Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Fish and Mice and Dragons, oh my!
Written on August 16, 2001 at 3:38 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Laura said something about reading articles about journals, and now she's got ME paranoid!!! But I don't know what the articles were about, so maybe they aren't that bad? If they were enough to make her password-lock her D-land diary, though, it must be kinda bad! *giggles* Laura, ya gotta tell me what it was you read, now! :oP

But I'll try not to think about that, lest I pack up my diary and password-lock it! ;)

Tiff and I went out to the pet shop tonight, and on our way over there we passed Mel. We don't think she saw us, though, 'cause she didn't wave or turn her car around and come after us or anything like that. ;) With any luck, she didn't notice us, because I'm sure she'd go into a fit of righteous anger and demand to know why we didn't include her. Nevermind the fact that she wouldn't have had any interest in going to the places we went...she'd just be angry anyway. Heh.

So let's see, what happened after that...She got herself a betta, we went back to her house and put said betta in his new home, and then we just kinda hung out for a few minutes. Then we went out to the bookstore, then to the mall....OH! Okay, I'll tell my mall story.

After searching through both bookstores in the mall, we traversed down to the pet shop. After petting the cute puppy that was out, we went the the back of the store where the rodents are kept. No, I wasn't looking for any more...I'm actually trying to get rid of a few of my gerbils, LoL! Anyway, in one of the tanks there were about 6 or 7 little pink rodent babies! But no mother in sight, which of course got me worried. They looked like gerbil pups because of the longer tails, and no gerbil mother would just leave her babies scattered like that. So, thinking that I would rescue these babies from certain death (don't ask me how I would have fed them, because my mother gerbil doesn't have a young enough litter to whom I could foster these new babies)...yeah, so thinking I would rescue them, I went back to the front of the store and asked the woman working there what was going on (well, more politely than that, hehe).

Maybe those of you more enlightened will already know the answer to my question, but for those of you who would have been like me, I'll continue. The woman told me that those were pinky (pinkie? I dunno) mice, and that they were purposely taken from their mother because they were going to become food for people needing to nourish their carnivorous pets. Then she told me she didn't like thinking about it, and I walked off feeling rather tainted, hehehe....

But seriously, I just think that's so WRONG! It's like taking human babies and keeping them in a holding pen to feed to alligators or something! It would be one thing to feed adult mice (even though I don't agree with that, either), because the adults can attempt to fight back. Not that it would matter, 'cause they have no way of escaping anyway, but at least they could fight back. These babies have no defenses. And who on earth would WANT to have a carnivorous pet, anyway? Well, dogs are supposed to be carnivorous, but they eat kibble, so it's not the same, hehehe....Hey, there's a novel idea! Feed your snakes dog food! If they refuse it...well, nyah to them. Like I care. BWA HA HA HA!!!! *coughs* Sorry....

Dum dee doo, so where was I? Oh yeah, after we left the mall, we went to go get Tiff's brother, and then we went back to her house. Then we went out, got dinner, came back, ate, and watched DragonHeart: A New Beginning. Yay, now I've finally seen the whole thing, hehe! It was a pretty good movie, too. Not that you'll be seeing it on my Favorites list here or anything, but I'd watch it again!

Oh, I forgot to say that I got a betta, too. *giggles* Well, I got mine at Wal-Mart, on impulse, because he was this ivory/lemony color, with an iridescent blue sheen to his scales and fins. You can only see that if you hold him up to the light, though. So I bought him, and another one of those betta hex containers, and tada! Now I have two fish in my room, hehe! I'm so pathetic sometimes....Oo, and I named my fish -- get ready for this -- Monsieur le Poisson. Mr. Fish. Am I creative or WHAT?!

The stupid plants that come with these betta hex containers are annoying! They have no bases like normal aquarium plants, so it's impossible to make them stay in the gravel! Bah. I think I'll just take the darned thing out, since it's floated to the top of the container again!



I think there's a cricket in my room. At least, I hear him chirping. Icky bugs!!! At least it's not a spider, but my bed is on the floor, so I don't want a cricket jumping on me whilst I'm sleeping! :oP

But that's all for now. ;) I can't think of anything else to say, and I'm not going to keep rambling here, because I think I've rambled on enough! ;)

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!