Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Adventures in Givan Hall
Written on Tuesday, Oct. 01, 2002 at 1:06 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Just out of curiosity, do all those "Hey, I'm gay!" banners on Diaryland actually get people to click on them? That sounded mean. I didn't mean it that way, seriously. But lately, I've been seeing quite the increase of "I'm gay, ready my diary!" type banners. I have nothing wrong with homosexuals, I just wonder if these banners are actually working, and that's why there are so many of them. :P Whatever trips your triggers, my friends! Go for it!

This is probably going to sound dumb, but in addition to having phone phobia, I've got public restroom phobia. Did you know that this sort of thing is so serious with some people that they physically cannot go in a public restroom if someone else is in there? I'm about halfway there. Unlike the phone thing, I can actually trace this problem back to its source, which was sometime in elementary school. I was sitting there, minding my own business, when I noticed the girl in the next stall was trying to peer through the crack in the dividers at me. Since then, I have been highly opposed to using public restrooms. What ticks me off the most is that the room could be empty for HOURS, yet the moment I sit myself down--and I'm not even exaggerating--people start filtering through the door. Anyway, I won't continue down this path, but it's really annoying and I wish I could have my own bathroom...or at least a suite bathroom, so that I'd still have a modicum of privacy!

I haven't even had a class yet, but I feel like I've got stuff to write about. Anyone notice that lately, my entries have all been insanely long? Part of it might be because everything's squished in a relatively skinny table. But I like this design (and apparently, lots of other people do too because I think that seems to be the only reason why I'm on anyone's favorites list, lol)...Jam must've given up on me using hers, because she put it up on her diary templates site, hehe :P I do still intend to use it, but right now I'm still enjoying my cute little hamster. And speaking of cute fuzzy critters...

All the chipmunks in Clarion have been racing about in an attempt to gather up food for the winter. I want a chipmunk. They're the most adorable little rodents I've ever seen. Even squirrels look big and clumsy next to them. Kristen and I decided we must have one for our dorm pet. ;)

People are starting to decorate their doors for Halloween, and now I want to decorate ours. Kristen mentioned going out to the mall today to get some decorations, but if we left on the 4 o'clock bus (which we'd have to do), we wouldn't be able to get a ride back 'til after 7...and I have Earth Science at 7. I can't even skip it because we're having a map quiz! *whimpers* I can't wait for that class to be over and done with. That one and Writing. Both of them are horrid.

Last night, for some reason, I was in a really good mood. I was feeling cheerful and sociable, and lucky enough for me the hallway seemed abuzz with activity. Part of that was due to the door-decorating, and then we made stress balls in the lobby at 9:30...I was having fun poking my head out the door and shouting things to other people. :P And to poke fun at the fact that mine and Kristen's door is devoid of Halloween decorations, I drew a sloppy ghost on my whiteboard and wrote, "Woooo, look at me, I'm a scary ghost!" next to it. But then Pam changed it over to "Look at me, I'm a scary wench" and turned my ghost into a large-chested female. *giggles* Ah, the Adventures of Givan Hall...

I wrote Tim and Geoff a letter last night, since they ignore my phone calls, lol...The only reason I decided to acknowledge them at all (because, if you remember, I had vowed not to contact them at all from this point on) was because it looks like Amanda won't be going home during our mid-semester break...which means that I, too, will be stuck here. Three days with absolutely nothing to do would drive me to tears. I tried calling to persuade one of them to come get me (or just hang out here for the weekend), but as usual no one picked up. So I figured since they read their mail, I'd just take that route. I got Pam and Kristen to sign it too, hehe (inside joke), and I mailed it off this morning on my way to the radio station. I hope it gets there within a couple days!

The news went well today, thank goodness. I'm learning new things every time I go in, and so today I remembered to sign on (by saying my name..Larry got on one girl's case for not signing on, hehe)...I also read two national stories instead of one, and two sports stories instead of one. Too bad today was a pathetically slow news day. I'm glad I went down an hour ahead of time, because it took me forever to find enough stories that were worth telling! What I need to remember now is to speak more slowly. Even though I'm not nervous, I tend to go really fast when I'm reading things. At least I didn't stumble over very much today!

"The Diva" told me that in order to change advisors (which is possible, because she did it), you have to talk to someone from the Arts & Sciences thinger...And you have to get something signed, blah blah. We didn't get to go over everything, because I had to read the news in 45 seconds, but I want to find a Comm professor and ask them anyway. They'd be sure to know what to do. I'm just so relieved that it's possible! I wonder how many other students of my advisor have left him, hehe...Maybe that's why he's so cynical about everything, eh?

Oo, I have to leave in about 40 minutes. Wonder what we got on our first Message Design project...The professor seems to really like our group, either because the Greek Pair are so outgoing, or because he knows them. Jessica and I rarely talk, so he can't like us because we're all talkative. :P The problem is, the frat guy isn't all that high on the intelligence scale. At the beginning of the year, I thought he was really attractive, but now I just think he's kind of dumb. It's nice to be disillusioned in these cases. ;)

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!