Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Hoedown!
Written on Sunday, Dec. 21, 2003 at 9:45 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

"Hoedown" is a really fun song. I'm not talking about that gay "Whose Line Is It Anyway" thing (you know, the only thing Drew Carey can do on the show)...I mean the ELP song. Yeah, it was adapted from a classical piece, but it's still fun as heck. Or, as I like to say, fun as beans. :P Have you noticed that 'beans' can be just about anything? Hard as beans, fun as beans, cold as beans...Beans are a very versatile thing.

Anyway.

Mom had invited two of her friends over tonight, an older couple who're from Scotland (they still have a pretty strong brogue, too...so great!). They got here around 5:30, so we spent the next two hours drinking (not a lot) and watching a football game. Tom wanted to watch it, not the rest of us. X_X I was very proud of myself for sticking it out that long, lol! I'm never very comfortable around Mom's friends, not because there's anything wrong with them, just because they're basically strangers to me (and being 99% shy, I don't do well with strangers). At any rate, after the game was over I retreated to Mom's room to watch "The Year Without A Santa Claus". I only like that movie because of one of the singing ditties, hehe: "I'm Mr. White Christmas, I'm Mr. Snow..." Fun little tune.

Speaking of fun tunes, I just want to reiterate how much I adore Emerson Lake and Palmer. Not that you guys didn't know it already. ;) The only thing that gets me sometimes are their synthesizers (or however that's spelled). The music itself is fantastic, but every so often those synths get a little too high-pitched and wacky for me. I was listening to this tape in the shower one day, and I had to turn it up loud enough to hear the vocals, but then the synths would reverberate in the room, lol!

This feels really weird to be admitting to anyone, but I think I'm going to try getting a hair weave to solve my thin-hair problem. Mom had suggested it way back when I first had that dermatologist appointment, but at that point I immediately dismissed it. It was too close to being a wig for me, and the thought of having to wear someone else's hair made me so depressed that I felt like crying. If I dwell on it too long, I still feel like crying. But honestly, what other choice do I have? I could either go au naturel, and never go out in public again because I'm too embarrassed. The other option is to buy little cases of black eyeshadow for the rest of my life and cover up the thin spots...which means I'll forever be making sure no one touches the top of my head (no resting my head on anyone's shoulder!), and I'll always be looking in mirrors wondering if my oily skin is making the makeup start to shine unnaturally...

A hair weave still makes me cringe, but at least I'd have hair, you know? It'll probably be fairly expensive, but compared with the cost of buying up $3.99 eyeshadow thingies, I doubt I'd really be paying anything extra. I've been doing this eyeshadow thing for...Geez, it's been several years now, I think. The brand I was using before discontinued their regular black (and replaced it with some kinda shimmery black stuff), so I had to go for the more expensive crap. I feel like I'm being vain, always making sure my thin spots are covered, and I know that I really shouldn't be so concerned about it. But I am, and I'm tired of having to take so much more time just to deal with my hair. I long for the ability to just be able to roll out of bed, comb it, and go to class like a normal college student! People make fun of me because I take so long, as though I'm being some sort of primping bimbo, yet when I'm finished I look like I just threw myself together. It's all that stupid makeup. I'm sick of it.

So I'm going to try this other alternative. Mom knows the guy who does it, and apparently he's got a hair weave as well, lol! Adrienne went on a date with him and was running her fingers through his hair all night (not knowing that he's actually bald), and she never knew that wasn't actually his hair. And I guess there was also some kinda show on TV about how women in Hollywood are going that route too because their hair is thin...so maybe this'll work for me? I don't know anything about this sort of thing (it makes me want to laugh just saying the word 'weave'), so who knows. But it's worth a shot. Anything to feel normal!

Okay, I guess that's enough soul-baring for the evening. Jam is off playing fun games, and I'm missing out! But maybe I'll play just one game of Slingo first, because that game is fun to me for some reason... :P

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!