Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Costume Patterns
Written on July 3, 2001 at 4:30 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

(I've started to make a few of my own mood indicators, because imood.com doesn't have all the words that they should! *grins*)

Today was fun! Tiff and her boyfriend, Dustin, came over for awhile (she gave me my birthday present, which was something I've wanted for AWHILE!), and even he gave me something, which was sweet! It's a complete guide to guys, which might prove useful, 'cause as any female knows, guys are just...weird.

After sitting at my house for a little while, we decided to go over to Redner's and harass Mel. *giggles* Well okay, we didn't literally harass her, we just went over to say hi (though she doesn't like Dustin, and I think the favor is returned, so on Dustin's part it WAS harassing ;). She didn't pay too much attention to us, though, except to say that 1) She cut off the hem of her Redner's work shirt with a box cutter, and 2) Her newest crush doesn't work on any of the days she does this week. Damn.

I dunno about Mel. There are times when she really can be a very nice girl, and I know that she can be concerned and worried over people. But she's been raised as her parents' little 'baby', and so she's spoiled like you wouldn't believe. Now don't get me wrong, I'm a little on the spoiled side, too (being an only child), but this girl just takes the word to whole new levels! Nine times out of ten, if the conversation doesn't have anything to do with her or her love interests, she doesn't care, and will quickly turn the conversation back to focus on her. She's also not the most sensitive of people, and will frequently make bitingly sarcastic remarks that, while she means them as being teasing, can sometimes hurt and offend. She's a fair-weather friend, meaning that (at least, in my case) she'll be your best friend while you're the only person around, but as soon as someone else comes along she runs to them and ignores you. That's what she does to me whenever Tiff's around. Unless, of course, she gets angry at Tiff (in which case I become Best Friend again).

And tonight, as Dustin, Tiff, and I were sitting in a diner (which Tiff and Mel had visited the night before), I was told what happened. Mel was going to order mozzarella sticks, but she wouldn't share them unless there were at least 10 of them. Any less, and she wouldn't even give over one. But she didn't end up buying them anyway, because there were only 5. Then, later on during dinner, Tiff stole one of Mel's fries, and Mel shot her supposed 'best friend' a really glaring sort of look, like, "Don't you touch my food!"

Okay, I know I shouldn't be spreading gossip or anything like that, but I mean, really. Is it such a terrible thing to share food? I know sometimes if something's really good and there's very little of it, then I'm inwardly reluctant to share, but I'm not rude enough to actually forbid my friends to share! This probably sounds really trivial, but it's just one of those attributes of Mel's that I'm starting to get irritated with. Yes, she's my friend, but sometimes her shallow behavior can really become tiresome! Like, when we went to see Tomb Raider awhile back...Tiff wasn't with us because she wasn't home when Mel called, but instead of just not seeing the movie, Mel decided she wanted to go anyway. I mean, it was a pretty spontaneous decision to go to the movies that night, but did she have to pick Tomb Raider? She told me only AFTER we'd bought the tickets that Tiff had wanted to see it, and I suddenly felt quite guilty over seeing the movie.

But it's all good, because I'm going to see Tomb Raider again tomorrow with Tiff and Dustin! *giggles* And I THINK we're going to see Evolution, too, but I'm not sure on that yet.

As I was saying, however, tonight was lots of fun! I found out that both Tiff and Dustin would love to visit the Renaissance Faire (Dustin actually goes a lot), but then we all said how much we'd love to go in costume. So at Wal-Mart, I don't even think we were LOOKING for costume stuff, but I passed by this costume magazine and found some of the NEATEST designs for Renaissance costumes. Of course, I can't sew for beans, but Tiff said she could, so we began deciding what we'd like to make. At first, we both picked out this really simple-but-pretty dress...I can't describe it, but I'm trying to find a picture of it, hehe....at any rate, she got that pattern and at first I figured that we'd both have the same dress but maybe in different fabrics or something. But then we continued searching and I found this dress that was just as pretty! I don't know if it would be as comfortable as the first, but I still liked it!

Fantabulous! I found pictures of both dresses! First, here's the one that we found first. Of course, it would just have to be a horrible picture, and it really doesn't make the dress look very neat or flattering, but in its own strange way, I really like it! So here it is!

Dress 1

Okay, so anyway, here's the dress that I picked out (though I'd still love to have the one up above, hehe)...of course, mine would end up having to be a bridal sort of dress, but I guess maybe it's supposed to be a bridesmaid-type dress, because it certainly doesn't look like a wedding dress...at least, not to me! At any rate, this picture is better quality (the other one must've been a direct scan from the package)...

Dress 2

And there you have it! We couldn't find anything for Dustin...he was being picky. ^.^ And we were also looking for a pattern to make a cloak, but we didn't get anything. I think at this point, it would be better just to get these two dress patterns. After all, who knows if we'll ever even end up making these dresses, LoL!!!! I have to wonder if I'd even be able to fit in the one I picked out, hehehe...I have a feeling I'd end up falling out of it! *giggles*

That was our fun for tonight, though. Dustin was really patient as we sat there poring over patterns...I was surprised! And we ended up staying at Wal-Mart for like 2 or 3 hours...they didn't get me back home until 2 in the morning! But I don't care, I had a terrific time. Haven't had that much fun in who knows how long! :oP

I think that's it, though. Wow, I haven't said this much in a long time, eh? LoL! Hopefully Mel won't end up finding my diary, hehe....I'd kind of been holding back on saying anything against her, just in case she somehow found this diary. I mean, who ever likes hearing someone list their faults? But you can't tell her to her face, because she takes it as a sign that the whole world's against her, when really all her friends want to do is show her how shallow she can be and hopefully get it through to her that she's NOT the object that the sun revolves around! *giggles* I know, pleasant, right? It's just sometimes, she FRUSTRATES me to no end!!! Anyway, I'm going now! ;)

Oh, by the way...in case anyone had noticed and was wondering, the little smiley face in my imood indicator was made by moi. Actually, it was adapted from one of imood.com's original smilies, but I just don't think they have a terrific selection sometimes, so I felt that since I was already making a new mood, I'd change the smiley, too. ;) So it kind of belongs to imood and me, if that's possible. LoL!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!