Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: New friends
Written on Wednesday, Aug. 28, 2002 at 9:09 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

My second day of French class made me just as happy as the first. I am so happy to be learning the language again! The best part is that, for now at least, I recognize what we're learning. If I'd been stuck in the first level of French, I probably would have ended up being really bored. I'd previously thought that beginning French in college was the equivalent of a higher level in high school, but it actually is just a beginning course! French II is probably perfect for me...even though I might do okay in French III, I'd rather have this class for review. Besides, next semester is when I'm taking intensive French, which is levels III and IV combined. Wish me luck on that one. ;)

My only problem now is: what will I do after this year, in regard to the language? As far as I know, they don't teach anything higher than level IV, but if I stop after that, then I'll just end up forgetting the language again! Hopefully, I'll be able to work something out with my teacher where I can keep learning or something. I know they have a class dedicated entirely to pronunciation and rhythm, things like that, but I'm afraid to take that, lol! Still, if I expect to be fluent, it wouldn't hurt to take that class.

Writing II still seems like a daunting class. The teacher warmed up a bit today, and I found myself liking her a little bit, but the fact still remains that this is going to be a tough class. We've got our first assignment already, but I'm hoping I can get Miranda to work on it together with me. We're not allowed to give each other words or whatever, 'cause that would be collusion, but I'd feel better working on it with someone! *giggles* I guess just working together would be considered collusion, but I'll try to keep all the ideas my own. :P

On our way out of the class, this guy named Kevin came over to talk to Miranda, who I was waiting for. I recognized him because Miranda and I had talked to him a bit at orientation, and I admit to thinking him kind of cute. *chuckles* BUT, he's younger than me. And I'm interested in someone else. So it doesn't matter.

At ANY rate, Kevin, Miranda and I walked out of the building, and I was planning on returning my book to the library, but Kevin kept talking to me. Which I didn't mind, because he's really nice. Miranda veered off in another direction, because her residence hall is in the opposite direction from mine, but as it turned out, Kevin is in Ralston...which is like 20 feet away from Givan, across a little paved driveway sort of thing. When he found out I was in Givan, he was like, "Oh, okay, I'll walk up with you then!"

We paused in front of Ralston and kept talking, jumping from one subject to another. Raindrops started falling after awhile, and so finally he said something about letting me go. Or maybe it was something else. Whatever he said, it made me look down at my watch, which read 5 o'clock. I'd gotten out of class around--or maybe even a little BEFORE--4 o'clock! "Oh my gosh!" I exclaimed, laughing. "I didn't know I'd been talking for so long!"

Even after that, we stayed and chatted for a little longer. Before that happened, I found out that he likes the movies "Labyrinth" and "The 10th Kingdom", which is really cool. He's also played the piano for like 11 years, which I found out because he asked if Givan had a piano. I informed him that we actually have 3, and then said that I've wanted to learn how to play for a long time. So he offered to teach me scales and stuff! He's a really sweet guy. I'm glad I made friends with him!

We're going to make a documentary entitled "Ralston Hall: The True Story", because there's a daycare center down in the basement, and it sounds like a chain gang or something. *nods* We'll be on the news. :P

Anyway, there's supposed to be an ice cream social at 8, so I'd better get going! I'll probably add more later, so I won't post this just yet.

~~~~

Yes, it's later, and I've had my ice cream. I just don't feel social with the girls in this dorm. :P Actually, other than the couple of girls that I've met (and Kevin, of course), I haven't really found anybody I'd like to start a friendship with! Maybe that'll change after awhile. I'd really like to make friends with some of the other people in my classes, so that I don't feel alienated in the ones where I don't already know somebody.

I forgot that this is Labor Day weekend, and so I'm not going to have classes on Monday. That means I'll have THREE days sitting here doing absolutely nothing. I've got to find a ride home this weekend. I don't think I could take three days of sitting here in my room, by myself, with no friends (because everyone else I know is going home)...If I can't find a way, maybe I'll see if Kevin and his two Hall friends (Lauren and somebody else) are going home. If not, then I'll force myself upon them and beg that they let me hang out with them. :P

I'd rather go home, though. In the Potty Press, which is a one-sided sheet printed out every week and hung in the bathroom stalls, it says that a good way to combat homesickness is to plan trips home. However, you actually have to plan them, instead of just saying, "I'm going home!" and find the nearest bus/train station (or airport, depending on where you are). Of course, I'd immediately call up Geoff, ha ha...

Oo, I hope he calls tomorrow! He said he'd call this week, and the dairy reset finally ended, so if he remembers me then he ought to call tomorrow! He's a guy, though, something which I have to keep remembering. I'm too scared to try calling him again, LoL! But if he DOES call tomorrow, then I'm going to see if he's free at all this weekend. Probably not, since they schedule him all the time, but if he was, maybe we could do something. *giggles* Assuming I can get back, of course...

I feel like there's so much more I want to say, but at the moment I can't think of anything! I missed Lola today, because I forgot to put up my Away message at some point and she said hello, but she was signed off before I got back! *pouts* Hopefully, she'll be on later tonight. My first class isn't 'til 2 tomorrow, so I think I'll sleep in. *nods* Yep, that sounds quite nice...

On one last note, I don't think the whole befriending thing is going to work with that girl...remember the one I talked about? The RA who's really bubbly and whatnot? I think the whole friendly thing, with most of the girls, is just that necessary sort of friendliness. It's probably the same with the other RA, too. Oh well. It would've been nice if I COULD have been friends, but I'm not going to beat myself over the head about it!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!