic talent, though, so it might not happen. :oP

Yesterday was another one of my 'fall asleep right after work' days. I got to leave an hour early because Mum had to lose an hour (apparently, she'd stayed an hour over one day, and Genuardi's is anal about that sort of thing), so I got to lose an hour, too. Hehehe...John won't like it, but he can go play with himself. :oP That's such a disgusting saying...I need to stop using it!

So I went to bed at like 5 (because we didn't get home 'til a little after 4), and woke up around 9-ish because this REALLY bad storm rolled through. The walls were shaking with some of the thunder! And the power had gone out, so none of my fans were working and I was more than a little warm, hehe. The power must have JUST gone out when I woke up, because when I went out into the living room, Mum was just lighting our two oil lamps. This is one reason why I love having so many candles and things: rare emergencies such as this!

Mum hated not having the lights, but I loved it. It happened once before when I lived in Massachusetts, and we had to go completely by candlelight, and the only things that I didn't like about the lack of electricity were 1)The lack of air circulation for my fish, 2)The lack of cool air in the refrigerator/freezer (power was down for over a day, close to two days), and 3)The lack of heat in the rest of the house (it was the middle of winter, snow and ice on the ground...yeah, it was cold). The third problem I could deal with, but the most fun was just having everyone in the living room together, no distractions at all, so we could just sit there and talk.

I don't think you really realize how many distractions technology places in your life until something like an extended power outage occurs. Something where you can do nothing but just sit there with your family and talk. Of course, if you don't like your family, that could pose problems, but I've always loved my parents (well, up until Dad decided to be a dork), so it was all good!

Yeah, so last night as the rain was lashing at the windows, I was snug inside with an oil lamp and a big candle which I used to light my way as I walked around the house checking on various things. My bunnies, for example, were a little freaked out, so I took Cadbury out of his cage and let him have a sleepover with the other bunny (who, after Laura's suggestion, has been dubbed 'Sugar Cookie', hehe). Other than that, though, I just laid on the couch and dozed off. Mum was outside on the porch with Adrienne and Bailey, the dog of the spawn of the devil. I'm guessing Adrienne got caught over here when the storm started, hehe...

The electricity came back on sometime in the early morning (maybe around 1 or so), but I was in bed again by that time, so I didn't bother getting up to sign on the Internet. Besides that, I had yet another terrible headache, and sleep was the only thing that made it go away!

Today was when the problems started, however. Mum came into my room around 9:30 and told me that the well pump had burned out, so I was to stay awake and wait for the plumber guy to call. She was in a terrible mood because she said it would cost thousands of dollars to get a new pump, and we don't HAVE that kind of money. I was envisioning myself working 7 days a week for the next YEAR, LoL, but get THIS embarrassingly-amusing story.

Plumber gets here, goes downstairs to where the pump is and looks at it for a couple of seconds. Then he lifts this little gold wire-type thing, and I heard a sudden rush of water in the toilet (our downstairs bathroom also houses the laundry room, which also has the water heater and well pump). "Don't tell me that was all it took," I said, feeling utterly stupid. "Yup," he replied, and I could have sank through the floor. He explained the pump workings to me (so now I'll KNOW the next time something like this happens!), and I was like, "I'm SO sorry for wasting your time like this!" He was really nice, though, and as it turned out, he got a job after all: The toilet flusher thing was broken, so we got a new one. *giggles* Our house has so much old, needs-to-be-replaced stuff, it's pathetic. The pipes are old and leaky (the makers of those pipes had been involved in a class-action lawsuit a few years ago), inspectors have been telling us for YEARS to fix our water heater because the vent was too low to the ground (carbon monoxide danger)...If I wasn't so happy here, I'd be like, "Yeah, let's just leave!" :oP

So anyway, at least our water works! I have to take a shower soon, because my hair is just...bleh! Hehehe..."I have to wash my hair!" *everyone looks at her strangely*

I should do that now, then I can get down to trying my hand at this artistic-like stuff. If I can accomplish this, those of you who get to see my handiwork had better be damn grateful! *laughs at herself* THAT sounds like real friend appreciation, right? Aww, y'all know I'm kidding! *hugs to her friends*

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!