Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Moulin Rouge
Written on June 7, 2001 at 2:06 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I went to see Moulin Rouge with Melissa and Tiffany tonight, and it was a really good movie! Well, it's one of those movies that you love while you're watching it for the first time, but you know you wouldn't want to see a multitude of times. I know there are tons of people who've seen this movie and would go back 50 more times if they could afford it, and while I honestly did LOVE it, I don't think it would be the same for me if I saw it again!

I cried at the end...I can't really say why, in case I spoil the ending for anyone, but I think you'd have to be very cold-hearted not to cry! Oprah was right when she said that it was hard to describe the movie, though! Right now, if someone asked me to describe it in just a few words, I wouldn't really be able to! It's so...all over the place right at the beginning! I was actually afraid I wouldn't be able to understand the movie at first! The thing I thought was the neatest, though, was how instead of making up a whole score of different songs, they used well-known rock and pop songs and changed a few words, or the tempo, or just stuff like that. They used a song from my FAVORITE band, Queen (it totally fit, too...the song they used was 'The Show Must Go On'), so that made everything even more wonderful. ;) I am definitely going to buy the soundtrack...when I get another job and can afford to, anyway. ;o)

So the night was a good one, and then I came home and opened up my mailbox. I've been corresponding with a girl who read my Labyrinth stories at FanFiction.Net, and she asked me if she could write a fanfic based on the storyline of MY story (which is in two parts..she wanted to write a third part)! Needless to say, 'flattered' was an understatement as far as I was feeling. To think that someone actually liked my stories enough that they'd want to write fan fiction based on MY fan fiction! *giggles* I told her that she could do it, of course, but I can't lie and say that I wasn't doubtful of what the results would be. There are so many writers out there that just don't seem to BOTHER with even the basics (like grammar and spelling) that I couldn't help but wonder if her story would come out being awful!

That sounds terribly conceited of me! It's not that I think my fan fiction is wonderful, but I put a lot of time and effort into it, so if she'd given me something that looked like it had about 5 minutes of effort put into it, I would have been terribly disappointed! But there was no reason for me to have been afraid of her finished story. I just finished reading it about 10 minutes ago, and it is WONDERFUL! There are only a few misspellings, but the grammar is good, and she uses some terrific vocabulary (which is always a plus in my book, because I love to use new words in my stories). She let me read it before anyone else, but as soon as she posts it on FF.N, I plan to put a link to it here...if only for the off chance that someone stumbles across my diary and decides to click the link! ;)

I'm still really just...dumbfounded, I guess, that someone wanted to write a fanfic about my fan fiction! I mean, the basic reason why people write fan fiction is because they want to immerse themselves in the world that the original creator developed for us, so in a way it makes me feel like I made a little world that was inspirational enough to make someone else want to take part in it! Hard to explain...you'll just have to take my word for it. ;)

Reading her story has made me want to start a new Labyrinth fanfic, though. I'd been feeling lost after I finished "When Words Aren't Enough," because I'd known from the beginning of the story that this would be the only Laby work I would write...I'm not really the sort of person who can write several completely different stories about the same thing. This two-parter was my baby, really! And after it was all over, I thought "Well what do I have to do now?" I've been working on some Harry Potter fan fiction, but that's just not the same! My niche is in the Labyrinth section -- people recognize me there, and they at least seem to really like my work -- so writing for other things just wouldn't be the same!

Now, though, I'm mulling over ideas for a fourth part to the series. Melissa (not my IRL friend Mel, but the girl who wrote the fanfic), right at the end of her part of the story, wrote that Sarah was pregnant, which opens up tons of possibilities for another part to the story! I asked her if she wanted to collaborate on the fourth part, but I don't know what she'll say to that! ;) If she doesn't want to, then I suppose I'll just have to write it by myself, hehe...

I think today has just been a day for ideas, though, because not only do I want to write more Labyrinth fan fiction, but I've gotten ideas for several different websites that I'd been wanting to create but could never do more than just start! One page would be a Harry Potter-based site...a task in and of itself, because there are so many fan pages out there that I'd have to work extra hard to make mine different. My websites are always based more on entertainment value than information, though. You could go to any HP site and find information about the books, but I'd rather put fun things on my site, like fanfic challenges and other interactive stuff. I've got all these ideas swimming around in my head, but it's hard for me to actually sit down and start on them!

And then there's the site I've been wanting to create forever: 'The Berry Patch', as I plan to call it (it would be 'my' page, basically...stuff about me, my writings, etc). Berry is the nickname that Janette gave to me (the cutest one I've ever had, hehe), and so when I was trying to think up a good name for the site, 'Berry Patch' just came to mind! I've got the graphics made, but that's where I stopped, because I'm lazy! ;)

Oh well, I guess that's it for now. I think I might go download some illegal MP3's (*sticks her tongue out at the anal record companies*), and then maybe I'll see if I can put all my ideas to use!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!