Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: The Balance
Written on July 31, 2001 at 1:08 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Thank goodness for gerbils right now, hehe...

Tonight (pretending it's still July 30), my gerbil had two more pups. I wish she would have had a larger litter, because small ones like this scare me, but nonetheless she had babies! They're very small, but she's feeding them, so for now all is well.

I was hoping she wouldn't have them until after I'd separated her from her mate, though, because at this point I just can't have any more gerbils! I was worrying as it was about whether I'd be able to afford another tank to put the father and his son in! Ironically enough, the problem was solved by the death of my black bear hamster, Roosevelt. I wish it could have been solved in another way, though.

So there's going to be yet another litter, because Hamlet will mate once again with Ophelia, but hopefully this will be the last litter until I can afford things again! And when I can afford to breed gerbils again, I plan on finding a gorgeous girl with dominant colors, which I will pair with my red fox boy, Percy. *grins* I'd like to find a burmese, siamese, or polar fox gerbil, but they're not very common colors so I might have to settle for something else! No common ones like black or agouti, though, because I want exotic! ;)

It was so weird...as I was filling up the water bottle for them, I walked out into the living room and saw that a little clip about Queen was on TV. This was just after the ordeal with my hamster, and I guess you'd have to be me in order to understand just how eerie it was. I won't go into all of it, because I know even to the most understanding of people, this is weird...At any rate, when my cocker spaniel was put to sleep YEARS ago, I remember asking Freddie Mercury (the lead singer of Queen) to take care of her for me. Don't laugh at me, 'cause silly as it sounds, I still take it quite seriously. So anyway, there's more to it, but basically, whenever a pet has died I've kinda been like, "Freddie...?" And then I laugh, because I imagine he's probably thinking, "Damn, don't give me any more animals!"

Oh well, strange or not, we all have our quirks, and I'm a heavily spiritual type of person (as far as believing that you can talk to spirits, that sort of thing), so maybe that's my quirk.

My two older gerbil pups (almost 5 weeks old) have red noses, just like a little kid! So I brought out the Neosporin and attempted to put some of it on the little guys' noses, but as soon as I put them back in the tank, they started rubbing it off! And then Ophelia rushed over to the little boy (Percy) and was acting crazy, like she wanted to get to his nose so she could lick the stuff off for him! He was squeaking up a storm...I could just imagine him crying out, "Mama! Stop it!!" The little girl (Hermione) rubbed all hers off, too...how are their noses supposed to heal if they rub off the medication? :oP

I put some medicine in their water as well, just in case the irritated noses turn into a respiratory infection. The last thing I need is for all of them to get sick as well! Oh well, I'm going to keep up the medicine for the next...10 days, I think you have to do it, and each day I'm going to make the babies drink a couple of drops (just in case they don't go to the water bottle very often).

I hope these two NEW babies survive, too! They've got the little 'milk bellies' (You can see their stomachs, and if they're being fed, their tummies will be white with milk), so thus far everything is going well! *crosses fingers* Hey! You cross your fingers, too! I'm gonna have a healthy litter of gerbils! I yam!!!

But yeah, that's enough for me. I think I'm going to finally make that icky diary and transfer the previous entry over there, just so I don't have to worry about anyone seeing it. I wrote it while I was kind of emotional, and...well, it shows. :oP

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!