Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Guys are so retarded.
Written on Saturday, Nov. 09, 2002 at 1:54 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Let's hear it for a great big fat ruined night!!!

Everything started off all peachy keen. I met Amber, Kristin, Matt (Amber's boyfriend) and Josh (Kristin's boyfriend) down at Campbell hall because that's where Kristin was working 'til 9, and we played Uno and ate pizza. We didn't get to the bar 'til a little after 10 o'clock, but things were still going well...other than the fact that Josh (who's a big loser, IMHO) kept arguing with Kristin. Ah well, I had my beverages, so I was happy. :P

Amber wanted to get up and dance, but Kristin wasn't ready to because there was absolutely no one on the dance floor. Matt and Josh were equally disinterested, and of course you'd have to get ME pretty darned drunk before you could get me to shake my bum out on a dance floor. Anyway, by the time I'd gotten my third drink--a Long Island Iced Tea (Geoff would laugh his ass off if he knew)--Amber and Kristin had finally started dancing. Some guy had come over when he saw Amber dancing...He was such a wretched dancer, LoL! But at least he was enjoying himself.

So here's where things started to get retarded. Amber and Kristin were out on the floor dancing and having a really good time. Of course, this being a bar and all, I guess some other guy was trying to dance with them. Well, Josh like slams a chair against a table and storms out onto the floor, followed by wimpy little Matt, and they all but drag the girls back to the table. Apparently, that guy out there was trying to grab one of the girls' bums.

I was irate. And the rest of the night was ruined for me. Y'know, it was bad enough that I was feeling like a fifth wheel in the first place, because both couples were all touchy-feely and whatnot, but then both guys just PISSED ME OFF. I detest men who are so possessive that they can't even let their girlfriends enjoy themselves. Y'know, just because we happen to be going out with you, that doesn't mean you suddenly have this little contract that says "I am no longer allowed to have fun because my boyfriend will pitch a fit". If those girls had any intention of flirting with the guys who unwittingly came up to dance with them, they certainly wouldn't have brought YOUR lame asses along! I swear, that Josh guy is the biggest loser I have ever met. Superficially speaking, he's got bad teeth and he smokes (oh yeah, and he's not very intelligent)...but then y'know what? Kristin caught him staring at some girl. So apparently he's allowed to drool after other girls, but Kristin's not allowed to go out there and dance because some guy might hit on her??? That's completely f*ed up. I am so SICK of stupid asses like that. If you can't even respect your girlfriend, then go find some little homely wench who has no interest in doing anything but serving you.

I would have left much sooner if it wasn't for the fact that I'd left my keys in their room. As it happened, we ended up leaving anyway because Matt threw a little sulking tantrum. Amber had gotten up to start dancing, and this other guy came over and tapped her on the shoulder. He was completely respectful of her: he kept a good distance between them, he tried to get the rest of us to get up and dance as well...Amber kept gesturing for Matt to come up with her, but he just sat there and sulked. The guy she was dancing with must've seen the territorial gleam in Matt's eye, because he backed off...after politely kissing her hand, which I just knew would set Matt off. And it did. As we were walking home, he muttered something about how she shouldn't have been out there dancing in the first place. I nearly turned around and gave him an earful, but thankfully Amber did it for me. She informed him that first of all, she was having a good time, and secondly it wasn't as if she'd completely ignored him or something--she'd been TRYING to get him to come up and dance, too!

This is precisely why I am so glad to be single. I don't want a guy who thinks he's going to be able to control me! Trying to tell me what I can and can't wear, what I can and can't do...thanks a lot, jerk, but I'm still my own person and if I want to wear clothes that make me feel good, and if I want to go out and have a good time with my friends, then I'm going to! I mean for flip's sake, guys can be such hypocrites sometimes! They're all like, "I don't want you wearing that shirt, it shows too much cleavage", so their girlfriends stop wearing those cute outfits because they've been cowed. But THEN the guys start sniveling about how their girlfriends never wear anything attractive anymore, as if it had been the GIRLS' decision to start dressing like little old women! And men try to say WE'RE unexplainable. Right.

When I find a guy, he's going to respect the fact that I'm my own person, and he's going to trust that if I go out places, I'm not going to pick up guys...but if one of them wants to dance with me, that's fine (so long as he remains respectful and all that). In return, I'd do the same for him. Yeah, it's completely normal to feel jealous, but there's a difference between feeling jealous and then making a complete idiot of yourself by causing a scene. If you're that worried that some guy is going to hit on your girl, then stop being such a twat and go out there and dance with her. She'd enjoy that ten times more than having to dance by herself anyway!!!

I could go on ranting about this all night. I am just so pissed that they had to be such idiots! I'm hoping Kristin will just drop that jerk she's dating, but I don't think that'll happen. All I saw them do was argue tonight, though, so it's not as if she's always sublimely HAPPY with him. Honestly, why do people (both men AND women) settle for so much less than what they're worth? Don't just stick with someone because you think you can't get anything better...if all you do is argue with each other, and if you're feeling cramped, that ought to be a big sign to get OUT of the relationship and find someone who'll treat you like the special person you are.

That's all I have to say for tonight.

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!