Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Dental woes
Written on Monday, Jul. 14, 2003 at 10:44 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I went to the dentist today, and was told that my teeth and gums are great. Always good news to hear, right? Then again, I'm almost obsessive about brushing my teeth. If I could just get in the hang of using dental floss every time, I think my teeth would be the most beautiful things you've ever seen (comparing only to other teeth that have had no enhancements like bleaching or braces or whatnot, heehee). I timed myself once, and I actually take that 3 minutes dentists are always preaching about. 'Course, this is all because I'm paranoid of getting gingivitis or having to have a root canal or something. My dentist told me today that the only thing that needs to be done is to get those pesky wisdom teeth taken out. If there was a way of brushing that could get them to grow perfect and straight, instead of impacted, I would certainly be in that bathroom brushing right now. I haven't had any pain from my wisdom teeth, but at the same time I know I need them out and I'm terrified of the idea, even though numerous people have told me that it didn't hurt and you're asleep for the whole thing, and blah blah blah. I've never had any sort of surgery done before, and I think it's the fear of the unknown more than anything that's keeping me from going.

In a strange sort of way, it's probably like the karaoke thing; once I go through one surgery, much of the fear will probably be out of the way. Of course, there'll always be nervousness because each time is different, but I don't think I'll be so overwhelmingly frightened after I get one thing done with.

Anyway, I still have that just-had-my-gums-torn-apart feeling, even though I was saved from most of that horrendous picking and scraping they do to get rid of tartar and such. Do any of you know what I'm talking about? Oh man, the way she presses on that pointy hooked thing, I'm always afraid she's going to snap my tooth right off...or chip it, at least. She assured me once that tooth enamel is very very strong, but that doesn't comfort me when she attacks my poor delicate teeth with those tools! And my gums...augh, going to the dentist is supposed to leave your mouth feeling clean and refreshed, yet it always leaves me thinking, "Thank goodness I have another 6 months before I have to go through that again!"

I want to get braces. Not the wired kind, but those invisible ones. My teeth aren't really all that crooked, but a couple of them overlap a little and it really bugs me. Unfortunately, I heard those invisible braces are scandalously expensive, so I'm going to have to go au naturel. :P

Has anyone ever noticed that when you say "have" in the sense of "I have to do this," the word comes out sounding more like 'haff'? Or maybe it's just me. Ever since I was little, I've always said it like that (I even thought it was spelled differently back then). I don't use a very pronounced 'f' sound, I don't think, but it's definitely more of an 'f' than a 'v'. Yet if I say "do you have this?" (or something to that effect), the 'v' sound is there.

Just a random thought.

As I anticipated, Mom's not really talking to me. She gets soooo sulky after that initial angry flare-up. I mean, she's said a few things to me here and there, which is more than I expected, but she's still pretty much just kept away. At the dentist's office, she sat on the other side of the small waiting room. I had to refrain from rolling my eyes. I want to just say, "It's over. I didn't call last night, you yelled at me, that's that. From now on, you'll get a call every time my location changes." But I don't, because that would just prolong this situation. By tomorrow, I think she'll be up to small phrases here and there, and then maybe by Wednesday we'll be talking again. I don't expect us to be chatting amiably 'til the weekend at least, though. Until then, it'll probably be mostly guarded conversation.

You guys are so jealous of me right now, aren't you? *rolls eyes*

Even though I'm sure I'll be all weepy and homesick when it finally happens, I can't wait to move out. Until Geoff realizes how deeply he's in love with me and sweeps me off my feet, I'll have to settle for an apartment. But in that amount of time, I should be able to learn how to cook, at least. Hee hee ;)

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!