Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Possible career?
Written on June 6, 2001 at 2:48 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Yay! First day in awhile that I've actually felt pretty good! I had one of those heart-to-heart type of talks with Mum tonight, and she gave me a great idea for a career...well, I don't know that I want to do exactly what she suggested, but it's definitely given me ideas! She said that I should study to be a zoologist or something along those lines, and it immediately appealed to me!

I've wanted to be an author since I was in elementary school, but I've also ALWAYS loved animals, and lately I've realized that I would love to do something with wildlife rehabilitation or something like that (y'know, like if there's an injured animal, you keep it until it's ready to be released back into the wild). I told Mum about that tonight, and she said that I'd really get into something like zoology. I wouldn't want to be a veterinarian (that's what people usually tell me to be when I say I love animals), because I couldn't handle having to do surgeries...and I certainly wouldn't be able to euthanize animals! And I know that anything dealing with animals is going to put in the risk of having one of them die or something like that, but I think the career would still be really satisfying! And hey, it seems like something I could do, and still be able to have some sort of writing career on the side! The best of two worlds! ;)

I also decided that if I ever have the money, I want to travel all over the place. I like to live in one spot, because having 'roots' (so to say) is very important to me, but I also like to travel a lot, and see different things! There are tons of places in just the US itself that I would love to see, but then there's Canada, and Europe, and Australia, and Japan...I want to see everything! Mum just wants to live in Florida for awhile, hehe! I wanted to live there at one time (mostly because I wanted to work at Disney World), but after this last trip I realized that while it may be okay to visit, I definitely DON'T want to live there! I don't do well in heat (I'm more of an Eskimo, I guess!), and besides that there aren't enough leafy trees down there for me! I have to have my forests and deciduous trees...Florida is mainly just palm trees and pine trees, which is a little too depressing for me! I know, I'm weird. Pennsylvania's my home, though, so can I help it if I'm a little biased? ;)

It's kind of funny how you can get attached to one place and not want to go anywhere else...Mum says that if she couldn't live in Florida, she'd want to live in Maine. That's better than Florida for me, but it would still be a little too...I don't know, unfriendly! I lived in Massachusetts for a year, which was nice, but it's still not the temperate climate that PA has. I think if I couldn't live in PA, I'd want to live somewhere in the Virginia countryside. *sighs* The part of Virginia where my mother's relatives live is so beautiful! They live right in the mountains (my uncle actually lives right at the base of one of the mountains), and the land's basically been untouched since the first colonization of Virginia hundreds of years ago. I mean obviously there's been more settlement and stuff, but their accents are actually more like the old English and Welsh accents than your typical 'Southern' accent, which I think is cool. Anyway, I don't know that I'd want to live in that area particularly (so few people and so little to do...it would get depressing), but somewhere around there!

Hmm...oo, I finally watched Slipper and the Rose tonight, hehe! My favorite scene is right after Cinderella runs away...she (and the prince) sing this song called 'He Danced With Me,' and it's so pretty! And because this is my diary and no one's reading this anyway so I don't have to worry, I'm going to copy down the lyrics. *giggles*

Rainbows raced around the room
When he danced with me
Shooting stars began to zoom
When he danced with me
In his arms I was ascending
My world became a magic blending
Of dreams and hopes
And love
When he danced with me

Though this lovely night was only a fantasy
And I know tonight is all there will ever be
Dancing in his arms forever
My heart will never be free,
Dreaming of the night he danced with me

*changes to the prince's POV now, hehe*

Rainbows raced around the room
When she danced with me
Shooting stars began to zoom
When she danced with me
In her arms I was ascending
At last I saw that perfect blending
Of dreams and hopes
And love
When she danced with me

Could it be that she was only a fantasy?
Could it be tonight is all there will ever be?
Dancing in her arms forever
My heart will never be free,
Dreaming of the night she danced with me

Dreaming of the night she danced...
With me...

Well, it doesn't really work without the tune, but I love that song!!!! My other favorite scene in the movie is when the prince (named Edward) finally finds Cinderella again. She's pretty much gone on with her life, and it's been months since the ball, but she's outside picking flowers and playing with her little terrier dog...well, the dog goes off and finds Cinderella's glass slipper in the grass (Edward, after getting despondent, threw it away). The dog goes back and finds her, and she picks up the slipper and then kind of recreates the night of the ball...well, she starts dancing around and stuff (and I think she's probably imagining herself dancing at the ball again). Little does she know that a ways off, Edward's previous companion-at-arms and friend, John, has seen her. He rushes off to get Edward, and then in the next scene Edward comes rushing up on a white horse. He reins in beside Cinderella, gets off the horse and looks at her for a moment with a joyous smile before kissing her.

Did I mention that I'm a hopeless romantic? *grins* Well, now you know. I'm such a sap when it comes to scenes like that! Like this scene in the Anne of Green Gables show...it's the last episode of it, where Anne and Gilbert are about to go off on their separate teaching jobs. Anne says something like, "You should be afraid I might break another slate over your head," and Gilbert murmurs, "You should be more afraid that I might break one over yours," (or something to that effect). I know, romantic, right? *rolls her eyes* But then he hesitantly reaches out and brushes her cheek with his hand, and in this tender sort of voice says "Carrots.." LOL! That sounds so absolutely UNromantic! You'd not only have to know the story of Anne of Green Gables, but I guess you'd also have to actually WATCH that scene in order to understand it! But I thought it was about the sweetest thing ever, hehe...

Another wonderful scene is that one right at the end of 'Never Been Kissed'. Josie's standing on that ballfield waiting for Sam, and you end up thinking that he's not going to show up because the clock times out and he's still not there! But then all of a sudden you see him running down the bleachers toward her, and they kiss...I actually cried during that part, hehehe!

I don't know why I'm suddenly sharing all of my favorite romantic scenes...and all of that started from saying that I'd watched Slipper and the Rose! I almost brought out Ever After and watched that too, but in the end I didn't feel like watching another movie. So I'll save that one for another night. ;)

For now, though, I'm going to go! I'm tired again, and I told Mum that I would go with her on her errands...I need to get out of the house, so this was a welcome excuse! ;) I just hope I'll actually be able to wake up in the morning to do it, hehehe!!!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!