Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Wind-up
Written on Monday, Jan. 27, 2003 at 7:27 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Since I have to wait a bit for my favorite shower stall to open up, I decided to regale you all with tales of my day. It feels sort of unsanitary to use a shower right after someone else, but I figure it's been used all day anyway, so what's the difference if it was just used or used earlier in the day? :P

I surprisingly was more awake this morning than I thought I would be. I'd gone to bed last night at around 9:30-ish (maybe after that), but then I woke up again when Kristen came home around 11 or 11:30. For some reason, I couldn't get to sleep with her desk lamp on. Usually it doesn't bother me TOO much--I don't sleep as well as when it's dark, but it doesn't keep me completely awake--but last night I just could not get back to sleep. So by the time she turned everything off and went to bed, it was close to 1 am. X_X

My show this morning sucked. I messed up several times, I felt all flustered pretty much the entire time...I have realized that this is definitely NOT my calling in life. However, I'm not going to just give up on it. With a little more practice, I'll be better. Not great, but better than I was today. The DJ that came in after me was the annoying Paul guy that I had to go through training with. He and Kim (who are dating) have a show together (I don't want to know what'll happen when they break up), but he showed up first. The first thing I don't like about him is that he literally reeks of stale cigarette smoke. I hate that. But he's also very plodding and slow and mumbly, and I had to keep asking him to repeat the things he said. I can only imagine how he did with the actual DJing...He told me that he hates reading the weather. Umm...if you don't like speaking on the air, then why did you pick this job??

Anyway. I skipped Health today, which means that I have to go to tomorrow's lecture (they told us we're allowed to do that). My only fear now is that Tyrone--the guy who was originally supposed to co-host on Tuesdays and Thursdays--is no longer co-hosting! And if that's the case, I'll have to power down the station early! Which is just retarded. But there's nothing else I can do!

Oo, the one perk from this morning was that after I gave out the request line number, some guy called and asked first what time I started, and then asked if the show was on all week. I felt all special, lol!

My plan for the near future is to get a couple people from the cast of our latest play (which opens in February) to do some dumb interviews. *chuckles* I say 'dumb' because honestly, what point is there to do an interview? It's not like they're famous. But I dunno, I guess it would just be some kind of gimmick to get people to listen.

I also want to get Kevin to come down to the station and do a few little "Hey, you're listening to The Workday Wench" sorts of things. He's good at doing different voices and accents, so I thought it'd be cute. He's playing a pirate in "Peter Pan", and as such I thought a nice, "Arr, yer listenin' to AM Rush on 91.7 WCUC! More ale, wench!" would be rather amusing. :P But who knows if I'll actually be able to get him down there, hehe...

Speaking of Kevin, he's getting quite a little following of females, which I find adorable. A few of the girls in the theatre think he's cute, our friend Rosie has a crush on him...I can't imagine what it would be like to have so many people crushing on me! Maybe once I become better known, I'll walk around campus and people will be like, "It's the Workday Wench!"

Nah, I don't think that'll happen, either. ;)

Miranda, John, and I studied for about an hour after French today. Miranda and I, at least, are really scared that we won't do very well this semester. Already on our first quiz, I got one wrong! I know, it's just one...but on the other hand, there were only a couple of things we had to do! I'll have to pay much closer attention to what I'm doing. This professor is not a very understanding sort of woman. In fact, she rather intimidates me! Not a good thing...though I guess it'll push me to study harder and keep on my toes, which might be a good thing after all. We'll see.

Got my last Writing paper back today. :P Miranda and I had stopped by on Friday to ask the professor what our grades had been, but she told us to come back today. Miranda went back without me (because I was a little later than usual), but she got my paper for me. Turns out, I got a C- on that last one. I'm not really sure if that's better or worse than what I expected. No, I knew it was crap. I just think that I'd been hopeful, despite it all, that I'd get something better. But at least I passed with a B, and that is definitely all that counts.

I really hope Tyrone is at the station tomorrow. I don't relish the idea of having to program all those songs again. See, if I had my way, I'd play classic rock and oldies all throughout my shift. As it is, I can only get by with playing my "Classic Rush", but even then I make sure not to go any farther back than the mid- or late seventies. That means that Oldies are totally out of the question. I know nobody but me really wants to listen to that, hehe, but still! If I ever get a job at a radio station, it's going to be one that plays either of those two kinds of music. Even if I'm not a DJ--and I won't be--I want to be somewhere that plays music I'm comfortable with. A DJ should know her material, right? In this station, I'm like, "Who the heck is THAT?" Like, there's this band called Frou Frou.

Frou Frou. Who on earth names their band that?? I guess it's no worse than Echo and the Bunnymen, though...Or Pork Tornado. *falls over laughing* That is a silly name.

There's a song by Jethro Tull whose lyrics I like. It's called "Wind-up", and part of it goes So I asked this God a question/and by way of firm reply,/He said -- I'm not the kind you have to wind up on Sundays. I dunno why exactly I like that part so much...I guess it's just because it's always somewhat irritated me how people think it's mandatory that you go to church on Sundays. To me, God is someone you talk to perhaps as you would a friend; that is, you don't just pay attention to him one day of the week and then forget about him for the other 6 days. At the risk of sounding like one of those weirdos who has voices in her head, I tend to have conversations with Him quite a bit. Not a LOT, but a few times a day. *shrugs* And why not? Anyway, that's why I like those lyrics so much. "He's not the kind you have to wind up on Sundays."

And with that, I'm off to find out whether my shower is free. I always feel so cleansed after I write my diary entries. ;) Now it's time to wash off everything else, ha ha...

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!