Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: "Grow past it"
Written on Wednesday, Feb. 18, 2004 at 12:55 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Instead of working for two hours today, I worked a little and then mostly just had a really good chat with Mary Beth. Not a "shooting the breeze" sort of chat, but meaningful stuff. Well, related to college and such, anyway. It started off by me saying that I wasn't so sure I wanted to do the Call thing anymore because I heard La-Aja's going to be one of the other editors, and I CANNOT STAND HER.

It moved onto the TV station, because she was saying that you have to be able to grow past that, and that she had a girl who was upset over not being able to get an internship with a TV station because she didn't have enough college experience. She'd quit our campus station...because she didn't like the people there. Sound familiar? I was like, "Well, thank you for telling me that story!" And then we got to talking about how apparently, our station has become notorious for that problem (snobby people) in the past few years. So it's not just me, there have been quite a few others who have voiced disgust with Channel 5.

But now I know that I have to stick with it, if I'm ever going to get an internship or a job or anything like that in the television business. I mean, I knew that before, but I guess since I'd never heard any 'horror stories' about what happened when people quit the campus station, I kinda figured maybe it wouldn't matter. But it does. And now I'm just going to have to stick it out and get the experience. Who knows, maybe eventually I'll be pushed far enough that I tell everyone off, and they earn respect for me and stop trying to step all over me. I can wish, anyway.

Erin and I were supposed to hang out at the animal shelter for a little while today, but we just happened to pick one of only TWO days that the shelter's closed! X_X We're going to try again on Monday, but that was rather disappointing! I was looking forward to having a good romp with the dogs! Oh well, maybe if the sun stays out every day until Monday, more of the snow will be melted and we can actually go in the grass.

I haven't been to an animal shelter in years. We have one about a mile from the apartment back home, and that's where we got Blackie...but unless I'm able to actually take one home, I don't like going in there! Seeing all those eager little faces, and realizing that many of them won't be able to find homes...it's heartbreaking. I don't like having to see it. So I don't go. But being able to take them out of their cages and play with them for awhile would be a bit more satisfying, as though I'm helping them out somehow. And our TV station is actually doing something right, for the first time ever. :P We've got a "Pet of the Week" segment now, and last week was our first. The dog they showed was adopted the very next day, and the person apparently said that they'd seen the dog on our show! It might not work out that way ALL the time, but it worked once, so there's hope!

Anyway, I'm going to go find something else to do in the hour I have before Economics. Please, please let "French" be canceled again! Oh man, I would be so orgasmically happy...!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!