Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: More about Tim
Written on Sunday, Jun. 15, 2003 at 1:26 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Amanda, Kevin, and I had a lovely long chat on the phone tonight (thanks to the wonderful thing known as 3-way calling...it was the first time I'd used it!). This was the first time we'd chatted "in person" (as opposed to letters/emails), and it was so nice to hear their voices again! LOL...I know, it hasn't even REALLY been that long since we left Clarion. But that doesn't mean I can't miss them! I still didn't expect us to talk as long as we did though, hehe! The only bad part about that was that when I came back online...there was no Jam. And...so I had nothing to put on my toast...

Sorry, couldn't resist. ;)

It was really nice to talk to them though, as I said. We should make a habit of doing that, like every other Saturday or something! :P Except with our luck, we'd run out of things to talk about, hehehe...

Tim called me again today, only this time it was around 12:45. And every time he calls, he makes fun of me for still being in bed (even though Geoff told me that Tim usually sleeps 'til like 2 or 3 in the afternoon). I forget how long we talked, but he really irritated me today. Yesterday was more of a "get irritated the more I think about it" thing, but today it was just pathetic. Just about everything I said, he decided to tease me about it. He got on my case AGAIN about jobs and driver's licenses...at one point he was like, "See, if you had your license you could come down and visit us today!" and I like to think my tone was rather chilly when I shot back, "I don't want to go down there." As Mom later pointed, out, however: even if I HAD my license, we still only have one car. What good will the license do me, considering her fluctuating work hours? I could still practice with the car, yes, but I wouldn't be able to rely upon having it!

Of course, the conversation just somehow had to turn to food. Tim's decided he's going to try that Atkin's diet (I roll my eyes just thinking about that silly thing), and so tonight, just as with half of today's dieters, he said he was going to go out and have all the things he won't be able to have for the next 2 weeks. As Amanda later pointed out, depriving himself of stuff (for example: pasta, which he LOVES) will only make him crave it and then eventually break down and binge on it. These diets are so ridiculous. You can't just expect to lose weight and keep it off because you're eating less! Maybe I should force these people to go through a few Health classes.

But at any rate, he of course started teasing me about my lack of adventurism (if that's a word) toward food, and I attempted to explain exactly why I'm not adventurous. But he didn't get it. And so he kept asking me, "Have you tried this? Do you like that?" and every time I said no, he'd scoff or get on my case or something. You know what's ironic? He's trying to act like a father figure, and all he's succeeding in doing is making me feel stupid. The only other person who has ever made me feel dumb is my biological father. People just need to stop being my father, because it turns them into the most detestable creatures on the planet.

The last straw came when Tim started talking about mushrooms. Or at least, somehow we got onto that subject. He asked if I'd tried stuffed portobellas before, and I said no...then made the mistake of saying that I didn't mind the little mushrooms, but the bigger ones scared me. And come on: have you ever looked at a portobella mushroom and thought it LOOKED good? It's a giant fungus! Anyway, Tim was like, "Well, you cut it into smaller pieces!" Then, in a higher-pitched voice he mimicked, "Oh, I don't mind the little mushrooms, but..." Blah blah, I all but shouted "Good-bye, Tim!" a few times, keeping my ear away from the phone because I didn't want to hear his mockery anymore. He kept going, thinking I wasn't being serious, and so finally I was like, "Good-BYE Tim!" I think he said "See ya" or something (it sounded as though he was still chortling) but I just hung up on him.

I'm making him sound more terrible than he is, I know. The only thing that's kept me from completely telling him off (because believe me, today I could have) was the fact that I know he's not mean-spirited. Completely, anyway. He's just lacking in the brains department. He doesn't seem to get that his teasing isn't just good-natured anymore. I mean, Janette teases me, and Amanda and Kevin tease me, and I can handle it. I haven't been bothered by it. But then again, they know when to stop, too. Tim just doesn't have common sense. But it's no excuse. I know I need to tell him that he's offending me, but at the same time I don't want to start anything because with my luck, Geoff would somehow get in the middle of it. He, unfortunately, lacks a bit in the understanding department as well. If I were to tell him everything that's been going on, he'd just come back with, "Oh, stop it, Tim's just teasing."

Obviously, I am aware of this. But unlike Geoff, who grew up being harassed sometimes mercilessly by an older brother, I'm more sensitive to these things. And they do bother me, and it's not stupid that they should. I just don't think either of them know very much about the female species, even though Geoff's got 2 older sisters. Or maybe they just don't know much about feelings, period.

Yeesh...now I'm making them BOTH out to sound like bad guys! You know I love Geoff to pieces, Diary. ;) But that doesn't mean I'm not blind to things.

I think I've ranted myself out now, though. Either that, or all I feel like doing right now is daydreaming, hehe...That's what happens when I start listening to music!

(By the way...thank you, Jam, for your advice! You understand everything! *huggles*)

Later note: Over there in my "Recent Entries" section, it looks like I've got one entry labeled "Then the doctor said...Ungrateful Uterus!" *giggles*

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!