Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: What a day to go kite-flying...
Written on Thursday, Jul. 11, 2002 at 10:52 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

It's a shame when a girl can't even cry anymore, because it makes her eyes puff up. I'm not even going to go into what set me off last night, but after I'd stopped the tears (something I wasn't sure I'd be able to do), I spent the rest of the night with ice pressed against my eyes. And today I woke up looking only marginally better than I had last night! Sheesh. Let's hope that when I go through the whole homesickness routine at college, it doesn't include crying. ;)

Anyway, this morning was much better, and I didn't even really suffer from my usual morning grumpiness. Got into work on time, surprisingly (they changed the time, so whereas before we had a little buffer zone, we have none now), and went to the bakery. When I saw Geoff over in the dairy aisle, I hastened over to say hello, asked him if he'd gotten that "Bed Wetting" thing I'd put on his windshield...I forget what else was said, but he was cheerful, which is always a good thing. ;) We went on lunch break a little after 11:30, and I asked him if he'd ever seen a laser light show.

See, I'd heard a commercial on the radio this morning, about how the city museum is having laser light shows all summer. In case you've never heard of such a thing, it's basically just a light show set to music (though I've never been to one, so the 'light show' part is probably very spifty). Most of the music for the night is really stupid--Christina Aguilera, Backstreet Boys, all those other pop-type bands. But then they have a Classic Rock show, another one featuring Led Zeppelin music, and another 3 that feature Pink Floyd. Now, I don't listen to either of those bands, but I know Geoff does. Do you see where I'm heading with this?

Of course, I started off innocently, just asking him if he thought those types of shows were interesting (since I'd never been to one before). When he said yeah, then asked who was holding one, I told him about the commercial. When I got to Led Zeppelin, I confessed that I've never really listened to their music, at which point he pretended to slap me. Finally, I got to Pink Floyd 'Best of Echoes' (or however it goes), and he said that that one would be the best to go to, because the music fits everything better.

"You wanna go with me?" I slipped in, grinning at him.

"Only if you do a shot first," he replied immediately (he still can't get over that one shot I didn't down on my birthday, hehe).

"Okay, if that's what it takes to get you to go with me..."

No, he wouldn't actually force me to drink, just in case you're getting worried. ;) Not that I think most of you are, but who knows, right? Anyway...

Oo, the nice part about that break was that, right after I'd called him to see if he was ready to go, I saw him walk up to the food court register. Grabbing my water bottle, I shuffled up behind him and casually placed my arm through his, leaning ever so slightly against him. :oP Didn't last long, but he didn't move away or make any signs that he was unhappy with the situation, hehe...I think if I'd decided to just keep my arm looped through his, he would've let me, which always serves to make for a Happy Berry. ^_^

Later that afternoon, I let Mare know that I was going to take my second break (the combination of two 10-minute breaks that I get in addition to lunch). I always take one of my breaks alone, because I can only manage to get Geoff for one of them. Today, I figured I'd stop by wherever he was working and talk to him, but he happened to be in the back room. When I said hello, he exclaimed, "Let's go do tags!" (He had a handful of price tags that he had to go affix to their proper spot on the shelves.) But then he started talking to Ernie, so not knowing whether I should follow like an idiot or just go to the break room, I mumbled, "See you later!" and turned the corner. I I thought I heard him say something like "Get back here!", but when I peered around the corner at him, he was still talking to Ernie. Then he looked at me.

"Did you say something to me?" I inquired.

"Where do you think you're going?" he demanded, which prompted me to start walking toward him again.

"Do you want me to go out there with you?"

"No."

"Well, too bad, because I'm already here."

Apparently, he thought I was on my way to the restroom, and I replied, "No, I was going on my break!" I figured we'd walk out onto the floor after that, but he said, "Yeah, it's about time for a break" (or something similar to that). And off he walked toward the break room! I followed after him in a state of shock. :P

Not much happened this time around, though I tried to ask him out tomorrow night. *chuckles* I'm so afraid to seriously ask him out anywhere now that when I do, I always ask in a joking tone, sort of like the other day when I said, "So when are you picking me up tomorrow?" He said yes today to my question of, "Do you want to go out tomorrow night?", but I suspect that maybe he thought I was just joking again. And I didn't want to press him later, because I didn't want him to feel like I was bugging him! I know, I'm pathetic. I'll ask again tomorrow, hehe...

I did get to play with his hair some more, which is nice. ;) He actually bent his head this time, so maybe he likes it. *giggles*

This turned out to be another one of my boring Geoff entries, huh? Oh well, there go another two or three people taking me off their favorites list! LoL! I'm so obsessed.

Oh, I told Geoff the story with Bob (how he said I wasn't shallow like all those girls who guys drool over). "I may not be much to look at," I laughed, "but at least I'm not shallow!" Geoff told me not to say stuff like that to guys, because it makes them trip over themselves; they never know if what they say is going to make a girl become furious or whatnot. Well, then stop saying things like "She's so hot!" around girls who have low self-esteem! Hehe...Just wait 'til I come home from college. I'm gonna be hot. *falls over laughing* Riiiiiiight...

Anyway, now my wrists are tired, and we're having pizza delivered. I guess that's the nice thing about living in an apartment complex: pizza delivery! Even though my house was only a few miles down the road from here, they still wouldn't deliver. So I'm going to go luxuriate in delivered pizza. ^_^

Added note: So here's what Mom told me during dinner...and it's somewhat personal-ish in nature, so bear with me. One of the guys she works with is named Adam. He's in his mid-twenties, and is the Produce backup guy. Anyway, somehow they got onto the topic of women, and he said that he liked women with large chests. Then he goes, "I know she's your daughter and all..." and went on to say that I had a very nice chest, or something like that!!! *blinks several times*

It's meant as a compliment, in guy terms. It's just a good thing that I've come to an understanding with my breasts, because if I'd heard that comment a few years ago, it would have made me SO self-conscious! I remember coming out of a dressing room crying once, because I hated how big I was up top. In high school, almost all the girls were flat-chested or very small, so they could wear those cute tops that don't allow for a bra...whereas I was stuck wearing frumpy T-shirts and things.

Finally, now that I'm out of high school, I've realized that such curves aren't looked upon as bad...by most guys, anyway. It galls me a little bit that it's only good because guys associate breasts with sex, but hey--I'm just glad to have at least ONE good feature! ;)

By the way...the subject line of this entry is from a song by The Moody Blues. Except I can't remember the title right now. >_<

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!