Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Princess Baby
Written on July 18, 2001 at 5:44 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Okay, here's the run-down on what happened today (I'm pretending it's still the 17th, hehe)....

Went to bed around 5 am or so, but couldn't fall asleep to save my bum. So when Mum woke up and started getting ready for work, I walked out and talked to her (because I haven't gotten a chance to really chat with her since I started going out so much). We talked about Mel's immature behavior, what Mum thought of Tiff (she likes her, which is always good, hehe), and just other random stuff. I love chatting with Mum, and I always feel guilty when I haven't gotten to see or talk to her in awhile.

I finally went to bed at 9 am, after watching 'John Acorn, The Nature Nut' and Monday's episode of TRL (on MTV). Woke up around 4:30, because Mel called. I had wanted to get up earlier so I could put my jeans in the laundry, but oh well, she had to be at work by 9 pm, and we still had to go over to Tiff's house (since it was, after all, Tiff's birthday). So I got ready, then called Mel back and asked if we could go to the mall because I had to get Tiff a birthday present. I knew exactly what I was going to get her: 'Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone' and 'Fantastic Creatures & Where To Find Them' (or something like that, hehe). Thankfully Mel was feeling generous, so we went to the mall, bought the books, and bought cards as well. Mel wouldn't have even bought a card if I hadn't suggested we go over to the mall. Good best friend, eh?

Right. I had this perfect (if rather insane) idea for the card, and here it is...What I'd wanted to do was stop by Blockbuster and get Tim the Blockbuster Man to sign the card, just as a joke. I could imagine Tiff opening the card, seeing his signature, and just laughing because she couldn't imagine a veritable stranger being convinced to sign a birthday card! But when Mel drove past the building, we didn't see him. I was partly relieved at this, because I had begun to seriously doubt if I had the courage to actually go in and be like, "Um, hi, this is going to sound reeeeaaally stupid, but would you sign a birthday card?"

After that little excursion, we stopped by Mel's house to get her work clothes (since she does 3rd shift now, she starts at 9pm). I signed my card, she signed hers, and we drove over to Tiff's (which takes about 15 minutes or so). I suggested that when we go in the door, we moo the Happy Birthday song, but Mel decided that she wanted to walk inside and scream, "Happy Birthday, Tiff!" Closer to the house, though, she chose a different phrase. And so, after knocking, she walks in the house and shrieks (in a whiny-ish voice):

"TI-IFF, I WANT A PIECE OF CA-AKE!!!"

We picked a very inopportune moment to arrive, it seems. I found out a few minutes later that Tiff had just finished yelling at her younger brother, which had already put her in a bad mood, but let me rewind and tell you everything that happened (though it really happened so fast that I'm not even sure what went on)!

Tiff snapped something, followed with an obviously-annoyed mimicking of "I want cake!" which of course got Mel irritated. Because Mel is never wrong. And if Mel wants to be rude in someone else's house, then any complainers be damned. So naturally, if Mel is mocked in such a way, Mel will throw a hissy fit.

I, on the other hand, hung back in the shadows for a minute, very uncomfortable with this sudden tension in the air. Mel said, "We came over to give you your presents!" to which Tiff retorted, "Well, if that was all, then you don't need to bother!" By that point, I had kind of begun to slip past Mel to hand my unwrapped gift over, but Mel spun around and said something to the effect of "I'm leaving" and stalked out (with a terse 'Bye Amber' as she exited). Tiff said 'see you later, Amber,' thinking that I was going to go with Mel, but as Mel had already left, I was like, "Great, does that mean I have no ride now?" Tiff told me that she'd take me home later.

Well, thankfully things cleared up a little later. We sat in the kitchen for a little while, and for a few minutes that same tension was in the air. But then after she ranted a little bit, she calmed down and things got better. In fact, we really had a pretty nice time tonight! Her dad ordered pizza, and after eating we went to...drum roll, please...Blockbuster Video. Tim wasn't there, but this other guy who waited on us, while not cute, was really funny. Tiff's dad had bought two pre-viewed videos, and the kid (I dunno his name) said that there was a 30-day guarantee, but that nothing would be wrong with them. I think I said something to the effect of "If there is something wrong, we're gonna come back and beat you up," and he replied with, "Heck, if you pay me 5 bucks, you can beat me up now. I need the money!"

Hehe...well, I was amused. Then we made Travis go into Redner's to get ice cream (neither Tiff nor I were about to go in there and face the wrath that is Sulky Mel), returned to Tiff's house, and proceeded to watch our movies. The first one was 'Bedazzled', and it was really really good!!! The second one was 'Center Stage', and I absolutely ADORED that one. It was just cool!

But by the time the second movie was over, it was nearing 4 am. So Tiff and I chatted for a few more minutes, then finally got in her car to go back to my house. When she dropped me off, I was like, "Call me before she does, okay?" and giggled. I'm afraid Mel is going to try to call me tomorrow in an effort to get me out so that Tiff has to spend the day alone or something. And quite frankly, I'd rather leave Mel by herself than Tiff. So Tiff was like, "Well, just avoid her. You were, um...sleeping." Hehe...I'm definitely not planning on answering the phone if Mel calls! I want nothing to do with her, especially since she'll want to bad-mouth Tiff! She's predictable enough that I can tell you exactly what would happen should I hang out with her:

1)She'll most likely start by bad-mouthing Tiff.

2)Once she's gotten that out of her system, she'll gush about how she got to work with Mike, and even though she doesn't have the guts to ever actually TALK to him, she caught him looking at her ALL night. (This is because, apparently she has a power known as Mel Magnetism, and all guys are drawn by her obvious 'beauty'.)

3)She will then probably start whining about how she hates guys, doesn't understand them, and doesn't know why they don't like her, because "I'm cute, right?" (No, you look like a cow. What am I supposed to say?)

4)Conversation from here could quite possibly go on about herself, or...

5)She'll give a 'But...' and launch into another tirade about how Tiff is 'so childish' and 'so bitchy', blah blah blah.

This Tiff-ranting will crop up at any random moment, just because she feels like saying bad things about the girl that is supposedly her best friend. And I would be forced to sit there and listen to it, wise enough not to say anything lest she try to ditch me somewhere like she did with Tiff and Dustin once. After all, as I've said, one does not diss Mel, for Mel is Goddess of the Free World.

Oo, and here was a good one...on the ride over to Tiff's, Mel was like, "I don't understand it! Everyone thinks I'm a few years younger than you and Tiff! Why?"

What I'm sure she was thinking is that she's obviously so youthful and gorgeous that everyone mistakes her for someone younger (and by comparison, Tiff and I look like old, ugly women). The truth of the matter, however, is that she acts like a FRICKIN' FIVE-YEAR OLD!!! She whines, she throws tantrums, she pouts and sulks...is it any wonder that people think she's younger? She's got the mentality of a small child! And I am SO SICK of it, but there's nothing I can do! Nothing penetrates that head of hers! She thinks she's some kind of princess, and we're all supposed to pander to her!

I don't know. At this point in time, I think I could seriously just ditch her and never speak to her again. She's always been spoiled and babyish, but in the past couple of months she's just gotten worse and worse. Why should I hang out with someone who doesn't even care about friendship? To her, the word 'friend' is just an excuse to easily be able to use people! She needs/wants something that you have, terrific...she'll use you. GRR!!!

But I'm going to try and push Princess Baby from my mind, because despite that episode earlier in the day, I really did have a great time. Tiff's a wonderful friend, her father and brother are cool, and I'm glad to be included! If Mel can't get her nose out of her ass long enough to see that she's losing the only two people that have really been able to tolerate her lapses into immaturity, then that's her own problem. It's not my responsibility to try and mature her. Maybe for her birthday, I'll buy her letter blocks and teething rings. I figure, if she retrogresses enough and goes back to having the mentality of a one-year old, then she won't be able to do much more than cry and gurgle. Then I won't have to listen to her go on about how wonderful she is.

And I know you're all probably thinking I'm terrible for saying something about a person that's supposed to be my 'friend', but you haven't had to deal with this girl! And besides that, I'm seriously wondering if I even consider her as a friend anymore...she sure doesn't act like one.

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!