Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: For just pennies a day...
Written on Monday, Jul. 15, 2002 at 7:20 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Frank asked Mom if he could come along with us when I drive out to Clarion in August. Sweet gesture, of course, but it's another one of those scary "Oh geez, he's got a crush, this isn't good!" sorts of things.

In other news, someone must've finally realized that those cheesy "Sponsor a third-world child" commercials weren't doing much...so they've tried another tactic. Picture after picture of sad, pleading little puppydog eyes. A voiceover talking of how no one wants these poor little animals, and how they're doomed to be destroyed because shelters don't have enough money to take care of them. So, we now have a "Sponsor a Dog" organization. Sure, it's not the same folks as those in the "third-world" organization, but it's exactly the same! Except we're sponsoring dogs here instead of kids whose parents apparently didn't know that doing the nasty over and over again would produce kids they couldn't afford.

Which brings me to an interesting thought: why is it that animals, who know no better than to do as nature tells them, destroyed because there isn't enough money to take care of them? And yet all those kids are permitted to go about their merry way? I'm not really suggesting we destroy the kids, okay? I just don't happen to agree with destroying animals for no better reason than that they're not wanted. If more people would be responsible and get their pet spayed/neutered...

Here's my proposal. We take all the unwanted pets from the Dog sponsorship (maybe it was just a pet sponsorship, period; I forget), and give them to the kids in the 'Third-World Children' sponsorship. Eh? Then both dog and child would feel loved and have a loving companion! Makes sense to me.

I think I might go to bed very soon, even though it's not yet 8 o'clock. My eyes are beginning to grow very heavy. The only manager that'll be around tomorrow is Dave, whee! All the others have to go to some kind of training thing at another store. So I don't have to worry about the fact that I need to get out of work early, because as long as I get the setups done, there won't be anyone around to yell at me! Hehe...I'm getting my hair cut. Thank goodness, because it's looking terrible!

At lunch today, I went into a spontaneous giggling fit. There's no cure for such an occurrence; I just have to wait it out, meanwhile enduring the confused stares of those around me. ;) From across the room, Steve kept looking at me with that intense, blue-eyed gaze of his, and his mouth quirked up in a grin. From across the table, Geoff would keep looking over and holding my gaze, his smile warmly amused. And Beverly just laughed and wondered if I'd already been drinking. :oP

I like laughing that much. It makes me feel good...even if it DOES sometimes embarrass me to not be able to stop. *chuckles*

I'm debating on whether I should even bother trying to ask Geoff if he actually wants to go to that Pink Floyd laser thingy...I have to pull teeth to get him to do anything besides going on break with me, it seems! It's sort of funny, though, because he gets really irritated when I say things like "No one wants to go out with me!" I said that today, and he immediately replied, "Oh, stop it!" Heh...well, it's true!

Ah well. I don't think he works on Saturday, so he wouldn't have "I'm tired" as an excuse! We'll see.

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!