Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Random Tales
Written on Friday, Jul. 04, 2003 at 12:01 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

The other night, I wrote another letter to Kevin...though it was actually from "Cecilia" to "Edmund", since I only had a brief out-of-character note to Kevin on the back of the second page. *chuckles* I was feeling guilty because it had been over a month since I'd written back to him, so I finally forced myself to sit down and write. It's fun writing with that fountain pen, though it DOES get irritating having to dip my pen in the inkwell so often! The most fun is putting the wax seal on the envelope though, heehee...

When I lit the tip of my gold wax the other night, though (there's a wick in it that you can light, kinda like a candle), it started smoking so badly and then, when the next drop of wax hit the envelope, a small flame went with it! So there I am, holding a burning stick of wax and looking in surprise as the wax blob on my envelope is flaming as well. Hastily, I tried blowing the flame out, but I ended up extinguishing the stick of wax as well...which sent this big old cloud of smoke into the air. The wicks on these things keep smoldering, and the smoke that's produced is not only copious, it also smells really bad. >_< So I was not only trying to burn the apartment down, apparently, I was also trying to smoke everyone out.

But I'm still here, so obviously I didn't burn anything down. :P

I don't know what made me think of this, but a few days ago on the news the reporter started out by saying, "He was homeless, he only had one leg, and he was trying to cross the street early this morning..." Well, turns out this one-legged homeless man, as he was attempting to hobble across the road, was hit by a car. It's really really sad, but as the reporter started talking I couldn't help but laugh as I cried out "Aww!" It was so pitiful...I mean, the guy was already homeless and missing a leg; could things be any worse for him?

Mom's going to take me out tomorrow morning to go shopping, yay! Well, first we need to take my poor laptop over to Gateway to see if they can figure out what's wrong with it. But then I'll be wandering over to American Eagle because Mom gave me a gift card for that store and I'm itching to buy some more shirts and things, hehe...

The best part, though, is that we're going to buy fabric and other supplies so I can make my first sewing project! *bounces excitedly* My sewing video arrived yesterday, and I watched it all the way through. The most confusing part is the pattern stuff, but I think I'll be alright with it. It's just a simple skirt with an elastic waist, so nothing really really complicated. All I know is that I wouldn't be caught dead wearing the thing, so I'll ask Mom if she minds if I make it for her. Hee hee...

I know it'll be a loooooong time before I can make anything really decent, like costumes for the Ren Faire or something like that, but just the fact that I get to finally START learning is so great! I was afraid that I'd never find a way to learn, and I was so tired of waiting for an opportunity to present itself (as though a store would just magically start giving lessons, hehe!)...so yeah, this'll be fun. I hope. ;)

The other night when Mom, Geoff, and I were at Chi Chi's, the manager was trying to get our drinks for us when we walked over to the bar area. He didn't really know anything about mixing drinks, though, so he called over another girl and left. But a little while later he came back, standing just behind Geoff and I, and asked if we'd found what we wanted. When I said that yeah, everything was fine, he walked away.

"He was hitting on you," Geoff stated.

"No he wasn't!" I objected, laughing.

"Yeah, he was," Geoff insisted. I just chuckled and shook my head. The time he and I went to Ruby Tuesday's, he insisted that the bartender was trying to hit on me. When we went to that German restaurant, he said that 3 out of the 4 guys who were walking out were all staring at me. Either I'm way more attractive than I ever thought possible, or he's trying to make me think I am. :P

Want to hear the little thingy I made up to help me remember a couple of different traffic lights? Hee hee...it's kinda vulgar, I'm warning you now. Well, I guess it's not really THAT bad, it's just the word I used that makes me feel funny telling it to people. :P Anyway, to just get the word out of the way, let me first explain how I remember which way to push the turn signal thingy:

Pushing down turns on the left signal, and pushing up turns on the right one. I was having the hardest time remembering this when I first learned to drive, and I knew that innuendos are the easiest things to remember, so...I took Down - Left, shortened it even further to D and L, and decided to say "D* Lick" (with the 'D' being the male appendage that rhymes with the second word).

LOL! I can't believe I'm explaining this to you, Diary.

But anyway, despite how stupid it sounds, it totally worked! I had to tell that to you because otherwise the new remembering tool I created won't make sense. See, there are a couple of lights that I was unfamiliar with, two of them being yellow X's (one steady, one flashing) that are placed over lanes. One of the yellow X's means that the lane is closing, the other means you can only use it to turn left. Again, I decided to use the left-turn one to make my rememberer. :P

Okay, so you've got a flashing X. A male flasher is someone who shows his nether region, or his D(you can fill in the rest). That word plus an L translates into "Down - Left", which means that a flashing X is used for left turns.

It's a drawn-out way of remembering, yes...but it works equally as well. :-P And now that you know more than you ever wanted to...

I'm going to go. :P It's midnight already (I don't know how it got that late), and I probably ought to go to bed relatively early so I can get up tomorrow and go shopping. Wheeeeeee! :D

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!