Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: My triumph against Mario
Written on July 5, 2001 at 9:49 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

After days and days and days, and numerous lives, I finally managed to beat Mario Bros. 2 (The Japanese version...otherwise known in the US as "The Lost Levels")! Woo ha! Nintendo didn't want to release that version of Mario 2 in the US because they thought it was too challenging for American players. BWA HA HA HA!!!! EAT THAT, NINTENDO!!! I BEAT YOUR STINKING GAME!!!

Wow, that sounded a little male-ish, didn't it? *shudders* Scary. Well, what can I say, I get overexcited when it comes to my Mario games. The sad part of it is, the American version of Mario Brothers 2 is harder for me than the Japanese version was! But I'm glad they gave us this weird-ass game, because it gave my insane mind an idea for a fanfic: "What Bowser Did While Mario & Co. Were Off Beating Bad Guys In Mario 2."

Now, this fanfic will never be written. All I know is what happened: Bowser propagated the Koopa species and had seven little Koopalings which he then used against Mario and Luigi in an effort to kick their asses. His evil plan did not succeed, however, because I have managed to beat every one of those Koopaling's bums numerous times, both in Mario 3 and in the SNES sequel, Mario Land. Mwe he he...I have so much time on my hands...

Today I did absolutely nothing. Well, nothing worthwhile. A storm blew in sometime around 5:30 or 6ish this evening, and the wind was so strong that I thought for sure we'd get a really big storm. It blew our porch swing off the deck one and a half times! (The 'half' time was when the swing was just hanging helplessly off the railing.) So I spent several minutes trying to figure out a way to keep the swing on the deck. And then after it fell off, I had to go down and try to haul it right back up onto the deck, which turned out to be interesting...normally we need two people to carry the thing, but me, with my superhuman strength (insert a loud HAR! here), managed to get it back to its proper spot all by myself. You may applaud. *crickets chirp* As it turned out, though, the worst we got was a whimpy little bit of rain. So all that effort of covering things up was done for nothing! *sobs*

Anyway, after that was when I sat down and beat Mario 2. Of course, you don't REALLY beat it, because after you rescue Princess Toadstool, she says, "Why don't you try a harder level?" and you get to start all over again.

This leads me to believe that Princess Toadstool actually enjoys being captured. Either that, or she's really secretly aligned with Bowser, and wants the Mario Brothers to fail miserably and die. Why else would she send them off to rescue her yet AGAIN, and make everything harder in the bargain? Maybe she has a DID (Damsel In Distress) Complex.

Oh, I almost forgot to mention that I took all the clean dishes out of the dish washer and put the dirty ones in. That's exciting news that can't be left out.

Thankfully, I have not been contacted by the evil that is Mel. Hehehe...she's going to another Backstreet Boys concert tonight, so I won't have to worry about hearing from her until after midnight...with luck. Since this concert is closer, I might have to start worrying earlier. But if she comes to the house late at night again, I'm pretending to be asleep.

Hmm, what else...I updated my profile at FanFiction.Net, for no other purpose than annoyance at seeing the same little bio thing over and over again! ;) I also made up a small story in the Labyrinth forum, consisting of me wishing away my computer keyboard and then going through the Labyrinth to find it. I didn't actually describe the last part, though...I just said "And so Amber set off to find her keyboard, which wasn't all that great anyway but happened to be the only keyboard she had." Riveting, eh? The worst of it was, I was actually contemplating finishing the story and just posting it in the forum as a bit of humor! Yet another example of why Amber needs to get out of the house more often!

Actually, what I'd like to do is actually get my Harry Potter website thing underway! I should probably ask for help. *giggles* I had a layout-ish thing all planned out (though even that, I'm sure, could be improved), but I want the content to be something at least MOSTLY different from that of most sites! I don't usually make sites for information -- after all, if you want info on Harry Potter, go to the other hundreds of sites -- so I focus more on entertainment value, but I don't know what I want to put in it! Once again, suggestions, comments, offers of help can be sent my way. ;)

And now my dogs are staring each other down and sniffing contemptuously at each other, which is a sure sign that they're about to pretend they're big bad dogs (which they do by jumping on each other or nipping at the other's legs). I'd better go separate them before they do something terrible like...showing their teeth. ;o)

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!