Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: My attempt at profundity
Written on Monday, Nov. 03, 2003 at 4:09 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

In Intro to Images today, we watched the first half of "Bowling For Columbine".

Wow.

Powerful stuff there, my friends.

For awhile, the stuff I saw just strengthened my belief that humans are, by and large, a destructive and really rather meaningless species. Not that any of you want to hear yourselves thought of in such a way, LOL! I know there are a lot of good people in the world, people who are kind and generous...but there are just as many (and more) who kill and destroy and stuff like that. Those that do good are usually just fixing mistakes that the destructive folks messed up in the first place.

But with that said, the movie went on to show how our society is pushed into doing and believing things by scare tactics. News programs only ever show the bad things that go on, so if you don't live in a certain area, you get it in your head that that place is full of shootings and robberies. Even commercials try to make you think you'll be inferior if you don't buy their product.

So then I thought: well, yeah, this world could be a lot better. A lot. The blame can't be pointed on any one group of people (much as everyone would like to blame it on someone), because we all have a hand in what goes on in the world. But are things as hopeless as the media would try to make us believe? Maybe, but probably not. Unfortunately, violence is something that has gone on ever since life was created. We're not safe 'til we're dead (and even then, who knows what's going to happen to us?), but why should all the negativity in the world make one feel so hopeless? Why not try to better the things that you can, and enjoy the good parts of life?

I know, that sounds really trite and cheesy. But this movie really did make me think about things. Made me angry about a lot of things, too. Like how a certain Mr. Heston totally got his karmic revenge for the ideals he's spouting. What a little ass he is! But then again, I'm not a sheep; I don't have to listen to him.

Anyway, that's my attempt at being profound. In more superficial news, I actually got along okay in French today. It was a good thing. I got an A+ on my Intro to Images paper (the one I had to do a couple of weeks ago about my favorite movie). He wants us to do a one-page reaction paper on the "Bowling For Columbine" movie, but I think he should have made it at LEAST two or three. A one-page, double-spaced paper is not giving us room to say very much. I can be like, "I thought it was a good movie. It made some very good points. But Mr. Heston is an ass. And the Nichols brother was a little freaky. The End." I had a hard time keeping myself to two pages when I talked about the images and colors in my favorite movie! Actually, I ended up writing 3 pages, but I could have written so much more. Hehe...Stupid overachievers... ;)

*smiggles* Just as people tend to gloss over me in real life, I think the people on the message board I frequent now are also ignoring me. I've made a total of 38 posts there so far, and have probably only gotten responses to about 3 or 4 of them. :P I know that's a stupid thing to whine about. I just have insecurity issues (if y'all couldn't tell). Maybe I come off as too exuberant (or too annoying) to people online. Yet some of my best friends were met through this dandy Internet, so I can't be THAT bad, right? Ah well, it's a message board, for crying out loud. It's not the end of the world. And besides that, I'm a newbie, so maybe they're all waiting to see if I stick around or if I go the way of the dinosaur.

I can't believe I just used that clich�. It's definitely time for me to go study Psychology. Big ol' test tomorrow, and I haven't studied at all for it!

Oo, wow! I used "profundity" for the very first time in my life! Aren't new words great? :P

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!