Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Okay, you're flagged!
Written on Sunday, Jul. 21, 2002 at 4:10 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Noooo!!!! My entire entry just disappeared because I accidentally tapped the touch pad on my laptop! *cries* Now I'll have to see if I can remember everything I typed! :

At 7 o'clock last night, Geoff came over. ^_^ We were already too late to miss the first show (which started at 7), so instead we just sat around and talked for around 2 hours. Mom ended up coming home because Charlie pissed her off...that was sort of disappointing, because I so very rarely get a chance to actually be alone with Geoff. But it wasn't as if we were doing anything that required us being alone, hehe... ;) She talked to us for a little while (though it was mostly while doing other things, because she's not the type who can sit still), and then finally Geoff and I stood up to leave. He told me to bring my 'Greatest Hits of The Moody Blues' with me, so that he could 'show me all the songs I've been skipping over', hehe...

We'd decided to have a couple of drinks before catching the last show (which was at 10 o'clock), so we drove over to Ruby Tuesday's. On the way over, I'd begun to feel really hungry. I should've requested some food before I had my first drink. But I didn't, so I'm sure you can probably figure out what happened. :P

Since I've been curious about them for awhile, I ordered a Long Island Iced Tea first. Be quiet, everyone; I've already been told what a bad choice that was for a first drink! :P To make matters worse, the bartender--who was a younger guy--plunked the glass down and told me that this was a 'frathouse recipe'! X_X Halfway through my drink, I started feeling so strange. My head felt really heavy, and my eyes had a hard time focusing, almost as if they wanted to go crossed or something...it was the same sort of feeling as when you're really really tired and are this close to falling asleep.

"Are you alright?" Geoff kept asking. Even though he kept looking at me with an amused grin, he made it clear that if I wasn't feeling right, I should stop. But other than that funny feeling in my head, I felt fine...and I had been rather tired that day, I reminded myself, so maybe it was more that than the effects of alcohol. After all, it's not like I've ever had experience with this sort of thing! Anyway, after a suggestion from the bartender--who, as Geoff stated earlier, was hitting on me--I got a drink called a Gummi Bear. It actually tasted like gummi bears, mmm.... ;)

Halfway through THAT drink, Geoff suggested that we go, if we wanted to get to that last show. "But I haven't finished yet!" I protested. A few minutes later, he'd finished off his drink (the only one he'd gotten) and started putting away his money (he'd refused to let me pay for my own drinks). Not wanting to leave without finishing, I slurped down the rest of my drink, hehe...

Then I climbed off my seat...and immediately regretted it. As my feet hit the ground, I watched as the world began to swirl and slide around me in a dizzying fashion. Helpless laughter bubbled forth as I realized that unless I walked very slowly, I'd be staggering like some kind of drunk...and I'd only had two drinks!! Geoff didn't realize that I was really that bad, so he started walking toward the exit (though, as usual, he stopped to let me go ahead of him). As my hands slapped against the second set of doors to push them open, I started giggling all over again. "Oh my god!" I cried, stepping outside. "I can't do this! You've got to help me, Geoff!"

I stuck my arm through his, and he held it firmly against his side as we stepped off the sidewalk into the parking lot. "Where the hell are we?" I blurted, giggling all over again. Neither of us could remember exactly where Geoff had parked, but thankfully it didn't take us very long to find his car. He walked me to my side and opened the door for me, and I managed to sit down again.

*giggles* Just reflecting on it still makes me laugh a little. It's not that I was drunk, by any means, but I was definitely buzzed! And I don't plan on making a habit out of getting like that, but, as I mentioned before, it was my first time, and so I didn't know how much--or how little--it would take to get me going. It was still sort of fun, though! Not the dizzy part (because I do like being able to walk straight, hehe), but the fact that I wasn't as afraid to say certain things.

We didn't end up getting to the planetarium in time to catch the last show (and frankly, I'm glad we didn't), so instead we drove out to a little diner sort of restaurant and ate there. Here's where the whole 'not afraid to say certain things' part comes in, hehe...Not much of it was anything important; I said stupid things like "Your arms are very freckly!" (*smiggles*) and "Are you a boxers or briefs kinda guy?" ("Boxers", he said, after looking down and pulling up the leg of his shorts). At one, point, though, I brought up the 4-hour meeting we'd had to go to last year, when Safeway first took over. As some background info, we'd had to go to these meetings in little group 'shifts', and it was the first time I'd ever seen Geoff. "I remember seeing you there," I said, "and I thought you were so cute!"

Okay, I guess THAT wasn't really important, either, but I never would've admitted it before, LoL!

Geoff paid for that, too (he wouldn't even let me take my purse out of the car, at first, saying "I'll pay for the food!"), and then he drove me home. He'd parked and was walking into the building with me, but then I said that I was feeling better. "Can you make it downstairs by yourself, then," he asked, "or do you need me to go with you?" A pause, and then he explained that he needed to get some sleep (understandable, considering all the overtime he'd been working, coupled with the fact that it was after 11 o'clock). I told him I'd be fine, and so that was the end of it. *sigh* Although he did call back, "Next time, we're going to have to actually see one of those laser shows!"

"Well, they're having another one next Saturday!" I replied with a feeble laugh.

"There we go!" he said. Hehe...wonder if that means he'll come up again next week? ;)

I had a good time. :) Geoff's really fun to be around, so even if he IS skittish about doing things like walking me to my door (he fairly ran away last night, lol), I still like hanging out with him!

Anyway, I guess I should post this now, before something else happens and I lose my entry again!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!