Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Woot woot!
Written on Monday, Feb. 23, 2004 at 11:02 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Maaaaaaan, I so wish I'd gotten Diane as my Little!!! I heart her so much! I ended up getting to study tables an hour late because my uterus decided to be a little bitch and keep me doubled up in pain from 7 'til 8. By the time I got to the library, everyone had already been situated in their own little groups and I just plunked myself down at a little round table off to the side. Diane passed at one point, I guess on her way to get something to drink from the cafe upstairs, but she stopped and was chatting with me for a little bit.

I don't know, maybe she didn't put me down as her first choice for Bigs. But I just feel like she did, and Johnna decided not to pair us up. I know it doesn't matter, 'cause obvoiusly we're going to be friends whether she's my Little or not, I just would have loved to be able to buy stuff for her, LOL! I'm afraid Jamie might not've liked the stuff I got her, which obviously isn't an important thing...I don't know. I just worry too much in general, hehe...

Tomorrow night, I'm participating in the initiate activity. They're just going to be coming to my dorm and figuring out a PSP word puzzle, but it'll be kind of fun to get to chat with them a little more. There's one guy in the group that I don't like, and don't know if he'll make it through, but the rest of them I either really like or just need to get to know better. Sometimes I wonder if I'm getting a little TOO excited about all this. ;)

Oo, more good news! I'm still on my quest to learn how to play the guitar, and it was suggested to me by several people that learning how to read music is a really good idea. Well, I guess that's an obvious conclusion. I mean, the guitar is a musical instrument, right? And I'm sure that there are plenty of people who've taught themselves and know nothing about reading music, but I've wanted to learn how for a long time...despite the fact that it scares the pants off me, hehe! I just think it's a learned helplessness thing. I mean, when I played oboe back in 5th grade, my teacher never really pushed me to learn how to read music. When it came time to have band concerts, she'd just tell me to pretend, since I was the only oboe player and no one would know any better.

Good teacher, eh?

So anyway, I think I've just come to the decision, over the years, that I'll never be able to read music. And I'm sure that's not so, it's just always scared me. But lately I've gotten all gung-ho on wanting to learn the guitar, so I want to at least see if I can learn how to read music. :P Even if it's not absolutely REQUIRED, it would still help!

And now--finally--to why I said 'good news,' lol! I remembered that Kevin's been playing piano for like 11 years or something like that, so it was one of those "duh" moments. I IMed him to see if he'd be interested in helping, and at best I just expected that maybe he'd kinda go over it with me for a little while at night or something. Instead, he's planning on practically giving me a class on it, LOL! He was saying that he'd teach me the basic fundamentals now, and then over break he'd bring back his Fundamentals of Music book (from the class he took last year) and teach me from that. And there'd be practicing on the piano, and he'd even like make up little tests or whatever to see what I know and what I don't.

How awesome is this?? And he's an education major/music minor, so it's almost like I'm helping HIM at the same time, giving him an opportunity to think up little lessons, lol! He seemed really excited about it, and of course I'm ridiculously excited! Not only because I'll finally get to learn how to read music, but because I'll learn a bit of piano too, hehe! I've wanted to learn that for a few years now, but my fear of music-reading kept me from really doing anything major with that.

I'm not sure what's changed my attitude toward it all. Maybe because I'm really really excited about the guitar, lol...But whatever it is, I think I'm going to have fun! And I'll finally be able to put that keyboard in my room to some REAL use!

My laptop is really hot underneath my right hand, and I don't know why. It's not like body heat hot, it's like 'machinery inside is overheating' hot. Bah. I wouldn't be surprised if my laptop is crapping out on me again.

Anyway, I'm going to go. I REALLY wish I could force myself to work on that new diary design, lol! It's Plant-a-licious, haha...

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!