Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: My neighbor, the possum
Written on July 19, 2001 at 6:26 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I wasn't going to write at first, but I felt like talking about the possum (I'm not spelling it right on purpose, 'kay?) that I saw! Hehe...

I think he (or she, as the case may be) lives somewhere very close by, because tonight was the second time I've seen him. I saw him yesterday at like 4 in the morning, eating by the side of the road. His little eyes glittered as the lights of the car hit them, and I was quite grateful that he didn't toddle out into the road!

Tonight, as Tiff and I were coming back to my house, we saw him again...this time out in the middle of the road, eating what I presume must've been a smushed animal. It was late at night, so we stopped, hoping he'd see us and get going. No, he just sat their placidly and continued eating, not even jumping when we flashed the lights and honked the horn at him.

His right eye looked bloody-ish, though, as if he'd either been attacked by something, or had been injured. I wanted to jump out of the car and see if I couldn't make him scuttle off, but then I was afraid he might attack me or something! Actually, I wish I'd had some sort of box...then, if I could have caught him, I could keep him overnight and take him to the vet so his eye could get fixed. He looked so pitiful, I couldn't resist wanting to help him!

The North American opossum (there, spelled it right that time) really isn't the most attractive of critters...they've got long, narrow snouts and pointy little teeth, and their fur is a drabbish gray-white-black. Not an animal I'd want to have as a pet, surprisingly (since I want quite a range of wild animals, hehe). But they're still cute in their own little way! ;) I don't know how they normally act, though, so "my" possum's unpeturbed manner might be normal for his kind! I halfway think he was like that because he lives so close to people and all that, though. After Tiff backed up and swerved around him, he finally trundled off, presumably to his little possum house. ;)

Maybe they get hit so often by cars because they don't move out of the way like other animals?

Anyway, I know that wasn't terribly interesting, but this is one of the first times I've actually gotten to see an opossum while it was still alive! I've seen 'em on TV, but outside of that, the only times I've really seen them is when they're dead on the road! :(

Other than my critter encounter, however, today was pretty cool! Tiff came over around 5- or 6-something, and we ordered pizza. Mel called, but I didn't answer the phone. Then later that night (maybe around 9-something), she called again...and we still didn't answer. We went out to Wal-Mart right afterward, though, so that was our excuse...we weren't there. ;) But I'm in NO mood to talk to that girl for awhile! Right now, she's probably only calling me because she's mad at Tiff and I'm therefore her new 'best friend' until she's made up again. Then I'll be the third wheel again! Yay! *rolls her eyes*

Okay, I didn't log in just to lament about Princess Baby, so I'm going to go! I was more excited to talk about Mr. Opossum than anything else! *giggles* Hey, I never said I was going to talk about interesting stuff all the time now, did I? ;o)

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!