Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Some thoughts
Written on Monday, Aug. 11, 2003 at 9:26 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

It's kind of neat, in a way, how when you really care for a person (be it a friend or otherwise) you start to care not just about them but about their family too. I was afraid at one time that worrying about somebody I didn't even know was sort of...well, weird, but it's not.

At any rate, I was just thinking about that because Tim called me today. Last night, he said, the phone rang the minute he walked in the door (he'd spent the weekend away with his kids). Seeing that it was his job calling, he didn't pick up...but then they left a message saying that someone in his family had had a heart attack. I say 'someone' because when he first told me, I swear he said it was his uncle...but then later he said something that sounded as though it was his father. 'Course, now I feel silly for even telling the story, since I can't remember who exactly was the one that had the heart attack! ;) But seriously, either way it can't be a good thing for him. I know Tim's the sort for whom emotions don't come easily, and he didn't sound upset or anything when he talked to me today, but I'm sure he must have been pretty distraught last night. From what he told me, at least, he definitely sounded as though he was upset.

So I've found myself hoping all day today that his relative (whether it's his uncle or father, heh) is okay. The doctors had him in surgery to remove blockages, but other than that no one really knows what's going to happen. I've never met anyone in Tim's family other than him, and at this point I can't even remember which relative it is (which, as I mentioned, makes me feel a little silly, hehe), but I still worry a little bit.

On a happier note, it's just two more days until the Jethro Tull concert! The only thing that might spoil it is rain. The venue where the band is performing is more or less outdoors, from what I've been told (I've never been there). And the weather guy says that we won't see a break in this rainy streak until Thursday. Doesn't that figure? It would have to be just ONE day after the concert takes place! This area has had rain for 16 consecutive days, a record that's only been reached in 1898 (or was it 1889? heehee) and 1979. I still haven't complained about it, though. Well, other than lamenting that our concert might be a rainy one. I know that too much rain can be just as bad as not enough, but ever since we went through two periods of drought, I have vowed not to take rain for granted. Water is a good thing.

But couldn't there be one day of no rain? It doesn't have to be sunny. In fact, I'd prefer there to be very little sun, since I have to be outdoors! But hold off on the rain, at least for a few hours...

Actually, I know I'll have fun no matter what. I've been waiting for this concert since June, pretty much, so I'm not going to let a little rain spoil the day!

And the day after the concert, I'll be able to take my little ash tree seeds out of their cold stratification and plant them in a little plastic germination chamber! ^_^ More plants for me...I just hope I'll have a place to plant them once they get big enough!

Now that I've started talking about plants, I think it would be a good idea to close this entry. 'Til next time, Diary!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!