Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Not a whole lot
Written on Saturday, Jan. 24, 2004 at 9:48 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Man, I was lazy today. I slept all day, and then it took me a couple more hours to take a shower. After that, I finally started working on letters to put on a T-shirt (all the material is in the wash right now), and I played SIMs a bit. The funny thing is, I bought "Makin' Magic" yesterday (which was terrific because now I don't need to keep stealing borrowing Kristen's CD anymore)...but I find that I'm not quite as addicted to the game as I was when I first started playing it! But I don't think I wasted plastic money, because it's something that I can come back to and play whenever I want. Better than getting stuck playing Solitaire all the time, anyway!

I don't know what it is, but the minute my mother gets on the phone, I just want to say "go away" and hang up. I love my mother to death (as I've said several times before), but there's just something about trying to talk to her that sends my frustration/irritation level through the roof! I should be more patient with her, but unfortunately I wasn't gifted with much in the patience department. I always feel bad, because she's a really sweet woman...but bleh. I guess it's just a sign that I'm finally ready to start living on my own and all that. Well, emotionally, anyway. As far as money goes, I'm as dependent as virtually every other college kid.

The PA state universities are apparently quite close to a strike. Things like this always happen whenever the negotiations are up, but this year the people they're negotiating with played really dirty. If the faculty were to strike, I can't say I'd blame them after what happened to them. There just isn't enough money to go around, and the situation has been made even worse because our dear old president is pouring money into "peacekeeping" efforts overseas. Apparently, he's never heard of the Hierarchy of Needs, because if he had he'd have been able to apply it to this situation. You can't "help" other people if you can't even help yourself. And at this point in time, the school systems are only an example of what's going downhill within our borders. But I'm not going to get into that.

The point is, there might be a strike...and this early in the semester, if they don't reach a decision soon enough we're just going to get a pass/fail thing. Which would be good for me in regards to Macroeconomics, but generally speaking it just sucks. Kevin said that if they went on strike, the entire campus would shut down and we'd have to haul out all of our stuff...with the possibility of having to bring it all back again if they reached an agreement. I'm not sure I believe that part, but given the screwy way things work, I guess it's not an impossibility. At any rate, we wouldn't get our tuition back, I don't believe, and that would severely piss me off. So as much as I'd like to be able to leave this place a few months early, there's no way I'm going to have my tuition dollars wasted.

Gahhhhh, Ares is not the way to go when it comes to downloading things!!! I guess it works if you're just downloading modern music, but if you're trying to find anything not modern, then good luck! I can't get anything to download! Thankfully, I got all my favorite Led Zeppelin songs...but there are a couple other songs I'd really like to download by different artists! Bah...well, I guess I shouldn't technically get angry, since I'm not supposed to be doing this anyway!

May I mention again that I hate the girls on my floor??? Thank you.

My first assignment for Microapplications got an 8 out of 10...and you want to know what the assignment was? Putting folders onto a floppy disk. How could I have done something wrong with that?? Did I name them incorrectly? Jess told me that they had to have "Word, Excel, [something I can't remember atm] and ppt". I named my 'ppt' folder as "PowerPoint", so maybe that's how I got the points taken off? Because I didn't do "PPT"? *rolls eyes* If that's the reason why, I'm going to smack the professor. Like it matters if the folder is named "PowerPoint" as opposed to "ppt".

You guys should have seen the snow that fell last night (well, this morning...it was like 2 am). For those of you who live in areas where it snows, have you ever seen the kind that sparkles really brightly? I'm not sure what causes it to do that, but it happens every now and again around here. At any rate, last night it was falling so lightly that you couldn't really even feel it, but if you looked at the street lamps, it looked as though someone had poured glitter into the air. The thin coating that had fallen over the snow we already got glittered like diamond dust. It was so pretty. For those of you who've never seen snow except on TV, I suppose you can't really appreciate this story...but believe me, it was gorgeous.

A Phi Sig Pi chapter in a college to our north invited all the nearby chapters to come to an Interchapter thingy on the weekend of January 30-February 1. It's $15 to go, and then I think it's another $15 if you want a shirt (at least, I think that's an optional thing). Part of me really wants to go, because it would be fun to see another campus (and get more involved in PSP)...but at the same time, I don't think I'll be able to afford it. There's another factor involved, but it sounds too superficial to really be talking about here. However, if you've been reading my diary long enough, you might be able to guess what that problem might be. At any rate, I have a couple of days to think about it, so I'll decide by then.

Kristen's family invited me to stay with them the first weekend in February, and I'm tempted to do that as well. I've never seen where Kristen lives, and it would probably be neat to see her neighborhood and her house. But I think I'd probably be uncomfortable being around her parents for that length of time, so I'm not sure whether I'll go or not. I'll think about it, anyway.

Okay, that's it. I'm going to go find other activities to do, hehehe!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!