Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Birthday Woes
Written on July 2, 2001 at 1:30 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Blargh!

Ya got that?

But anyway, now that I've had my moment of randomness, here's what's happened in the Land of Berry since I last wrote!

First off, my birthday pretty much sucked. No one was home the entire day, and I was just overall very terribly depressed. I already know that I have a mild case of depression (the illness, that is...I'm not depressed right now!), or maybe it's more like a mild version of bipolar (though I think they're both linked, aren't they?), but anyway, I'm not going to whine about those problems!

There was one good thing to come out of June 30...I now share my birthday with 3 cute little gerbil pups! *grins* I don't like sharing with other people, but animals are good! ;) Of course, Mum wasn't too happy to find out there were yet MORE gerbil offspring, but too bad, 'cause I was happy!

Tonight, Mum took me out to dinner, and then a movie. As we were driving over to the mall, this huge thunderstorm started up...the lightning was so close, I was afraid it was going to end up hitting us! And I'm not usually afraid of thunderstorms, so that was saying something! :oP The rain was falling so hard we could barely see the road, too...and one moron didn't even have his headlights on!!! But anyway, after parking we just stayed in the car for a few minutes until the rain stopped, and then we walked up to the restaurant. JUST as we got under the building overhang, it started pouring again -- and I mean pouring! It was as if someone had just tipped over a giant bucket, the way the water just pelted down like that...and in the next moment, it was all over! Weird stuff!

Anyway, we ate at Ruby Tuesday's, which was nice (their food is REALLY good), and we just sat around chatting. Mum played this computer-ish game that was beside her...you have to pay (of course), but then you get to play card games or whatever other sorts of games (she only played the card games). We were there for about an hour and a half (maybe more), and then we went off to the movie theater.

At first we were going to see Shrek, but then we ended up going to Dr. Dolittle 2. I wanted to see it mainly 'cause I saw in a commercial that the Crocodile Hunter was in it. *grins* Well, he ended up having his cameo appearance pretty much at the very beginning of the movie, and as I expected, it only lasted for a couple of minutes. The rest of the movie was okay, but I'll never go back to see it again...nor will I even watch it again unless it's on TV!

Hmm, what else...I got an address for the Zoological Society of Philadelphia, so I think I might write to them and ask about how one goes about getting a career in that sort of field. I found a college that's out in California called Moorpark (well, it's actually part of the EATM program, I think), but they're HIGHLY selective (only choose 50 applicants each year), and I'm sure I'd never get in. It's a two-year program, and there aren't any breaks or anything like that...you stay right through the summer and work there! It's more of a vocational college, obviously, but you get to work with animals, help train them, all that stuff. A little daunting, to be sure, but I think it sounds pretty interesting! I just wonder what the temperature's like...'California' brings to mind images of hot weather, and I can't deal with hot weather! But if this is something I really want to do, then I'm going to have to suck it up and deal!

Ooo!!!! How could I forget! Janette collected a bunch of poems and greetings from online friends and made a wonderful little birthday page for me...complete with a singing, animated version of herself! *giggles* It's so great! If you want to look at it, go here! :oD

I guess that's it...nothing else has been going on! I didn't get the N64 I wanted for m'birthday (the guy next door offered to sell his Playstation and all his games for $150, but I'm not big on Playstation...I only want N64 for the Mario games!)...and I might be homeless in a matter of a few weeks! So hey, how good CAN I be? :oP

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!