Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Big ol' rant
Written on Saturday, Jul. 26, 2003 at 7:34 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Y'know, I wish the US would just stop interacting with every other country in the world. We're pointed at as bullies because of the things we do, but yet when something goes wrong, it's "Help us, United States!" I mean, look at the Liberia thing. Speaking for myself, I wouldn't mind helping them. But the minute anybody from the US steps in, you KNOW what's going to happen. We have no morals, the things we do are cruel and inhumane (tho apparently it's okay for any other country to be inhumane. I mean, I guess we're supposed to be perfect!)...

I AM SO SICK OF THE STEREOTYPING.

I'm not saying our country is perfect. Damn, it's FAR from that. There are so many things that I wish could be different, that I know could be better. But it could sure as hell be a lot worse, and I'm tired of the press making the entire country sound like Nazis just waiting to break free and rule the world.

There might be some corrupted politicians that want us to be the world rulers, but, y'know, not everyone feels the same. I, for one, would be perfectly happy if we put up big ol' walls and kept to ourselves for the rest of eternity. Let the world police their own affairs, 'cause obviously they don't want or need our help.

This whole war with Iraq...I'm not saying that's right or wrong. I don't take any pleasure at the thought of people being killed, and I don't think the killing of Saddam or his sons is going to help the country, because some other corrupt group will just take over for them. And the chaos we've caused by chasing off their leader is only making the situation worse. So yeah, the US has made some big mistakes.

I know this is a controversial topic, but it's early in the morning and I just read some stuff that really irritated me. Unless you've lived here, you don't know what we're like. Unfortunately, the majority is being represented by that rude, loudmouthed minority that I wish could be abducted by aliens or something. The same goes for us, of course, only being able to judge Iraqis by what we've seen in the news...but news in ANY form is highly biased, let's face it. So while all of you in other countries are coming down on us because of what the news folks have filtered down to you, keep in mind that it's all heavily laced with biases. There's truth, of course, but for goodness's sake, we're not all monsters!!!

I, for one, would never want to make everyone follow my way of life. And if I traveled to another country, I would do my best to follow their rules and not make a complete ass out of myself (like certain other American tourists). I have respect for other people, and I just wish, for once, that everybody else (whether in my country or not) could try having respect for me and other individuals like me.

How much flak would we receive if we stopped helping anybody, I wonder? We really need to go back to a policy of neutrality.

(This wasn't meant to be offensive...just me venting my frustration at the world in general, heh. Hey, that's what diaries are for!)

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!