Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Cheer for me!
Written on Tuesday, Jun. 11, 2002 at 7:25 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

The mailbox contained only a bill from Allstate, which was terribly disappointing. I trudged wearily behind Mom into our apartment, glanced at the Caller ID, and saw that the red "Messages Waiting" light was blinking. I figured it was going to be The Toad, but the ID said it was 'Pennsylvania'...and the number was unfamiliar. I went into my room to unload all my work gear while Mom dialed the voicemail number and listened.

She gave some kind of excited exclamation, and I came out and kept asking her who had left the message. She refused to reply, instead gesturing for me to hold on while she finished listening to the message. Finally, she hit the key to repeat the whole thing and quickly handed the phone over to me.

Well, folks...

I HAVE BEEN ACCEPTED TO CLARION UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA!!!!!!

*bounces around and cheers gleefully* How absolutely spectacular is THAT?? I can't believe it! The woman who called said something about there being a letter for me in the mail, "although you probably already received it," she told me (I haven't, obviously). Then she said she just wanted to know if I had any questions or whatnot, and she'd try to call back later. She had called back, but no one was home.

I felt like calling every last one of my friends to tell them the news, but in the end I just wound up text messaging Frank, hehe...he replied with, "That's my girl!" *giggles*

In a silly sort of way, it's almost disappointing that I got a phone call instead of getting the infamous letter. You always see kids on TV (or in movies) getting those letters from colleges, and they're like, "I can't open it! You do it!" and so I'd been sort of anticipating the moment when said letter would arrive in my mailbox! It would have been a much more dramatic moment, because I'd have seen the return address on the envelope, then gotten all shaky as I wondered, "Oh my gosh, did I get accepted or rejected??" But this way, I didn't know who it was until I started listening to the message!

Ah well. I'm just glad to know! Wait 'til tomorrow, when I run into the store and tell everybody!!! :oD

I should probably try to remember the questions that had been rattling around in my head for the past few weeks, just in case she calls again. *chuckles*

Now, to today. Actually, first, does anyone remember how bummed I was because that whole 'almost-date' thing fell flat? I'd spent all day Friday moping and crying because I thought Geoff was such a jerk...that's the part I didn't tell anybody in here, because I felt like such a complete idiot. I'd brought a change of clothes in with me, just in case he stopped by the store or something and wanted to leave from there. When he didn't call or show up, I went home and then got changed, thinking maybe he'd somehow get my phone number (or remember where I lived). Nope. I know, it was stupid of me to have such foolishly high expectations, but I couldn't help it! What made me feel like such an idiot was that Mom knew exactly what I was up to, yet she didn't say a word...and I could just imagine what she was thinking.

Anyway. Today when I saw him (he'd been off yesterday), I acted sort of coolly toward him. But I quickly felt bad about that, so I called up his phone and said, "Can I apologize for my snarky behavior by inviting you on break later?"

Yes, we went on break together, and after a short while I was like, "So, what did you do on Friday?"

"I...slept a lot," he replied. After a moment's thought, he continued, "Did I work that day?"

"No," I said. "That was the day I was trying to invite you out, remember?"

Well, get this! Turns out, he'd called Information (my number's unlisted, so that got him nowhere), and he'd called the store! The smart thing to have done would be to ask for my number there, hehe, but he 'disguised' his voice so no one would know him. :oP Said he ended up talking to Joanne, who told him that I'd already left. As he was telling me this story, I couldn't help thinking, "He's probably making this up just so I don't get all evil and angry at him."

But then as I walked back into bakery, Karen stopped me and started to ask something. Knowing what she was about to say, I finished, "Did someone call me on Friday?" She nodded, and so I was like, "Yeah, it was Geoff." That made her happy, because she knew I'd been all flustered by the fact that I thought I wouldn't hear from him at all.

So I feel much better now! We also might tentatively be going out bike-riding at some point in the future, hehe...He's getting his bike repaired (I'm talking bicycles here, btw, not motorcycles, hehe), because they finally extended this bike trail near his house and he's "interested" (as he put it) to go. I said it sounded cool, and he replied, "D'you have a bike?" in that sort of interested, "If you do, we'll have to go sometime" voice. I can't explain it. And anyway, my bike is unfortunately down in Virginia, because my uncle seemed to think that was part of the stuff Mom wanted him to take back with him. I'd just buy a new one (I'd like to have a new one, actually), but I'm sure they're a little too expensive for me!

Geoff also sounded interested (once again) in my birthday. Joe, the older man who works up front, was eating his lunch while Geoff and I were on break. "Do you know," he said, looking up at Geoff, "that she's still 20 and never been kissed.....enough?" :oP

This prompted Geoff to once again ask the exact day my bday fell on...At least he remembers that it's in June! ;) And Mom said he mentioned it to her (only because she said something about 'the big day' or whatever), but he was a day off, saying the 29th instead of the 30th, hehe...

Meanwhile, I think Frank is becoming increasingly jealous of Geoff, which vexes me just a little bit. He came into the break room while I was on break, and while usually he'll say hi, he just looked really aloof and sorta grumpy...basically, the way I look when I'm jealous, hehe...

As I've said before, I can't deny that I'm attracted to Frank. But it's totally superficial on my part, and I'm afraid that he might be thinking that a relationship between the two of us could actually work! I'd love it if it turned out that I'm completely wrong, and he doesn't like me. But too many other people have observed the same things that I have, have come to the same conclusions (without me even giving my opinions)...Ugh. Y'know, Frank, why couldn't you have been around while I was in high school?? I'm sure I probably would have dated you then, LOL! I go from having this huge 'drought', so to speak, to having a couple of guys like me! Eesh! This stuff would have done wonders for my self esteem back in high school!

Maybe it's happening now, though, because I'm NOT in high school, and I don't feel as cowed as I did then. I'm certainly a lot more outgoing (though still pretty shy, comparatively speaking)! High school definitely didn't do anything worthwhile for me. I won't be going to the 5-year reunion, hehe...I'll wait until the 10- or 15-year, when all those popular, snobby girls are fat and flabby. Bwa ha ha...

Ah, it's thoughts like those that get me through the day. :oP

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!