Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Unexpected sleepover
Written on Sunday, Aug. 10, 2003 at 11:44 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I rolled out of bed really late yesterday because I was admittedly rather bummed that Geoff hadn't called me at all. I was ready to come online and write an entry about how I was irritated at him! I guess I really shouldn't have been, because it's not like I have to see him every moment of every day, it's just that on Thursday night he'd asked if I wanted to do something Saturday. So I'd assumed that he'd call...not early in the day, but certainly before 2 or 3 o'clock! He didn't end up calling 'til about 6:30, and then teased me because I wasn't acting like my usually bubbly self. Heh...Well, at least he noticed the difference, right? Most guys can't claim 'observance' as one of their attributes. ;)

At any rate, turns out his mother and brother had taken him out to dinner for an early birthday thing (whether they chose last night because I've claimed him for his actual b-day, I don't know...but it's fun to think about, bwe he he). He was on the road when he called me, and asked if I wanted him to drive up to my place or just leave me alone for the night. Of course, I opted for the former option. There was no way I was going to go without seeing him, hehe! When he got here, I ran into my bedroom to grab my driver's license and then I hid it on my way back out.

"So I went out yesterday hoping to get my picture taken," I began. I think he asked why, but at that point I plucked out the driver's license and, at the same time that I showed it to him, I finished, "but they used the old picture from my photo ID instead."

"Wow, look at that!" he exclaimed, taking the little plastic rectangle from me. He stared at it way longer than I wanted him to (remember, I said that picture was grotesque), but he actually somewhat applauded for me, LOL! I'd been kinda hoping for some surprise over the fact that I'd never even mentioned it to him, but that's no big deal. At least I finally got to say "remember those stories I told you about Mom and I driving along these strange roads? It was actually me driving."

He tried getting me to drive his car then, but I flatly refused. If I ever get a VW bus, then yeah, I'd need to learn how to drive stick shift! But I'd like to learn in a big parking lot or something...y'know, a place where it doesn't matter if the car stalls. :P

I hadn't expected to be out ALL night. We went to a couple grocery stores first because he needed to get a phone card thinger, and then he asked if it was okay to just hang out at his place. Heh! Like I'm going to refuse! ;) Still, I figured at the latest, I'd be home by 5 am or something. Around 4-something, he opened up the closet in the livingroom and asked what sort of blanket I wanted, and that's when I realized I'd be staying over. No big deal, since I've done it enough times before, but I hadn't been expecting it! Thank goodness I bought the little travel-sized toothbrush and toothpaste, hee hee!

After tossing me a big cozy comforter, he rolled the cot out of the closet...and once he'd set it where he wanted it, he promptly flopped down, took off his shoes, and curled up under his own blanket. I'd kinda expected him to sleep in the same room as me, since the living room is the only one with air conditioning, but it was still nice. ^_^ He crashed out after maybe 15 minutes (tops), and I was left with the dilemma of turning off the TV. When he laid down, he had the remote with him and I knew it was somewhere around the vicinity of his chest, but to get it I'd have to peel back the covers and search around in relative darkness...thereby risking him waking up and wondering what the heck I was doing. Sounds almost like the premise for a scene in some fluffy romance novel, huh? Thankfully, I finally remembered that TVs come with power switches built in, so I just got up and turned the thing off manually. X_X Not the brightest crayon in the box sometimes...

If you'll allow me a moment of fluffiness, he's so cute when he sleeps. ^_^ When awake, you can just tell that his mind is always alert and ready to defend, tease, or do something random and silly. I know that sounds like an obvious statement, but you know how there are some people who, even when awake, look like there isn't much going on upstairs? ;) So anyway, the only time I ever see him unguarded and vulnerable-looking is when he's asleep (because of course, being a man, he's not into the whole 'showing emotion or weakness' thing, hehe). When I first discovered he was sleeping, I looked over to see he was still laying on his side, eyes closed and mouth slightly opened. It drew one of those automatic 'aww' responses, but despite how many private and somewhat silly things I tell him, I don't think he'd really be appreciative of the thought that someone watches him as he sleeps. So I'll just have to keep this little image for myself...and the rest of Diaryland, now. *laughs*

I woke up at 9:30 (I think maybe he'd been snoring or something, hehe), and looked over to see him sleeping on his back with an arm flopped over his eyes. The next time I woke up, it was 11-something and he was gone. I knew I probably didn't have much longer to sleep, but I rolled over on the couch and went back to dozing anyway. Close to noon, I felt his hand on my back and then heard his voice (the silly, high-pitched one he uses sometimes) go, "Amberr! Time to get up for school! Did you finish your homework?" After sitting around for a couple more hours (he was procrastinating), I went with him to this huge grocery store called Wegman's because he had to finish putting ice cream out on the shelf (he's a vendor, did I mention that before?).

This grocery store is so big and strange that it's almost intimidating. One huge part of the building is dedicated entirely to gourmet stuff. It's like the food court back where I used to work, only ten times bigger. And the way they made the department faces look gives you the feeling of walking through an outdoor market in Italy (or some other exotic European locale, hehe)...only obviously it's all indoors. ;) The bakery department had one section devoted entirely to these gorgeous-looking pastries and cheesecakes, and then there was a big section for cheese, and deli items...Their sit-down area was framed by little archways, and along the back wall there was this big painting of an old European city. Way more detailed than anything I'd ever seen, and Geoff told me that there are even waiters and waitresses that come to each table!

After showing me around a little bit, he said he had to go into the back room. "Do you want to walk around a little?" he asked, but I said no. Despite the whole store being "a big square," as he pointed out, I knew I'd end up getting lost. Or, not lost so much as not being able to find him once he'd finished his job. So I sat outside instead. Almost got stung by a yellow jacket (I am NOT going to suffer that two years in a row!), studied the other big differences between this grocery mammoth and every other store I've ever seen, and amused myself by watching how the drivers who passed by never stopped at the stop sign unless someone was crossing from the parking lot to the store. Yes, they've actually put up small stop signs at spaced intervals in front of the store. This place is so busy, it was almost like a small grocery city! I couldn't believe the amount of people walking in and out (sometimes in small crowds!). If I ever had to work there, I would probably end up shooting myself within the first week. But you already know how much I dislike the customer service deal, Diary.

Once finished, Geoff drove me home. I feel so guilty, making him drive so far just to take me home! I have to keep reminding myself that if he really disliked it, he wouldn't invite me out as much as he does...but especially now that I have my license, I wish that I could drive myself around sometimes so that he wouldn't have to worry about the long trips.

When driving around, I noticed that he's started to put his arm out as if to protect me if he has to stop suddenly (because of another car or whatever). I think it's only been the past two car rides that he's ever done it, but every time a car pulls out suddenly or he otherwise has to hit the brakes suddenly, his right arm will fling out in front of me (as though that'll keep me in my seat, hehe!) and he'll ask if I'm alright. Actually, he's only really put his arm out twice, but I've seen him twitch to do it a couple of other times. It's kinda cute, really; I like to think he wants to protect me. ;)

Mom told me yesterday that I'm allowed to take the car if I want to go visit a friend or something, just as long as I don't go on the highway (yet). The idea of taking the car out all by myself, even if only for a short ride, gives me that same excited thrill that any new driver must get. I imagine myself out cruising, listening to whatever music I want...it's silly, but exciting at the same time! I'm thinking maybe tomorrow, even though I really have nowhere to go, I might ask for the keys simply so I can have my first taste of driving solo. Who cares if I'm sounding juvenile! I can drive now, gosh darn it, and I intend to indulge in the excitement while it lasts! *grins*

Anyway, this entry has rambled on long enough. I think I might go to bed. Either tomorrow or Tuesday, Geoff will hopefully call me about the concert. Neither of us are sure yet exactly how we're going to do everything (as far as me getting to their apartment, and whether I'll stay overnight, blah blah), so he told me he'd call. We're great for planning, aren't we? XD Mom said she'd drop me off on Wednesday...oh shoot, did I accidentally tell her Tuesday instead? Great. X_X Well, I'll have to clear that up tomorrow (unless I'm just getting paranoid and I really DID tell her that it was Wednesday)...I don't want to stay over there for TWO nights, because by then I'd be in dire need of a shower. And from what Tim has said to me, a shower that two men use is a scary thing indeed.

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!