Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Hello Teddy!
Written on Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2002 at 11:11 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

When Kevin invited Josh, Amanda, and I to go down to Main Street with him this afternoon, I'd had no idea what amusement would be found.

We walked into a clothing store because Kevin wanted to show Amanda the dresses (we're having a semi-formal on Friday). On our way back, we passed a rack of women's hats...one of which was a white furry thing (it kind of looked like a fisherman's hat, but with a stiffer brim). I continued back to the dresses with Kevin and Amanda, and then a moment later Josh walks up and goes, "Oo, what lovely dresses!" When I finally looked up, he was wearing the white hat. I guess you have to actually be able to see Josh to get the amusement...he's this tall, gangly thing with a mouth that's too wide for his face. Anyway, seeing this hat was hilarious...but that wasn't the half of what happened!

After I told him that he looked like he was wearing a pimp hat, we both walked over to the coat section. Josh found a coat that he thought would look perfect, so he started putting it on while I looked for a coat that would keep me warm in this cold Clarion weather. Guess I didn't explain that this coat of Josh's was going to make him look rather pimp-ish. :P It was this long brown coat that I swear had a patterned scarf around the collar, but I don't remember seeing it after he took it off the hanger. Anyway, he put on this chenille type of boa around his neck, slapped the furry white hat on top...let's just say, I was cracking up all over again. I tried calling for Kevin and Amanda, but Josh hissed for me to be quiet until he could finish buttoning the coat. I went back to perusing the other coat that had caught my eye, when out of my peripheral vision I saw Josh just disappear. I looked up immediately, wondering where he'd gone, and then I turned around to my left and saw two older men--managers of some sort--walk out onto the floor talking quietly to each other. When I spun back to the rack in front of me, I caught a glimpse of Josh's fuzzy white hat as he crouched behind the rack. As the two men continued walking (they passed behind me to my right), Josh kept creeping backward (to my left), making sure to stay hidden behind the rack.

Then, all of a sudden he sprung to his feet, and the two men immediately noticed him. The one guy's jaw just sort of went slack, and he apparently didn't know what to say. The other man laughed and came over, telling us some sort of story about how a guy had come in here once and tried on prom dresses. Josh, meanwhile, is turning crimson and babbling apologies. I, on the other hand, am doubled over in hysterics. Maybe it was a 'had to be there' situation, but I'm still laughing just thinking about it...and I'm writing this several hours after it happened!

And yet STILL the fun hadn't ended! We walked into CVS next because I had to buy a couple of things, and on our way to the back of the store we passed this bear. "Hey, Josh!" I exclaimed, motioning for him to come over. "Press that bear's paw and say, 'Hello Teddy!'"

It took him a couple of minutes to comprehend the instructions, but by the second try he got the hang of it. Now, this bear is SO loud that you can hear him no matter where you are in the store. When you press his paw, he goes, "Alllllright!"

Just as loudly, Josh exclaimed, "Hello Teddy!" There was this card attached to the bear that gives different phrases you can say to it, so Josh keeps going with, "Are you hungry?" ("I'm starved!" replied the bear.) "Now behave!" ("I didn't do it!")

Yet again, I was laughing. That was pretty much the last amusing part of the day, but I thought it was definitely enough. I've never laughed so much at one time! Ugh, Kristen, shut up and stop reading! I'm trying to write here!!!

Heh. OH yeah! Tonight there was this magic show with Brian Brushwood. I showed up at 6 to help set up and everything...that guy is SUPER nice. He remembered all our names, was conversing with us like we were actually people he wanted to know...you know how most "celebrities" are all like, "Yeah, whatever, I'll do my show and then you pay me, that's all I care about"? This guy was definitely not like that. As we watched him and his assistant (Bonnie) set things up, Kristen spied a straightjacket. "Oh, I wonder if they'd let me try it on!" she whispered excitedly to me. As she said, it's been one of her life's goals to get put in a straight jacket and bounce around a padded room. Well, we didn't have the room, but...

Eventually I turned to Brian and said, "My friend here has always wanted to be put in a straightjacket. Could she try it on?" Brian enthusiastically agreed, so Bonnie handed down the straightjacket, Brian helped Kristen into it, and then he instructed me to strap it while he continued setting up. I was greatly amused, as was Kristen. They even took a picture, but I don't know how she'll get it seeing as we'll never see them again. Ah well, it was still funny. Brian even showed her how to get out of it (though admittedly, she had it much easier than him because the arms hadn't been strapped against her too tightly).

As he was setting up, he looked down at all of us (Candi, the chairperson, wasn't around at the time) and said, "Hey, are we going out for a bite to eat afterward?" One of the girls replied that yeah, that's usually what happens. I got all excited, because I thought maybe I'd get to go with them all after the show.

Nope.

Apparently, only the sorority girls (Delta Zeta, ironically) get to go. The UAB advisor is a big-time DZ woman (I guess she used to be one, back in the day), and Candi's in that sorority...Some girl that didn't even come to the show was called up to go, but the rest of us Union Committee members? We were suddenly shoved aside as if we didn't exist any longer. None of us even got invited. That really pissed me off. I didn't get to go to the dining hall for dinner because I was helping to set up, and they didn't even have the decency to invite me? The only reason I would've gone anyway is because...well, I was hungry, but it just really rubs me the wrong way that they're so clique-y. This is why I never joined organizations like this in high school: the little 'clique' doesn't like to include anybody else. I'm definitely not taking part in this committee--or any other UAB-related committee--next semester. Why bother, when it's just taking up time better spent doing other things? I like the radio station so much because it's a friendlier atmosphere. Nobody acts like they're any better than the next person. Well, I'm sure there are a few snooty sorts, but thankfully I haven't come in contact with them yet.

Tomorrow is the NBS meeting, where hopefully I'll get to bring up my idea for the "Whose Line"-esque show (and the idea of charging cheap admission and then putting that money in the NBS account). I hope it goes over as well with them as it did with Bill. I'm hesitant to say anything about it to Misty, because she's really haughty and conceited, and as she works on the TV crew, I have this nagging little feeling that if she heard the idea, she'd run over to them and act like it was her idea...and then I wouldn't get any opportunity to take part in the creative process. It's not that I necessarily want to RUN the whole thing, I just would like to have a major role in it since it's my idea. :P I'd like to help in the auditioning, in the set-up, in the camera work...everything! But we'll have to see how that all turns out.

For now, I have to take a shower and then get to bed! I'm so tired all these words are starting to blur...

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!